We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cumberland Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cumberland Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 229: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

One night stay for family celebration. Booked family room as all that was available and did not cost much more. It was huge! 1 double, 3 singles, a settee bed and 2 armchairs but still room was not crowded. Lovely big windows overlooking city to Pentland hills. Decor was a bit dated, curtains a bit faded but it was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sine6
Durham
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is about 10 mins slow walk from Edinburgh Haymarket. The hotel was clean, friendly and seemed to be family run. I was staying for 1 night with my 11 year old daughter. Our room was clean and roomy if a bit old fashioned, but they where still of good quality. Even though the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole693
Ossett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I decided on a few days in Edinburgh, and would normally book something like a Premier Inn or equivalent, but soon realised that parking the car in the City would be a problem, and costly, so after much searching, came across the Cumberland Hotel, which seemed to fit the bill. We arrived mid afternoon, and after parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenquinn50
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I arrived here with friends for a Theatre and social weekend, we picked this Hotel for its proximity to the city centre and its location to Tram and Bus stops which was excellent as the bus stops right outside the hotel and it is a short walk to the tram and train terminus. Arrival at the hotel was good as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David U
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I unfortunately stayed in this "hotel" for the night whilst working away and it is the worst place I have ever stayed. First off, the owner is the biggest misery imaginable, all he did was moan and complain that he had to open the door when I pressed the buzzer to get in, and then caught him complaining about having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank strachan123
Corstorphinehotels, Manager at Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, you did not stay in the Hotel and you are writing lies. You must be ashamed.

Boblingen, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Old rooms with leaky windows and poor heating . Good luck that we had an additional electric heater in the wardrobe. Very friendly staff although some didn' t speak english. Breakfast ok. Good choice if you are looking for an affordable hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkaepple
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here last December and it was terrible. I decided to give them another go this time with my wife and 2 grand children. We stayed in a "Family Room" it was spacious and the beds were clean and comfortable. However, the toilet did not flush properly but to be fare they repaired it straight away. I also found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
nuneaton
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Paid only £50 per night for single occupancy for two nights. The receptionist who greeted me could have been a bit friendlier when I checked in but all the other staff I came into contact with were friendly and helpful. My room was a double, very clean, a little out-dated but perfectly ok for a couple of nights. Free wifi,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nuneatonmark
castle douglas
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed here last night as a party of 3 adults and were given the room with a 4 poster bed and 2 singles. Very clean room and facilities. Staff very helpful.breakfast was adequate and was nice and fresh. Central place for Edinburgh. Well done hotel staff at running this hotel well. All very friendly.x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doddfi
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This Hotel is within walking distance from the City(that is, if you are fit and well!). However the bus stop is just in front of it, with regular buses(bear in mind to have change, as high chance you won't get any change for your money, it is just the way it is!). We had 2 rooms, both very clean, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morena435

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
880 reviews
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
#150 of 445 in Edinburgh
74 reviews
Corstorphine
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
#269 of 445 in Edinburgh
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4Kt Guesthouse
#47 of 445 in Edinburgh
109 reviews
Hampton Hotel
#121 of 445 in Edinburgh
88 reviews
Edinburgh Lodge Hotel
#105 of 445 in Edinburgh
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cumberland Hotel is a 'B' listed detached stone Victorian house of character and architectural interest. Built in the 1850's, it has been carefully refurbished to retain many of its original features, and lies in its own attractive grounds overlooking the main A8 tourist route into Edinburgh, within 10 minutes walk from Princes Street and within 10 minutes drive of Edinburgh Airport. Featuring free wi-wifi in rooms. Limited private parking on a first come first serve basis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Address: 1 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: £42 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cumberland Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cumberland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 7 was massive. Great for a family.”
 of 5 bubbles Sine6, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 for peace and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles kenquinn50, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose a quieter room at the rear of the main hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianH935, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are too bothered by noise avoid the room right next to the Reception downstairs(no 2). You may hear people come and going!”
 of 5 bubbles morena435, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No 10 is a quiet room, but there are no curtains, only vertical blinds.”
 of 5 bubbles CathyH336, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay