We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Apex Grassmarket Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (595)
Room & Suite (323)
Dining (106)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#85 of 160 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Perfect for pictures and plans, this Old Town gem is the dream destination. Onlooking one of the most vibrant areas of the city, the 4-star Apex Grassmarket Hotel offers amazing views of Edinburgh Castle from the same place you snooze. Inclusive of luxurious bedrooms with free Wi-Fi, an ambient restaurant and relaxing fitness and wellness facilities, an Apex adventure awaits. Find yourself making endless discoveries in luxurious bedrooms. With a comfy bed and spacious en suite, enjoy taking a bath or shower with Antipodes organic toiletries helping you to stay green while you stay clean. The flat screen TV will keep you entertained, and the mini fridge and air conditioning will ensure things are kept fresh. Some rooms have a Nespresso Coffee machine to make yourself right at home. Cots and highchairs are available on request. With a stylish restaurant, intimate bar, an indoor swimming pool and a fully equipped gym, eat in, chill out and work out in style! The Metro Bar & Brasserie serves Scottish inspired food with a twist and has spectacular views to match! Dine here and take your taste buds on an adventure. Both The Royal Mile and the National Museum of Scotland are approximately 600 yards away, Princes Street is a 12-minute walk and Edinburgh Castle is about a 10-minute walk from the hotel. Plus, with Edinburgh Airport just a 25-minute drive, stay here to be well-connected.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
City View
Languages Spoken
English
1832Reviews86Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 887
  • 597
  • 216
  • 74
  • 59
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Gary R wrote a review Yesterday
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited the city for our 10 year anniversary and chose this hotel due to it's location being right near Edinburgh Castle. I mentioned the anniversary at the time of booking which was noted and upon arrival we were greeted in the room with a swan love heart display made with towels, and a card wishing us Happy Anniversary. A very nice touch which was greatly appreciated. Room was cosy, very comfy bed and bathroom and shower facilities all great. Due to our experience, coupled with the location on Grassmarket Square right near the Castle, would definitely book again on our next visit to the city, and recommend to anyone!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Gary, Thank you for staying at Apex Grassmarket Hotel and choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us and for sharing your wonderful experience! We're delighted to hear that our hotel's location near Edinburgh Castle was ideal for your anniversary trip. It's heartening to know that our team took note of your anniversary and went the extra mile to surprise you with a swan love heart display made with towels and a thoughtful card upon your arrival. Thank you for your kind words and for recommending us to others. We would be honoured to welcome you back on your next visit to the city. Please feel free to reach out to us directly if there's anything we can assist you with in the future. Until then, congratulations once again on your anniversary, and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Warm regards, Judita Venskauskaite Assistant Front Office Manager Apex Grasmarket Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bfvs2nl3ap wrote a review 27 Feb
1 contribution
Hotel was great location with a lot of nice surrounding bars and restaurants. Room had all the amenities and a comfy bed. Nice to have a carafe in the room that can be filled with drinking water as well as the usual tea and coffee. Staff were lovely and helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at Apex Grassmarket Hotel and sharing your experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you had a lovely night away at our hotel and enjoyed the great location surrounded by nice bars and restaurants. It's fantastic to know that your room met your expectations and had all the amenities you needed, including a comfy bed for a restful night's sleep. We're glad you appreciated the convenience of having a carafe in the room for drinking water, in addition to the usual tea and coffee offerings. Our team takes pride in providing excellent service, and we're thrilled to hear that you found our staff lovely and helpful during your stay. Your kind words are truly appreciated, and we'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our team members. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable experience in the future. If there's anything else we can do to make your next stay even better, please don't hesitate to let us know! Kind regards, Judita Venskauskaite Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chanel S wrote a review 22 Feb
1 contribution
I would highly recommend this hotel, great hotel, great location. Room was nice and tidy and bed perfectly made. I'll definitely use this hotel again. Breakfast selection could've been a better but no real complaints. Thanks to the receptionist who helped with my bags.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your glowing recommendation! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us and found our hotel and location to your liking. It's fantastic to know that your room was nice and tidy, and that you had a comfortable night's sleep with a perfectly made bed. We appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast selection, and we'll certainly take it into consideration as we continuously strive to improve and enhance our offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, and please don't hesitate to let us know if there's anything specific we can do to make your future stays even better. Kind regards, Judita Venskauskaite Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tomB9426EY wrote a review 22 Feb
Harlow, United Kingdom1 contribution
Everything was exceptional including location. Super friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was exceptional with lots of choices. Only the parking should be included in price. I will stay in this hotel again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you had an exceptional experience with us, from our convenient location to our friendly and helpful staff. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed our breakfast with its wide variety of choices. We appreciate your suggestion regarding parking, and will share it with relevant management team. We are glad to hear that you are planning to stay with us again, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another fantastic stay. If there's anything else we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know. Kind regards, Judita Venskauskaite Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
qarlen178285 wrote a review 19 Feb
1 contribution
Hotel was great few wee tweeks could have been done pool cold ,soft pillows but when told Reception tbis was rectified straight away and constant banging of doors after 8 in morning with house keeping I paid for late check out an was disrubed with the constant banging of doors
