We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,966 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,819: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed today NEW

Not going to be the easiest of reviews I'll ever write - during the one night business trip here, there was little to get exited about, but it was relatively good value for money. Quite simply, there are simply a few positives & negatives to take into consideration when looking to book this hotel. On the plus: -This is only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley T
Campbeltown, Scotland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was easy to access and lots of parking. Right next to the zoo and there was a cheap, quick bus service into the heart of the city just right outside the hotel. Check in/out was quick and pleasant - the staff were lovely. Rooms were small-ish but comfortable. The room decor was a bit dated but everything was... More 

Helpful?
Thank elainemcgeachy
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We ended up in this hotel when our booking at another hotel was messed up by the booking agent. Standard of decor was very poor. Not very welcoming atmosphere. Corridors and carpets were stained and looked unkempt. Two restaurants to choose from First went to a Chinese Restaurant on site with menu that was unhelpful - not enough description. Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank rblanc2016
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience. I am really disappointed that you had such an unpleasant stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss the unacceptable levels of service further. Kind Regards Claire claire.borthwick@hi-edinburgh.co.uk More 

liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We always stay here when we are in Edinburgh, park your car up for free and use the excellent bus service that stops right out side. Stayed dinner bed and breakfast in a king-size executive rooms which was great. The food was really nice in traders with a good choice from a set 3 course menu, the chorizo and potato... More 

Helpful?
Thank jpinning
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review and for recommending us to others. We are delighted that you have returned to stay with us again I when visiting the Christmas Markets in Edinburgh. I will ensure your lovely comments are shared with the Team. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Claire Claire.borthwick@hi-edinburgh.co.uk More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Room and bathroom was dated but clean, staff is very professional and friendly across the hotel Lovely spa, great breakfast, bus stop to town 5 minutes walk, ticket only £1.6. What we really did not like was the temperature in the room, only a small radiator and nothing in the bathroom. Apparently the towel rack heating is switched off in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tünde G
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. I am pleased to read that you found the Team to be friendly and the Leisure facilities a great asset to the Hotel. I am sorry that the Towel rail in the bathroom was not heated but as you have already been made aware these... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

had a family room for three on the 3rd floor beds were very uncomfortable woke early every morning because of the noise in agony. paid for evening meal very little choice first nights meal was burnt burgers! view out the window was the car park.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment on your recent stay. I am really disappointed that you have not enjoyed your stay and your expectations were not met. I will ensure the feedback on your evening meal experience is followed up as this is not acceptable. Kind Regards Claire Claire.borthwick@hi-edinburgh.co.uk More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights on business and used the business facilities in 'The Acadamey' Check in was fast and simple. No acknowledgement of IHG rewards status but other than that business like. I was placed in room 433 (an executive room) and I think it has been recently decorated. Very nice indeed. Sadly this room has an interconnecting door and I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank davidiafrica
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. I am pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and the Conference facilities where you held your meeting were of a high standard. I will certainly pass on the feedback in regards to your in room dining experience and as a loyal customer... More 

Wigton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel of choice for us when travelling with the children to Edinburgh (usually for the rugby) Easy to get to, bus stop outside, nice swimming pool and family rooms. Food fine and suits us at the end of a long day when eldest and husband at rugby. Staff always polite and attentive. Always take a cardigan when sitting in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank emmalouised309
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am really pleased that you enjoy staying with us especially for the Rugby at Murrayfield and that your room was nice a cosy. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again. Kind Regards Claire Claire.borthwick@hi-edinburgh.co.uk More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just had a 2 night superbeak at the holiday inn Edinburgh next door to the zoo. The hotel is within easy reach of the city and is very clean and welcoming. We had dinner on the first night which was lovely. All the staff are lovely and efficient. We received good news whilst we were having dinner. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie P
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. Firstly congratulations on your lovely news of becoming Grandparents we wish you all the best for the future. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again. Kind Regards Claire Claire.borthwick@hi-edinburgh.co.uk More 

Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located just out of Edinburgh, but easily accessible by bus (£1.60), Airlink 100 bus to the airport from Waverley Station & back (£4.50) or taxi (c. £12). It shares a drive with Edinburgh Zoo, so perfect if you paying the zoo a visit. Definitely check out the visiting pandas & the penguins! The staff were very welcoming... More 

Helpful?
Thank CambridgeTourists
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. I am pleased to read that you had a satisfactory stay and you enjoyed all the individual aspects of the Hotel and its facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Claire Claire.borthwick@hi-edinburgh.co.uk More 

622 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (279)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (133)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (310)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Executive Room (76)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
1.7 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,370 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#92 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,065 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#77 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,904 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Address: 132 Corstorphine Rd, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Price Range: £52 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Athens, Greece
3 months ago
5 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles G2207RWsarahc, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Become a member of the chain to get the best direct prices”
 of 5 bubbles emmalouised309, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Zoo view rooms can mean you are woken by animals wanting their breakfast!”
 of 5 bubbles CambridgeTourists, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Maybe it was just the family room that was dated, ask before you book!”
 of 5 bubbles SteveT35, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Views over the hills worth going for, but watch out for unexpected Zoo-ish noises!!”
 of 5 bubbles Suddy, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay