We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Art House Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Art House Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My two best friends and I recently took a trip to Edinburgh and decided to stay here. The hostel is very close to the city centre, we managed to walk to everywhere we needed and there are some lovely shops nearby - even an ice cream parlour and a wonderful pub with £5 dinner specials. We stayed for 4 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank parul_m_88
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed here for 3 weeks in March of 2011. Jon Joice, the manager/landlord, is a loaded gun waiting to go off. It was the worst visit of my entire life. I was extremely stressed because of him, which is a shame because the hostel itself is lovely and charming. During the course of my stay (in which I was...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Virginia R
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My parents were visiting for my graduation last summer and we decided to take a little trip around uk. First, when we arrived, our rooms were not ready, but instead of apologizing the manager barked at us like a dog and made us wait outside. I payed double to have a lovely room for my parents all separate and en...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank 70nats
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is (potentially) a nice hostel. The building is a cosy Georgian character terrace house. Unfortunately the behaviour of the manager completely ruins a promising little enterprise. When I was there I saw him bark at people who had unknowingly transgressed hostel rules. It came to a point where I saw him vault up the stairs, barge into one of...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank TimeTraveller916
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2012

unclean, Jon the owner was hitting on my 15 year old daughter. Dirty showerrooms, Poor management of cleaning routines ie can't get to showers and toilets while staff are attending to them. two out of 4 mornings no breakfast provided. Noisey outside as pubs kick out and people retun after 2am with a supodidky 1am curfew. over all a nightmare....

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank p m
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My brother and I were travelling through Scotland and stayed at Art House for a few nights. The room was gorgeous and the beds comfy, one of the nicest hostel rooms I have stayed in. Unfortunately on arrival we were subjected to a 20 minute rant by JonJo about how he is the next Richard Branson and how he is...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank whereamysbeen
Konstanz, Germany
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I got back from edinburgh on monday. I stayed for 4 nights and was very satisfied with the art house hostel. I thought it was clean and had a homy touch to it. It has a big living room with internet access, a ton of movies and a beamer. Big kitchen, too. They have like 6 toasters, which i liked,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonas O
jonmacojoyce, Guest Relations Manager at Art House Hostel, responded to this review

hey thanks a million for your 5 star review of the Art House. We are very happy to hear that you had a great visit to the Art House in Edinburgh. You are very welcome to come back and stay anytime. Thanks for be a star guest.... happy onward travels and see you again soon. The Art House Team.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Art house hostel, felt more like a home than a hostel. The place is really nice and clean. I stayed there for 2 nights and couldn't be more happier. They also have home cinema should you feel like not doing anything like i did for my last night in edinburgh. The bathroom was clean unlike some hostel i stayed in,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lemonteanosugar
jonmacojoyce, Manager at Art House Hostel, responded to this review

hey you feedback is very important to us and we are always looking for ways to make our Art Houses more homely and personal. Any ideas you have for the future please share with us as we are in the process of creating more Art Houses at the moment. We wish to grow but keep the homely atmosphere that is...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 October 2011

unclean hostel, owner very rude. would not recommend a stay here, there is a lot of better places in Edinburgh, cleaner and with friendlier staff. It is not centrally located either which could pose a problem and there is only one toilet in the whole hostel for use by guests, which is in no way appropriate.

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Amy M
jonmacojoyce, Owner at Art House Hostel, responded to this review

Your comments are totally untrue. You all arrived back at 4.30am in the morning extremely drunk and smoking in the hostel. You all were making lots of noise and asked to leave the next day by the Australian manager. The first night you were checked in at 1.00am by the Australian manager and so I am unsure when I ever...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Just back from a stay in edinburgh. we booked this hostel as we were arriving into the city very late, and nowhere elsewould accept the late book in, so in fairness to the manager on the place (young Oz guy), he stayed up to check us in. On our first night there we had no problems but on the next...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Tadhg O
jonmacojoyce, Guest Relations Manager at Art House Hostel, responded to this review

Your comments are totally untrue. You all arrived back at 4.30am in the morning extremely drunk and smoking in the hostel. You all were making lots of noise and asked to leave the next day by the Australian manager. The first night you were checked in at 1.00am by the Australian manager and so I am unsure when I ever...

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 205 in Edinburgh
1,294 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,691 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#100 of 445 in Edinburgh
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
646 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,403 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Art House Hostel

Address: 20 Gilmore Place | Tollcross, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: £12 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Art House Hotel Edinburgh
Art House Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Art House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just do not stay here. Seriously, don't.”
 of 5 bubbles VirginiaR574, 15 Jul 2012 | Read review
“don't get what you book”
 of 5 bubbles 70nats, 31 May 2012 | Read review
“NOT the purple room:-) but all the other ones are fine”
 of 5 bubbles J0nasO, 17 Nov 2011 | Read review
“Do not book a room here, much better hostels in the city!”
 of 5 bubbles cullenkh, 4 Oct 2011 | Read review
“Smile and show up early”
 of 5 bubbles SergioScotland, 25 Aug 2011 | Read review
5 of 5