We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5/3 West Register Street 3rd Floor, Edinburgh EH2 2AA Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (10)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#15 of 315 Speciality lodging in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
We are a brand new hostel located in the heart of Edinburgh. We offer everything you need to explore our beautiful city of Edinburgh!
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Game room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Wifi
Breakfast available
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shops
Laundry service
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Czech, Hungarian and 2 more
474Reviews5Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 285
  • 118
  • 46
  • 14
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
James Burford wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
- Staff were all wonderful. Very friendly, approachable and knowledgeable of the local areas. - The hostel was lovely with a nice communal area for chilling. - Rooms were spotless - Nice large kitchen with ample storage and cooking facilities - Breakfast was a lovely edition - Price was great for what is offered. Location was excellent. A two-minute walk from Waverly station and local pubs/bars and shopping.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Amber L wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Amazing hostel especially for a solo traveller, its 10 minutes walk to all the shops,pubs and tourist attractions. Hostel is quite private and quiet for a hostel which is nice cause I like my sleep. Beds have privacy curtains and the showers are huge! Receptionists are very kind and helpful too especially yan. Andddd dirt cheap!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Jasmin D wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
A group of 9 of us came for one night over the weekend. The staff was great and helpful. They held our bags for us for the day until check in time and we had no problems. The hostel had a great area with board games and seating as well as a clean kitchen. It overall was a nice place to stay for one night. The hostel SEEMED to be clean and comfortable BUT unfortunately, a few individuals from our group left with multiple bedbug bites. It was a big scare as we all had our bags in the room and are unsure of what we could have brought back home with us. The company was contacted the next day and have seemed to have dealt with the problem immediately and have stated that the fumigation process has began. Definitely a scary experience and I personally would not feel comfortable sleeping somewhere that has had a bedbug problem. We were all forced to have to deal with the consequences of potential contraction of bedbugs on our belongings as soon as we were back home.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from hosteloperator, Manager at Haystack Hostel
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear Jasmin, Thank you for your review and for providing us with feedback from your stay. First, I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience at the Haystack Hostel. We take all complaints very seriously and I want to assure you that we have procedures and standards in place to ensure the comfort and safety of all our guests. Regarding your concern about potential bed bugs, while it has been a problem in Edinburgh hotels in the past, this is the first incident that I have ever heard of at this hostel. However, we do take pro active measures to ensure that every room in the hostel is free of pests of any kind. We closely work with a pest control service to inspect rooms routinely and would be informed immediately of any issues. To date, we have not had any. Since your report, the room has been inspected  and preventively treated on two occasions. Another inspection is scheduled during the coming week. Although I understand we weren't up to your expectations, I am nonetheless glad to see you were happy about our services and found our hostel clean and comfortable. I hope we will be able to make it up to you next time you are visiting Edinburgh. Kind Regards,  Yann Manager
Read more
Elena S wrote a review Feb 2020
6 contributions
I just had an overnight here. The accommodation itself is really good. The bed was comfy, large shower rooms, hot water, large well-equipped kitchen, perfect location, just across the street from Waverly Station, free WiFi, breakfast served in the morning, the best value for money! My problem was with the staff. Before checking-in I had left my luggage there for 2 days, the guy at the reception told the price was £5 per day. Upon my arrival another guy took £20 from me (£10 is deposit for the keys). But when I was leaving, they didn't give me back the deposit! Told that the price to store luggage was £10per 1 item a day. Which is incredibly expensive! I feel, probably, I've been cheated. Disrespect to the staff. Please check with the facilities pricelist first. I could have left my luggage in any other place or rather stayed at B&B. Unpleasant experience due to the issue.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from hosteloperator, Manager at Haystack Hostel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear Elena, thank you for taking the time to write us. I got in touch with you right after you left and as soon as I have been made aware of the confusion. I can confirm , we keep luggage for a £10 fee per day, sorry to see you have been wrongly informed. Of course, guests can leave their bags for free before check in and after check out. Please get back to me so I can arrange to fix your discontentment with our services. However, glad to read you enjoyed our hostel, your bed, the shower rooms, the kitchen and the location, we are aiming to offer value for the money indeed. We'' make sure to you can enjoy a hassle-free experience next time you are coming to Edinburgh. Kind Regards, Yann
Read more
Ker wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions11 helpful votes
Very good location, a lot of restaurants and shops nearby. Reception 24/7, friendly service. Our room was not super clean when we checked in. Also bad ventilation so it was always either freezing or way too warm. Breakfast had nothing but bread and cereal so we ended up buying some fruit and veg ourselves. Fine for a couple of nights but I wouldn't stay for long
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from hosteloperator, Manager at Haystack Hostel
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Dear Keralynni, Thank you for taking the time to write us. Our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, beds changed, floor vacuumed, and lockers checked, to make sure guests find their room in pristine condition (almost pristine), sorry tp read you didn't find yours not super clean, although, if other guests were occupying the room we wouldn't be able to "tidy up" after them, you can either open or close the window in the room and we have a central heating which is thermostat controlled. Our breakfast is continental style with a choice of cereals, bread, jam, chocolate spread and butter, coffee, tea and milk this was included at no extra in your total price of £8 for the night if booked directly through our website. Of course, you are more than welcome to top up yor breakfast with fruits and veg from one of the supermarkets around. A pleasure to read you enjoyed our central location, a minute walk from both train and bus station and all the attractions Edinburgh has on offer. Glad to see our team was up to your expectations, we love what we are doing and we'll take your suggestions into account, hopefully you'll get the chance to visit us again. Kind Regards, Yann
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$22 - US$197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Haggis Hostels
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghNew Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Haystack Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Haystack Hostel?
Nearby attractions include The Real Mary King's Close (0.3 miles), SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Edinburgh (0.3 miles), and Jeffrey st. Whisky and Tobacco (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Haystack Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Haystack Hostel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Haystack Hostel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Haystack Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, @pizza Royal Mile, and The Pakora Bar.
Is Haystack Hostel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Haystack Hostel?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Haystack Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Portuguese, Japanese, Czech, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Haystack Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.7 miles), The Real Mary King's Close (0.3 miles), and Gilmerton Cove (4.0 miles).