We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

B+B Edinburgh

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (613)
Room & Suite (352)
Dining (62)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#33 of 162 B&Bs in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Polish
1275Reviews27Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 768
  • 346
  • 92
  • 36
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
DayTrip94573 wrote a review Feb 2024
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Well located, well preserved townhouse in Edinburgh. Room was good, super views over Dean Village. Limited service hotel, where it felt that that staff could do with more training. We waited 45 minutes at breakfast,
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Other at B+B Edinburgh
Responded 6 days ago
Hi DayTrip94573, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize sincerely for the issues you experienced, as they do not reflect our usual standards or what we aim for. I have reviewed your feedback with the team, and we will use it to improve our services. Kind regards Peter Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sbeck468573 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Loved the historic building. Great breakfast, friendly staff. A very comfortable and relaxing stay. Easy to get to and to and to get around. Fab scones and porridge amongst the breakfast options- even the haggis was well received. Big room and a comfy bed!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Other at B+B Edinburgh
Responded 5 days ago
Hi sbeck468573, Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback on your recent stay. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Peter Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mmmu5mnwy6 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
The perfect location for the most perfect few days. My partner and I travelled from London to Edinburgh in Feb for a comedy show and short holiday. We were overly impressed with the B&B’s decor and services, including a library and bar. The staff were very attentive and the building was beautiful overall. Although the full cooked breakfast wasn’t up to much, it was more than made up for by the perfect location and stunning stay in Edinburgh. Highly recommend , we will be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Other at B+B Edinburgh
Responded 5 days ago
Hi mmmu5mnwy6, Thank you for your valuable feedback and great rating. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Peter Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jenfun2222 wrote a review Feb 2024
Markstay, Canada1 contribution
Rooms were large and the bed was the most comfortable bed I ever slept in, but the toilet worked half the time, the TV kept disconnecting the cable and the cabinet was falling apart when we touched it. The breakfast wasn’t as expected either, employees didn’t seem very happy either. Not the quality you’d expect for the price paid.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Other at B+B Edinburgh
Responded 5 days ago
Hi jenfun2222, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize sincerely for the issues you experienced, as they do not reflect our usual standards or what we aim for. I have reviewed your feedback with the team, and we will use it to improve our services. Kind regards Peter Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
stevepen2017 wrote a review Feb 2024
Belfast, United Kingdom17 contributions3 helpful votes
Every now and again when travelling, you fall upon a place that simply exceeds any expectations you may have of your chosen place to stay, B+B Edinburgh did this in abundance. The location is a comfortable walk into Princes street, and a comfortable walk from either the bus or tram stops from Edinburgh airport. We had a warm greeting from Peter and Liam on reception, and any member of staff we met during our stay could not have been more courteous or helpful. The decor from the front door throughout the building has been done in a respectful manner that reflects the quality of this fabulous building, and immediately reassures you that this place could exceed expectations. The room was all we could have hoped for, and the bathroom offered both a bath and shower to ease away the minor aches of a good days walk around the city. I had read some encouraging reviews before l booked this absolute gem , but having stayed there for three nights l am simply baffled how a hotel ( do not be fooled by the B+B title) can provide this level of comfort, not to mention the excellent breakfast, for the price they did. Both myself and my wife will be counting the days until we get an opportunity to come back to the fabulous B+B Edinburgh and enjoy the wonderful city of Edinburgh again. Love,love , loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Other at B+B Edinburgh
Responded 5 days ago
Hi stevepen2017, Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback on your recent stay.I am so pleased to hear you had a wonderful time. The team aspire to always offer exceptional service to our guests, I will be sure to share your kind words with them as they will be thrilled to receive such high feedback scores. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again and hopefully we will have this opportunity in the near future. Kind regards Peter Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
fj3hg4xkq5 wrote a review Feb 2024
Belfast, United Kingdom1 contribution
We were on a couple of days sightseeing tour, the hotel is 25 min walking distance from the main objects, it is quiet at night (you don’t hear the street), breakfast is good, service is excellent. Unfortunately the lift was out of order and we had to climb the very top floor but our room had a great view of the castle:)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Other at B+B Edinburgh
Responded 1 week ago
Dear fj3hg4xkq5, Thank you for your valuable feedback and great rating, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience related to our elevator. We always advise customers prior to arrival that the lift is out of service. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Peter Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
