We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (909)
Room & Suite (543)
Dining (135)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#131 of 160 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival. .On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
3144Reviews57Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 769
  • 1,206
  • 747
  • 278
  • 144
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Stay791680 wrote a review 21 Feb
3 contributions
+1
I don’t normally write reviews, but after this stay I believe I had to write one. The hotel is old, left with no maintenance and poor customer service. The best area of the hotel is the reception desk and full stop, don’t get fooled with the nice modern reception desk pictures. 1- When we were checking in we clearly asked the receptionist to allocate us a nice modern room, she put us in a room with old dirty toilet as the pictures below. 2- We called the reception to report it, then they moved us to another room at 3:15 pm with due carpets and unsanded bathroom door. 3- The mattresses in the new room were extra firm that we didn’t have a good night sleep from due to the firmness which made us wake up 3-4 times throughout the night. My son who is 9 literally told me “I had to move around the bed to find any comfy spot” 4- The following day, we put please clean my room sign at 10 am and when we came from the zoo at 4-5 pm the room was still the same. I spoke to the guest relation Sanjay at the hotel, he told me “well, the mattress is a personal preference” not showing any sign of apology or feeling for what we have experienced.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Borthwick, Owner at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Stay791680 thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Firstly I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you at a reduced rate on the dates you required following the error you had made in your initial booking. I do apologise for the stained toilet in the first room you were allocated, this has been rectified and I am l pleased the team were able to move you immediately to an upgraded newly refurbished bedroom. The beds in your new room were less than a month old and are the IHG brand standard Hypnos beds which we do receive a lot of positive feedback around. Unfortunately as you had a Do not Disturb Sign on your door not a Please Clean my room sign we did not clean your room on the first day. However as soon as you made us aware we did offer to service your room that evening which you declined. Unfortunately given the abusive and threatening language given to both us and our Head Office we are no longer able to engage with you or satisfy you with your request of a full refund and additional compensation. Sincerely Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TattieNS wrote a review Jun 2023
Canada49 contributions48 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I stayed here for 2 nights, my room was facing the zoo. The room was clean, and roomy enough for 2 people. We had a double bed and a twin bed, both were comfortable (I had the twin, my sister had the double). The bathroom was clean, but not much for water pressure. Our room was cleaned while out exploring, but they didn't bring clean towels, we asked that night for towels, which didn't arrive. The next morning I had to call down to the desk to ask for towels as we had an early departure...he promptly brought them. Breakfast was really good, lots of selection in the buffet, two coffee stations, plus the bar offers Starbucks (you have to pay), if you are tired of the coffee machines lol We only had dinner once at the hotel, the buffet, it was ok. The staff is really good, manager keeps a close eye on them, almost too much that it seemed like bad micro managing. The view from the bar of Edinburgh is beautiful and if you can get a table there at night, I recommend it. Both nights I could hear the zoon animals, I really enjoyed it. I think it was the lion roaring? In the morning I could hear some monkeys and birds, it's fun trying to figure out who is calling out. There is a bus stop right across the street which was very convenient, not too far from the city centre at the hotel. I would probably stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: A great Chinese restaurant across the street, but closed on Tuesdays
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Borthwick, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Jun 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Look forward to welcoming you back. Sanjaya Weerasinghe, Guest Service Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TERRY D wrote a review 20 Feb
Birmingham, United Kingdom45 contributions46 helpful votes
Nice friendly hotel, with plenty of work space both in-room and particularly in the open-plan Bar / Restaurant area. Buffet dinner usually good value for money with adequate choice. Staff very helpful & obliging when requested to assist with my business requirements. Next door to Zoo for family stays and convenient bus stops for town centre & Airport right outside. Ongoing upgrades are improving the facilities and adding to the comfort factor. As a regular & happy user, I'm glad to recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Hotel is popular, so if you're travelling by car, get in reasonably early, as the car park can...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Borthwick, Owner at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Again, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn, and if I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at or sanjaya.weerasinghe@hi-edinburgh.co.uk. Sanjaya Weerasinghe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
L L wrote a review 18 Feb
5 contributions
Reception staff welcoming, helpful & friendly. Male member of bar staff obviously skipped the customer service course. Barely spoke, a flick of the head is not acceptable instead of enquiring what we would like to order. Good manners cost nothing. I was meeting some friends and did feel that this service let down an otherwise enjoyable stay in the capital city of Scotland.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Borthwick, Owner at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate your kind words about our welcoming and friendly reception staff. However, we apologize for any inconvenience caused by the behaviour of one of our bar staff members. We understand that good manners are essential, and we take your comments seriously. Rest assured, we will investigate and address this issue promptly. Your satisfaction is our priority, and we hope to provide a better experience during your next visit to the beautiful capital city of Scotland. If there is anything else we can assist you with, please feel free to reach out to us directly at frontdesk@hi-edinburgh.co.uk. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Marta
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chilly wrote a review 12 Feb
Guildtown, United Kingdom39 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed here for a birthday celebration. The room was ideal for our visit, bed comfortable, bathroom on the small side. However, all the necessary toiletries were provided. Bathrobe provided, although as a party of 2, there should have been 1 each. Didn't ask for additional as we were only there for the 1 night. Room very warm. Tea & coffee provided. Only negative was from the bar service. Bar manager asked if single or double gin, requested single but charged for double. Got impression he wasn't happy at having to refund the extra charge. Would we stay here again...yes 🙂
