We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ballantrae Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Ballantrae Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 400: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Couldn't have asked for a better experience! Booked a single room, hotel gave me one with 3 beds in it. The room was huge and spotlessly clean. The location was absolutely superb with the airport tram stop right on the doorsteps. And all that for a killer price. Highly recommended! Wifi didn't work - but wasn't really needed for me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmonHaque
Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

There are plenty of good hotels in Edinburgh, best to stay in one of those. At the Ballantrae staff were lovely and bed was comfortable. They are the ONLY positive qualities. We planned to stay 4 nights during January 2017. We found the hotel did not live up to the photos on the website, it is shabby and neglected, overpriced...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisaibloom
Management360, Owner at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you experienced an issue with the hot water during your stay, and that you decided to check out and receive your refund. We did have a brief problem, but this has been completely repaired.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I believe we stayed in one of the better rooms on offer. Very spacious room with a walk-in wardrobe and a large bathroom offering a shareable shower, a bath with a TV, 2 sinks (his/hers) and just generally very pleasant facilities. Walkable to all the sights of Edinburgh, e.g. approx 5-10 minute walk to Princess Street. Downsides would include parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenWad
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and will be recommending us to other guests. If you are to return, make sure to check out the best possible rates on our website and exclusive offers on our Facebook Page before you book. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is well located and plesent from the outside but there the positive qualities of this hotel ends. A hole in the floor below a Frayed carpet, dingy lighting with one working bulb damp ceiling. A categorical list of qualities you would associate with a poor quality hostel let alone a "3 star" hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Austin K
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to receive this review, which we do not feel is a true representation of the hotel. Please accept our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. Kind regards.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we stayed here 1week before xmas hotel was really nice staff were helpful the rooms were really spacious with tea and coffee making facilities . breakfast was really nice and healthy makes a change from greasy bacon and egg . there was no lift in the hotel so expect to climb a few flites off stairs . this hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxi944
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 Star review. We are delighted that everything was perfect for you, and that you will definitely be returning in the future. Make sure to check out the exclusive offers on our website next time before you book. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is a nice looking Premier Inn next door that is modern and next to a lovely church. I'd stay there. Ballantrae has no wifi, no water pressure, flat pillows, noisy street with tram bells, sub par breakfast and only four parking spaces. Front desk people were friendly but we had to carry our luggage up 2 big flights of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank boutiquehotelbabe
Management360, General Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you will not be returning to the hotel, and the issues you mention will be addressed. As we are located in the heart of Edinburgh city centre, some street noise is to be expected. Unfortunately we cannot have a list installed at the hotel as we are a listed building, but we there are...

Wales, UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights over the Xmas period and had a good deal. Informed hotel we were arriving at 8.30 am- 9am but found the hotel shut and in darkness. As it was snowing, we peered through letterbox to see mail and had no answer on telephone line. After loitering in the bus station for 20 mins, we got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jugz5
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry that the hotel was not open at 9am on the morning you arrived, but we closed the hotel for Christmas and re-opened for guests from 9.30 on Boxing Day. We are glad that everything else was perfect for you and that you will stay again - be sure to check out the...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 2 days in Edinburgh the place was bussing every one in holiday mood but this hotel was a big let down the reason I give it 1 was it was very well located and the room / attic was very clean but to access it my wife and I had to climb 7 flights of stairs 71 to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 353paul
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your recent stay. We do have rooms located on low floors which we do our best to allocate when requested. The bar is open to residents 24 hours a day - the issue with you not being served will be investigated immediately. Kind regards.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location of the hotel can't be faulted. Just off George Street and a few minutes walk to the theatre. Staff were very friendly but the place needs a lick of paint and a good deep clean. Carpets needed a good vacuum, sugar on the tea tray and tea stains on the wall. Blinds and curtains didn't close properly. Shame...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Management360, Public Relations Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. The issues you mentioned have been brought to the attention of the Housekeeping Manager. We are glad that you found the location to be perfect for what you need, and hope to welcome you back to the Ballantrae again in the near future. Kind regards.

Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was smaller and less grand than the pictures would suggest. The wifi wasn't working for the entire three days we were there! The staff didn't notify us about this or tell us if there would be any attempt to fix it. Breakfast was, however, a treat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tessa D
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that there was an issue with the WiFi during your stay - this has been addressed. We are glad that you enjoyed breakfast at the hotel, and hope to welcome you back to the Ballantrae again in the near future.

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#123 of 150 in Edinburgh
707 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
The Salisbury Hotel
#70 of 150 in Edinburgh
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#74 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,025 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Ballantrae Hotel

Address: 8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: £48 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ballantrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Ballantrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh
The Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ballantrae Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Ballantrae Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the back only. 110 is big with a huge poster bed.”
 of 5 bubbles boutiquehotelbabe, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“there are a lot of stairs with no lift so don't get a room on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles TessaD238, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were in the basement quad good size for a family”
 of 5 bubbles Jules030, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I was in the basement which was not a problem. If anyone had walking difficulties it might be worth mentioning this on booking,”
 of 5 bubbles 518AlanH, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms downstairs have less stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles Byrnedawg, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay