We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Ballantrae Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Ballantrae Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 387: English reviews
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came here on a solo trip hoping to stay in a nice hotel, clearly I was fooled. The woman and young boy who first greeted me were lovely but I'm afraid this is where the good points end :( The room I was in was horrendously cold to the point I was in full clothes sleeping. A huge draft... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank electric-blaze
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us - please contact us directly at the hotel to discuss this further. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Despite making special requests for the elderly relative I was travelling on booking, the hotel chose to ignore these even though their important information states that one should not hesitate to contact them about mobility issues. Consequently, upon arrival at the hotel, we were forced to find alternative accommodation as my 80 year old mother was unable to negotiate the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced. We always do our best to match and exceed customer expectations, but it seems on this time we did not deliver. Please contact us again to resolve this matter. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Carle Place, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Blocks from Waverley Train Station. Room was very large, clean, and pleasant. High ceilings, fire place, and comfortable couch in front of the tv. Modern bathroom, excellent water pressure. Would definitely stay here again. Plus nice breakfast in the morning.

Helpful?
Thank Weston0614
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and breakfast, and would definitely stay again. Next time, before you book, make sure to check out the best possible available rates on our website and the great deals on our Facebook page. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Level Contributor
158 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location of this hotel is amazing, it's around 5 -10 mins walk into the centre of Edinburgh. As other people have noted there are a lot of stairs, but it does make the view from the rooms very beautiful, so for me it was worth the walk up. The bathrooms look like they have been recently renovated and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SunnyMangoMac
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and yes, the rooms were recently refurbished. The point you made about toiletries has been noted. We hope to welcome you back to the Ballantrae soon - make sure to check out our website next time before you book where you will find our best possible rates! More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of 8 girls stayed here for my friends 30th and we asked for a few celebratory bits be put in the room for her as a surprise! What we received was second to none... A huge thanks to Marion who left us cake, banners, fruit, prosecco and even a bday card! Our pal was blown away at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Byrnedawg
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 Star review. We are glad that you had a great Birthday Break away with your friends, and that you will definitely stay here again - be sure to check out the great deals and best possible rates on our website before you book next time. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked into a single room which was in the dark basement next to a busy road. Inside the room where large locked doors of which a constant humming/buzzing sound came from. The 2nd night they moved me into another room, this in turn had a broken shower door and a bed where you could feel every single spring!!! The cleanliness... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Afb942
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that there was an issue with your recent stay - this will be looked into immediately. Please accept our apologies. Regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Did lots of research to find a reasonably priced hotel with breakfast close enough to the main parts of the city but not so close that it would be noisy. This fitted the bill perfectly. Tram stop less than a minute's walk from the hotel to get back to the airport and the main centre of the city less than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you room was perfect for you, as was the location, and that you found the breakfast buffet to be excellent. We are a listed building, so unfortunately we do not have a lift at the hotel, but we do have rooms on lower floors which we try our best to allocate... More 

wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The good did out way the bad. On arrival the lady on reception was very good as it was early 9 am us arriving she offered us coffee and put our suitcase in a safe place until we could check in at 2 pm. We were in the building next door we had a family room, a huge room but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you back again. Be sure to check out our website for the best possible rates and exclusive deals. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed here just the one night. The room was pleasant, the bathroom could have done with some attention. Our bed was very comfy indeed. Lots of stairs though, Our room was down two flights of stairs. Having said that it was lovely and quiet.

Helpful?
Thank SuzeCHarrogate
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you return in the near future - make sure to check out the best possible rates and special offers on our website and Facebook page. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights, the location is very good, rooms comfortable and a good powerful shower, if your planning to spend most of your time out and about, this is ideal, breakfast is continental, so lots of cold meats, salmon, cheese and bread and cakes. Staff are all very pleasant and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank kathymac10
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Please check out our website for the best possible rates and our Facebook page for exclusive offers before you book! Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
692 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#110 of 150 in Edinburgh
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#46 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,154 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#105 of 150 in Edinburgh
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Ballantrae Hotel

Address: 8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: £51 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ballantrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ballantrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh
The Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ballantrae Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Ballantrae Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms downstairs have less stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles Byrnedawg, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room at the back, and not at the top if you can't do stairs”
 of 5 bubbles SarahJ997, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back of the house, not much of a view but nice and quiet. Try room 118”
 of 5 bubbles SuzeCHarrogate, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top floor at rear, is quiter”
 of 5 bubbles JustAndy103, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we were on the ground floor two doors down the road from the reception. It was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles michellemF2546XS, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay