We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (420)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (23)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Earn points toward free nights.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#89 of 160 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.
1473Reviews61Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 731
  • 498
  • 155
  • 52
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Daria E wrote a review 4 Feb
1 contribution
Honestly, we were disappointed with our stay, but at first here are the pros: - The room was quite spacious - The staff was friendly and helpful; our forgotten earphones were returned to us after checking out. Thank you so much for that! - The included breakfast was not bad However, the noticeable cons are: - Persistent noise from construction, even on Saturday. - Lack of heating in a bathroom and no additional heaters provided even upon request. - The room needed deep cleaning: sofa was covered in yellow stains, layers of dust on a microwave, dirty toilet rim - There was always unpleasant smell in the reception hall, resembling a wet dog. It was uncomfortable to take breakfast there Overall, it’s a good 3 star hotel, but for this price there are better options
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management , Owner at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Daria E, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. The best way for us to improve is with your feedback, so we appreciate it. Maintaining a clean atmosphere within our guests’ rooms and common areas is important to us. I am sorry to hear about the experience you had with the room and hallways, I will pass your comments on to the housekeeping manager. We love how central our hotel is in Edinburgh, however the negative side of being so central is that sometimes there is city construction work outside that we have no control over. We do not provide plug-in heaters, however all of our rooms have radiators which can be adjusted by a dial at the bottom. I am glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, we hope to welcome you back another time. Kind Regards, Cormac Operations Associate at Residence Inn Edinburgh cormac.greig@residenceinn.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fiona E wrote a review Jan 2024
Llanelli, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
A very disappointing stay at this hotel. The photos online are very different to what you get in reality. We arrived too early for check in, they offered to keep our bags safe which was great but we needed to use the lavatory in reception. Immediately I was met with disappointment as the toilet was very unclean. Certainly not a first impression I was hoping for. We then checked in to our room (306). There was hardly any hand wash available. (We were staying for 3 nights). In addition, we couldn't use the sofa's as they were stained so badly. There were dents in the dressing table and generally grubby walls. After reporting to reception we were offered a different room (308). When we checked in to this room, we were met with the same issues, this time with the addition of pen scribbles over the sofa and a sticky table! We chose to stay in our original room but I had asked for some compensation. The staff member couldn't grant this. He promised a manager would be coming to speak to me to discuss pending I sent my images and an email to the hotel directly. 2 days passed, no reply to the original or a reminder email. On checking out the staff asked how our stay was, I explained the above and he finally managed to get a shift supervisor to speak to me (still no manager to be seen or heard of!) She was very apologetic and offered us a 50% compensation. Even though, we were lucky to have this compensation I feel it was a lot of work to get sorted when on holiday! Breakfast - you need to be early as there is no where to sit! Staff - I did feel that every staff member was polite, however the managers really need to be present to deal with issues Would not recommend this hotel. I cannot stress enough how different the look of the rooms online are to what we had.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management , Owner at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Dear Fiona, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay. Maintaining a clean atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is important and I apologise that we fell short of your expectations during your visit. We would sincerely like to thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention as it is only through learning of the areas where we fall short of meeting expectations of our guests that we can make the necessary improvements. Please be assured that we have taken this feedback seriously and we have scheduled a meeting with our Manager of Housekeeper as well our our maintenance team to discuss the concerns you have brought to our attention. Together we will ensure we update our procedures to avoid these bathroom amenities and some pen scribbles over the sofa in the future and ensure this is an isolated incident. We do apologise for the delay of response from our team, we always try our best to response to all the emails as soon as possible. Many thanks for bringing that to our attention and we will ensure the entire team get sufficient training regarding that. Residence Inn by Marriott offers complimentary breakfast to all of our guests, therefore the majority of our guests take us up on our breakfast offering to prepare themselves for a day exploring the city. As such, breakfast does get busy around peak times, which we advertise on all notice boards in the hotel to allow guests to plan their mornings and avoid breakfast peak times. I am sorry that you had to wait for a table during breakfast. Next time, do not hesitate to ask for help from the front desk. Alternatively, guests can also use the trays at their disposal in order to enjoy breakfast in the comfort of their own room. Finally, I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Residence Inn in the very near future. We are committed to ironing out the issues that you’ve raised to ensure our operation is improved. If we may be of any assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us. Kind regards Helen Operative Associate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BrianB32931 wrote a review Jan 2024
Cocoa Beach, Florida267 contributions127 helpful votes
Stayed at the Residence Inn for New Years 23. Very good experience for a short staff holiday weekend. Slight problems as lights out in the elevator; they put a battery-operated wreath for light, cute fix idea. It's a 10-minute walk from the city-center, good for being quiet. 5-star staff at the desk. The free breakfast was a bit crowded, but it was a holiday weekend. No Restuarant or Bar on site but plenty of options in the office complex next-door. Rooms are very good size for the price. The best part was the home-made hot cocoa available in the lobby, it was a huge hit for a late-night treat.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
VIx wrote a review Dec 2023
Mynachlogddu, United Kingdom28 contributions15 helpful votes
Make sure you go down at 6am for breakfast!! A handful of tables for a big hotel, people standing around for a table to sit down. We had a baby and were told by reception that we could have a tray and carry breakfast up to our room! Shocking. All hot food run out, tea and coffee machines not working. Had to wait 25 mins for the beans to be replenished. One small lift that is not fit for purpose in such a big hotel. Toilet was blocked in our room. We had a connecting room and if you want to sleep make sure you get a non connecting room. Kept awake with next doors conversations the walls are that thin. Spoiled a birthday weekend we had planned for a long time. Wouldn’t stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid breakfast time and interconnecting rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Aquarius70 wrote a review Dec 2023
4 contributions
We chose this property due to its central location with close proximity to university events, restaurants and shopping. Traveling with family was easy since we could walk almost everywhere! Added bonus was discovering several small food markets, Holyrood Distillery, and a lovely restaurant with heated outdoor cigar pavilion within a few minutes walk. We especially appreciated the friendly hotel staff who helped us several times when we needed an outlet converter and advice/directions. The room was spacious and clean and the fabulous breakfast buffet had vegan options!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rachel S wrote a review Nov 2023
Aberdeen, United Kingdom22 contributions51 helpful votes
+1
The room was not clean, it needed upgrading. I’ve attached photos as they say it all really. The shower had been patched up using tape?! I paid £186 for this room and you can’t check in until 4pm. I was just very disappointed to be honest. We were also given a disabled room which honestly I would have preferred a bath or walk in shower I personally really do not like wet rooms & was disappointed I wasn’t advised of this at check in. The “complimentary” breakfast was chaotic with a small space for far too many people so we couldn’t get a table for 10mins.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management , Owner at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 19 Nov 2023
Dear Rachel, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay. Maintaining a clean atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is important and I apologize that we did not fulfil that expectation during your visit. I would sincerely like to thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention as it is only through learning of the areas where we fall short of meeting expectations of our guests that we can make the necessary improvements. Please be assured that we have taken this feedback seriously and we have scheduled a meeting with our Head Housekeeper as well our our maintenance team to discuss the concerns you have brought to our attention. Together we will ensure we update our procedures to avoid these bathroom issues in the future and ensure this is an isolated incident. Residence Inn by Marriott offers complimentary breakfast to all of our guests, therefore the majority of our guests take us up on our breakfast offering to prepare themselves for a day exploring the city. As such, breakfast does get busy around peak times, which we advertise on all notice boards in the hotel to allow guests to plan their mornings and avoid breakfast peak times. I am sorry that you had to wait for a table during breakfast. Next time, do not hesitate to ask for help from the front desk. Alternatively, guests can also use the trays at their disposal in order to enjoy breakfast in the comfort of their own room. Finally, I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Residence Inn in the very near future. We are committed to ironing out the issues that you’ve raised to ensure our operation is improved. If we may be of any assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us. Kind regards Sabine Rojek Assistant Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
darwin96 wrote a review Oct 2023
San Francisco, California52 contributions49 helpful votes
I had a great two nights here. I arrived early at 11:45 am and they had a corner room available for me. I am LT Titanium status, but they didn't specifically say if that is why I was able to get in to the room early. Having come in on the redeye I really appreciated it. Staff were all very friendly and professional and the breakfast is good. Nothing fancy, but on the upper range of your usual continental spread. The eggs were good. Room was quite comfortable. Hot water runs quickly. There is construction in the lot next to the side I was on (north side) but it was pretty quiet as construction goes and the noise insulation at the hotel must be pretty good because it did not wake me even when I slept in till 10:30a first night (jet lag) and I am a light sleeper. Regarding the "it's hot" issue you read about, I can definitely see that would be a huge issue in warmer times but they had signage up that they are installing AC in all rooms and it will be complete by April 2024. I saw the workers doing installations while I was there. It definitely is an unusually warm building above the ground floor. It was never warmer than 55 F outside while I was there but I did have to keep my window open 6 inches (furthest it goes) nearly the whole time to keep the room a good sleeping temperature (I like it cool). I can imagine the summer would have been difficult but it's good to see they are addressing that with the AC Installation. If you are there this fall or spring and worried about it being too warm maybe ask for a lower floor... I would suspect 6 and 7 are warmer than 2 or 4 (but I don't know that for sure). Location is good. I am a fast walker and got to the core tourist sites in 15+ minutes. If you want to be really close to Royal Mile etc, this might be just a tad too far for you...but you'll pay a lot more to be a few minutes closer. I'd happily stay again when back in EDI