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Borthwick, Owner at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your birthday! We’re delighted to hear that the room was ideal for your visit, with a comfortable bed and necessary toiletries provided. We apologize for the oversight regarding the bathrobe – you’re absolutely right, there should have been one for each guest. We appreciate your understanding, especially since you were only staying for one night. Regarding the bar service, we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured, we’ll address this issue with the bar manager to ensure better service in the future. We’re glad to know that despite this, you would stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes, Marta
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kerry anne W wrote a review Jan 2024
Dundee, United Kingdom4 contributions
Unsure why we were given a disabled room, as neither of us are , which wasn't best suited to my partner as he is very tall and everything was quite rightly on a more accessible level for someone who may require this. Also the room did smell of damp everytime we came back, so slept with the window open. As we were only there for two nights we didn't feel it worthwhile asking to move. Rest of hotel lovely and staff friendly and helpful
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Borthwick, Owner at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. Firstly, I want to extend my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay at our hotel. Upon receiving your complaint, I conducted a thorough investigation and also had a discussion with our Reception team. Regarding smell, I already passed your comment to our housekeeping manager to take action. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We value your patronage and are committed to providing you with an exceptional experience when you choose to stay with us. If your future plans include returning to Edinburgh, we hope you will give us another chance to showcase the improvements we have made. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, and if you have any further concerns or questions, please feel free to contact me directly. Sanjaya Weerasinghe sanjaya.weerasinghe@hi-edinburgh.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eveanne D wrote a review Jan 2024
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom30 contributions5 helpful votes
Highly recommend for a leisurely weekend away! We checked in earlier than 3pm with no problems, the first room we were given had a bit of a damp smell and they moved us immediately to a much nicer room with no extra charge and checked to make sure it was ok. The staff were extremely helpful throughout the weekend and answered all my questions! The breakfast had a great selection for everyone, including hot and cold drinks. We also had lunch there one day which was also delicious. They also let us leave our cases in a safe room for a few hours before our flight. The hotel is right next to a bus stop which takes you straight into town! And of course you have the zoo next door! A lovely, family friendly hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Borthwick, Owner at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend stay and appreciated our helpful staff, comfortable rooms, delicious meals, and convenient location near the zoo and bus stop. We strive to provide a family-friendly atmosphere, and we're glad to know we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay in the future! Best regards, Marta
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
anton s wrote a review Jan 2024
5 contributions3 helpful votes
I was in about 40 countries and that was first in my life- value thing disappeared from my room. I realise that in the next hotel and made a call to the hotel but they did nothing. Also hotel is situated far from the center. Breakfast was ok. Spa is a bit old and a lot of chlor in jacuzzi
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Borthwick, Owner at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Jan 2024
We are most concerned in regards to the content of your review. We have had no allegations of theft and cannot understand why you have posted such information on social media. I would ask you to contact myself as a matter of urgency to discuss your serious allegation. On other points you have raised we do not advertise as a City centre Hotel and are located 2.9 miles with an excellent transport link in to the city. Our Chlorine levels in our jacuzzi are tested every 2 hrs and are inline with the parameters. Claire Borthwick Operations Manager claire.borthwick@hi-edinburgh.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hugo wrote a review Jan 2024
Sunbury-On-Thames, United Kingdom35 contributions12 helpful votes
The rooms are good and it is good value in January. However, the breakfast was really not up to Standard. Adding haggis to an English breakfast does not make it Scottish. There were lots of things that should be there that weren’t and also quite a few items listed on the menu like Cumberland sausages and baguette that did not make it there. Add to that the quality of a lot of the items was poor and they urgently need a standards improvement on this one. I will stay there again so hopefully I will see that next time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Borthwick, Owner at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. Firstly, I want to extend my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay at our hotel. Upon receiving your complaint, I conducted a thorough investigation and also had a discussion with our Kitchen team. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We value your patronage and are committed to providing you with an exceptional experience when you choose to stay with us. If your future plans include returning to Edinburgh, we hope you will give us another chance to showcase the improvements we have made. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, and if you have any further concerns or questions, please feel free to contact me directly. Sanjaya Weerasinghe sanjaya.weerasinghe@hi-edinburgh.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alexander wrote a review Jan 2024
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic4 contributions
Great hotel with best food and drink I stayed her couple of time before must say staff are really helpful just found a dirty mug in my room but I called down to the reception and it was replaced with cleaned one with an hour , will definitely Visit again in March 2024
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Borthwick, Owner at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Again, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn, and if I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at or sanjaya.weerasinghe@hi-edinburgh.co.uk. Sanjaya Weerasinghe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£73 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn edinburgh hotel edinburgh, edinburgh holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghMurrayfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
303
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EDINBURGH, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Edinburgh Zoo (0.06 miles), Corstorphine Bed Centre (0.7 miles), and Carrickvale Golf Club (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Torfin, Cool Jade, and Toby Carvery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (3.0 miles), Palace of Holyroodhouse (3.7 miles), and Gladstone's Land (2.9 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.