blaidl846984 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Lovely stay, would recommend, staff absolutely great. Breakfast was absolutely great and you will love the views from the windows. Just need the lift fixing. Great location for central Edinburgh, close!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Other at B+B Edinburgh
Responded 1 week ago
Dear blaidl846984, Thank you for your valuable feedback and great rating. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us! Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Peter Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
amaiwa250377 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
I love the architecture, atmosphere, charm and people who work there. My stay was very pleasant. I enjoyed every minute in the library which was my personal highlight! For foodies as my self, you will regret it if you don’t try The big vegetarian breakfast! It’s so delicious! And finally, the people who work at the B+B! Thank you very much for your hard work and professionalism! You all made my stay so incredibly pleasant and positive. You can be assured that I will come back some day with my friends and family.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Other at B+B Edinburgh
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear amaiwa250377, Thank you for your valuable feedback and great rating. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back ! Kind regards Peter Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CorrinaLew wrote a review Jan 2024
Liverpool, United Kingdom1 contribution
We visited B+B Edinburgh with our two small dogs and our experience couldn't have been better! Our room was clean and cosy, and our dogs were greeted with beds, a bowl, and some treats! Breakfast was lovely each morning and the b&b even had a menu for our dogs to order from. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all outstanding. Our dogs were welcomed instead of simply tolerated like so many places that claim to be dog-friendly do and the staff made them and us really feel looked after. The lift was out of action, which meant a lot of stairs during dog bathroom breaks, but it was barely an issue. The hotel itself is an a fantastic spot for all the tourist destinations like Dean Village, Edinburgh Castle and Arthur's Seat, yet it's still wonderful and quiet in the area. Highly recommend B+B Edinburgh and their amazing staff!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Other at B+B Edinburgh
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Dear Corrina, Thank you for your 5 star review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate you highlighting our fantastic location, at the very heart of Edinburgh. I am thrilled also that you enjoyed the breakfast and complimented our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future. Warm Regards Peter Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nyarla T wrote a review Jan 2024
Verona, Italy16 contributions10 helpful votes
Central, quiet location, clean room, good square sausage for breakfast (one * for this). Lift not working. Just a word of caution. There for a business trip, woke up at home at 4 am on that day and had a couple of long days ahead. Room was not ready when checked in, totally ok as it was right before 11 am. Receptionist refused to give the key, insisting that the reception was manned 24/7. I warned him that I had to work until late night but he assured that he would have been there to give me the key. Left then my luggage (no deposit/room, luggage simply left in the hallway) there and went to work. According to hotel policy, somebody was supposed to sit at the reception until 11 pm. I was on purpose back at 10 pm, but door was closed, empty reception desk. Luckily (it is January) I could tailgate when some guests entered. Rang the night buzzer for about 40 minutes, for a total of 36 times (rings are automatically logged). No key, my luggage somewhere in a locked room, I started to get a bit worried. Receptionist showed up eventually, with the only apology that he was in a place where he did not hear the buzzer and I was not precise enough in telling him my return time (Yes, he said that: so much about reception manned 24/7). While this refreshed old memories of past trips when I was young & travelling in the youth hostels, sorry, not good enough for a 4 stars hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Get the key when you check-in, no matter what :)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Other at B+B Edinburgh
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Dear Narla, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize sincerely for the issues you experienced, as they do not reflect our usual standards. I have reviewed your feedback with the team, and we will use it to improve our services. Kind regards Peter Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£81 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Melvin House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghWest End
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

B+B EDINBURGH - Updated 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison

Frequently Asked Questions about B+B Edinburgh
Which popular attractions are close to B+B Edinburgh?
Nearby attractions include Dean Village (0.1 miles), St. Mary's Cathedral (0.2 miles), and National Galleries of Scotland: Modern Two (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at B+B Edinburgh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at B+B Edinburgh?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at B+B Edinburgh?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to B+B Edinburgh?
Conveniently located restaurants include Forage & Chatter, The Painted Rooster, and @Pizza.
Are pets allowed at B+B Edinburgh?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does B+B Edinburgh offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at B+B Edinburgh?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to B+B Edinburgh?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (1.0 miles), Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.7 miles), and Gladstone's Land (0.9 miles).