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CookswithpassionTN wrote a review Sept 2023
Alexandria, Virginia64 contributions88 helpful votes
This is a very well-located hotel that is about a 15-minute walk to the top of the Royal Mile, and walkable to a lot of attractions, such as Holyrood Palace, the Edinburgh Castle, and other shopping and restaurant areas. The staff is helpful and friendly. Breakfast was well-balanced. The Guest laundry had only two very small (typically European) washers and dryers. The bedrooms and bathrooms are small; the living room and kitchen areas are ok. There are no outlets in the bathrooms, which seem odd. If coming from the U.S. you will need an outlet adapter--they can be purchased at several stores in the area. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the accessibility to the places we wanted to see and go to.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Arleen A wrote a review Sept 2023
Boston, MA48 contributions19 helpful votes
Excellent, clean, and great service from front desk. Maria and Sabine are great and are very accommodating and helpful in every way. Really good hot breakfast with everything you would want. Room and bathroom immaculate.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MMR351 wrote a review Aug 2023
Porto, Portugal10 contributions9 helpful votes
As other reviewers commented, there is no AC and the rooms can get very hot. We had a window that opened about 12 inches but it didn't do much to cool the room. There isn't much of a breeze as there is an apartment building so close. We were chose to stay here vs other hotels because the others cited not having AC. We assumed, having stayed at other Residence Inns, that each room would have AC. You can feel the difference between the upper floors and the ground floor which had AC, though Uber were told the building have AC at all. Even the stairwells were cooler than the hallways and rooms. Also disappointed that there was no stove to cook if we wanted to. Microwave was tiny. Toilet smelled horrible that we had to keep the door shut. There are bath amenities but the shower gel was extremely low and we had a hard time pumping anything out. The mini fridge doesn't have a freezer. The queen studio has just one chair - very disappointing as most Residence Inns have a sofa AND a table with chairs or kitchen bar with chairs to sit. What was nice: there is an ice machine on the floor near the elevator. Breakfast was a good size with eggs, bacon, beans, and sausage; fruit, yogurt, deli meats, and baked goods. When we asked for a fan they had an extra for us but it would have been nice to have it already in the room as an option. Initially, we didn't know it was an option until we heard it from another guest. Had a gym but is tiny: one treadmill and one other machine. No where to stretch out or really lift weights. Very tight configuration. Location is nice with a 10-15 min walk to restaurants and the castle. Park is very close too with children's playground. Not sure we would stay at this Marriott again as it is more like a hotel than a Residence Inn and the cost in the summer is not worth what you pay for.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Koenig, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 17 Aug 2023
Good Morning, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a detailed response - we always appreciate thorough feedback from our guest. On this occasion, we appear to have been unable to fulfill your expectations, and I would like to apologise for the problems you have encountered during your stay. First and foremost, I fully understand that a lack of Air Cooling units has affected your stay very dramatically. Getting a good night's rest is vital, especiallt after long travelling. Rest assured, we are in the final planning phases to have Air Cooling units installed over the coming months, and we hope that once we have this completed this will be a problem of the past. Regarding the room layout and configuration, our Standard Studios have a very simple layout since they are our most basic room - this appears to be the room type you stayed in. We do have larger room types available, our Larger Studios as well as our One Bedroom Suites, the latter of which also come with a full induction stove and oven. You have also indicated some issues with cleanliness - this is something we of course take seriously, and will discuss with our Housekeeping team - thank you very much once again for making us aware. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, including the breakfast and the location of the property. We hope that you will consider us again for any future Edinburgh stay, andiIf we may be of any assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us. Kind Regards, Alexander Koenig Nights Supervisor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£85 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn edinburgh hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghSouthside & Holyrood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
107
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RESIDENCE INN BY MARRIOTT EDINBURGH - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Scotland (0.3 miles), Escape The Past (0.3 miles), and Greyfriars Kirkyard (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Conveniently located restaurants include Doctors, Tupiniquim Brasil crepes, and SEN Vietnamese Dining.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (0.4 miles), Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.0 miles), and Gladstone's Land (0.4 miles).