We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holyrood apartHOTEL

1 Nether Bakehouse Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (483)
Room & Suite (456)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#86 of 160 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Holyrood ApartHOTEL offers 59 modern, stylish apartments in the heart of central Edinburgh. Ranging from Studios to Double Twin apartments, accommodating up to five guests, all spaces are decorated in a light, contemporary style with clean, uncluttered areas and elegant furnishings. Ideal for extended business engagements or a short sightseeing stay, our accommodation feature fully equipped kitchens, dining areas and all the amenities expected from modern serviced apartments. Our Edinburgh accommodation situated in the heart of the city is sand designed for you to feel just like at home. ​Whether you come for business, a romantic week-end, a family trip or get together with your friends, at Holyrood ApartHOTEL, we have a suitable solution for you. Our stylish apartments are all fully fitted with modern kitchens & bathrooms and guests can opt for self-catering or bed & breakfast. Designed for short and long stays, all apartments are equipped with every comfort the modern traveller requires, including a fitted kitchen, a washer/dryer, free Wi-Fi and a flat-screen television with a DVD player. ​Additional amenities that include an on-site gym, a lounge area, 24H reception ​and a car park bring an extra touch of comfort and convenience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Car park
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
1359Reviews33Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 629
  • 508
  • 131
  • 41
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ana A wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The location was quite good. Everything was clean and heating worked perfectly (important in January). It was perfect for 4 people, as we had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms so it made things easier for us. We are not giving 5 stars because we got there at 2:30 PM and we had to wait until 3 PM even though the apartment was ready.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holyrood apartHOTEL
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Iñigo Montoya wrote a review Feb 2023
44 contributions45 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
All in all is a convenient place to stay. It's located in an accessible zone, the staff was friendly and the check in/out process was simple. Some details: Rooms are poorly heated. We only had the A/C for heating (clearly not enough + it made weird sounds all the time) while the bathroom was steaming hot all the time. Also the room wasn't exactly sound proof. Everything else was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holyrood apartHOTEL
Responded 15 Feb 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We can only apologise if you found any issues with the heating or A/C in your apartment. We have since had a member of our maintenance team look into this issue, and the Air Conditioning unit has been replaced. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, despite this issue, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David wrote a review Jan 2024
Liverpool, United Kingdom4 contributions
This was in a very good location and the two bedroom apartment was very spacious. The blinds could have been a bit better as they didn’t block out all the sunlight in the bedrooms but they were very clean and comfortable beds. The staff were polite and helpful but on our last day we needed to leave our luggage safe and they put it in a room and we had to sign a form to say we are responsible if anything goes missing so felt a bit unsure about this.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holyrood apartHOTEL
Responded 18 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David W wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions
We really enjoyed our stay. Lovely staff. Really helpful. Super clean and safe. You need your walking legs as it’s a hike up the Royal Mile! Only thing would be to ask your room cleaners to be a bit quieter? 😀 They zoom around and the door banging is a bit incessant! x
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holyrood apartHOTEL
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kim P wrote a review Dec 2023
4 contributions
+1
Apartment was clean and had all you needed for your stay. The shower was really powerful and the beds comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Easy to get to and close to the city centre. All in all would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Great location clean and had everything you needed for your trip.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holyrood apartHOTEL
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Power2014 wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom29 contributions17 helpful votes
Us 4 friends stayed in room 202 for 2 nights this weekend. The advertised photos are misleading. The apartment is very dated and needs renovating. The sofa and horrible armchairs in the living room are vile and about 25 years old! They should be binned and replaced. It was horrible sitting on them. Totally threadbare and seedy. Our bedroom window did not close properly so there was a sharp wind all night. The carpets are so old and dirty. You definitely need slippers on your feet. The bath is old and the radiators are far too hot. Our kitchen was small and not what we expected. Bedsheets were clean but the pillows were either too flat or too high! Towels were good and we appreciated the fresh milk in the fridge. Some teatowels would have been good though plus some dishwasher tablets. People are not going to bring those items when staying for just 2 nights. The apartments are in a great location. If they updated them then we would return. I think £600 for 2 nights is expensive for this quality.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holyrood apartHOTEL
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We understand that there are some areas of disrepair and damage throughout the property and we are continuously carrying out refurbishments.  We are currently in the process of renovating all rooms and public areas of the hotel, and regret to hear that you did not experience one of these updated rooms. We do hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Avril W wrote a review Nov 2023
Cork, Ireland14 contributions12 helpful votes
Excellent location at the end of the Royal Mile. 2 bed apartment with everything you need to cook if needed. 2 minute walk from our dymanic earth which is kne of the stops on the hop on hop off bus.. Tesco at the front of the building. Taxi £32 to airport family of 5.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holyrood apartHOTEL
Responded 23 Nov 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rob-Bewdley wrote a review Nov 2023
Bewdley, United Kingdom263 contributions113 helpful votes
All the facilities of a roomy hotel room with an added kitchen attached. The rooms are large with a separate bathroom. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The location is good just 5 mins walk to Holyrood park as well as a number of great pubs and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holyrood apartHOTEL
Responded 3 Nov 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karyn C wrote a review Oct 2023
9 contributions2 helpful votes
Rooms were clean and a good size. Breakfast provided was perfect for what we needed, toast, milk, juice, jams, cereals, cheese, butter, shortbread and oatcakes. Room had a washer/dryer, small fridge, toaster and kettle, dishwasher and a small kitchenette. Bathroom had a heated towel rail so perfect for drying clothes that couldnt go in the dryer. Room also had air conditioner and heater and opening windows. Close to the Royal Mile, 8 minute walk to the castle and 2minutes to Holyrood Palace. Loads of places nearby to eat. Only minor issue is shower over the bath is quite narrow and could be an issue if you have mobility issues climbing in and up to it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is available if you book at £20 a night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holyrood apartHOTEL
Responded 20 Oct 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Allison R wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
It was very nice to have a full kitchen space with all the necessities to do my own cooking and not have to eat out every night. The washer/dryer machine was pretty easy to use. A couple of my heavy sweaters didn’t dry out fully in the machine but they were fine after hanging up overnight.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holyrood apartHOTEL
Responded 4 Oct 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£76 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holyrood aparthotel edinburgh, holyrood aparthotel hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLYROOD APARTHOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Edinburgh)

Frequently Asked Questions about Holyrood apartHOTEL
Which popular attractions are close to Holyrood apartHOTEL?
Nearby attractions include Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.3 miles), The Chocolatarium (0.2 miles), and Mackenzie Leather Edinburgh (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holyrood apartHOTEL?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a fitness centre, laundry service, and internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Holyrood apartHOTEL?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holyrood apartHOTEL?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Holyrood apartHOTEL?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holyrood apartHOTEL?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Pakora Bar, The Haggis Box, and PIGGS.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holyrood apartHOTEL?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holyrood apartHOTEL located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holyrood apartHOTEL?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Holyrood apartHOTEL?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (0.5 miles), Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.3 miles), and Gladstone's Land (0.6 miles).
Is Holyrood apartHOTEL accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.