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Qarlen, Thank you for staying at Apex Grassmarket Hotel and taking your time to write your feedback. We are delighted to hear you had a nice stay and our staff assisted you with any enquiries efficiently, however would like to express my sincere apologies for the disturbed morning due to the noise from the housekeeping staff. I have taken notes of your comments to share with the relevant management team to ensure it does not happen again. Once again thank you and we hope we can welcome you back for much more improved experience! Kind regards, Judita Venskauskaite Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mrslewi wrote a review 17 Feb
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom42 contributions35 helpful votes
First time back here in about a years and was like coming home. Everywhere is clean and the staff are friendly and attentive. We were there for valentines and our anniversary and were treated to a complimentary upgrade to a castle view room and a lovely balloon and card on arrival. We slept so well for the 3 nights and we were impressed by the cutting of plastic by having a water station in the hallway and carafe in the room. We were grateful for a fan in the room as we believe we were situated near to the main heating pipe in the hotel and even with the radiotor turned off it was a little too hot at times. But that cant be helped and certainly didnt spoil our visit. We booked breakfast each morning and there was plenty of choice to suit all tastes. Its a shame breakfast is no longer served in The Heights on the top floor as that was spectacular. An incredible return to our favourite hotel and we cant wait to come home to you again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear mrslewi, Thank you for sharing your heartwarming experience at our hotel. We're delighted to hear that your recent stay felt like coming home, and we're thrilled to have had the opportunity to celebrate your special occasions with you. Your satisfaction with our cleanliness, attentive staff, and complimentary upgrades warms our hearts. We appreciate your feedback on the heating, and we'll certainly look into ways to enhance your comfort further. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings, although we regret any inconvenience regarding the change in venue. We eagerly anticipate welcoming you back to your favorite hotel soon. Warm regards, Dave | Duty Manager Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ozkan T wrote a review 14 Feb
Wallasey, United Kingdom63 contributions21 helpful votes
Check in (12th Feb) and out(14th Feb) was smooth and easy thanks to the lady at reception, missed to get her name. Stayed in deluxe room with balcony and castle view which was spacious and included kettle and coffee machine. Great wifi throughout the hotel. Keep up the good work!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ozkan, Thank you for staying at Apex Grassmarket Hotel and sharing your positive experience with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location and found our team members to be helpful during your stay. It is wonderful to know that your check-in and check-out process went smoothly and that our receptionist Thyra made a positive impression on you. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to her. We appreciate your feedback and encouragement. We'll continue working hard to maintain our high standards and provide exceptional experiences for all our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable stay! Warm regards, Judita Venskauskaite Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jonathan465 wrote a review 14 Feb
1 contribution
Hotel was ok but very basic and expensive breakfast / bar costs. Rooms are fairly basic with no air con control, just a radiator thermostat. The beds are also very hard. Given the price charged and cost of food, would expect generally better quality.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jonathan, Thank you for staying at Apex Grassmarket Hotel and taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad to hear that you found our hotel's location to be convenient for your needs, however would like to express our apologies you found the overall experience did not meet your expectations. I have taken notes of your comments to share with relevant Management team for future reference and strive to improve our offerings to better accommodate our guests' needs and preferences. Your feedback is valuable to us as we work towards providing a more satisfying experience for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide a more enjoyable stay. If you decide to return, please feel free to reach out to us directly so we can make arrangements to better meet your needs. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards, Judita Venskauskaite Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rebecca W wrote a review 8 Feb
46 contributions50 helpful votes
I had higher expectations about this hotel. The staff gave a mixed impression, check-in was a very procedure. The room smelled a bit funny and the bathroom was very small and few places to put your stuff or hang your towels. The breakfast was very bad unfortunately. Looked good at first sight but the buffé was boring, juice discusting and the stuff one could order from the kitchen - bland. The location of the hotel was great though.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Rebecca W, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We value your insights regarding your recent stay. We regret to learn that aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations. Your comments regarding the check-in process, room condition, and breakfast offerings have been duly noted and will be addressed with our team for improvement. Nevertheless, we are pleased to hear that you appreciated our hotel's convenient location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more satisfactory experience in the future. Dave | Duty Manager Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
derekmR128GI wrote a review 7 Feb
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 contribution
No room service.as they wouldn't answer the phone to take my order or reply to my voicemail lots of attempts made .i got through on one occation but yhe line was yhat bad i couldnt hear a thing and then they hung up the phone.restaurant food was poor quality and overcooked.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Derek McMenemy, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Apex Grassmarket Hotel. We regret to learn about the challenges you encountered with our room service and restaurant experience. Your comments regarding the difficulties in reaching us and the quality of the evening meal are duly noted. Rest assured, we will address these issues to enhance our service standards. Your valuable input helps us identify areas for improvement, and we appreciate your candidness. We strive to provide a seamless experience for all our guests, and we hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Please contact us directly should you decide you'd like to stay with us again. Best Regards, Dave | Duty Manager Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£86 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
apex international edinburgh, hotel apex international
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghGrassmarket / Old Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
169
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

APEX GRASSMARKET HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Edinburgh)

Frequently Asked Questions about Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Scotland (0.3 miles), Edinburgh Old Town (0.2 miles), and Camera Obscura and World of Illusions (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quinn's Cafe, Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, and Doctors.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Apex Grassmarket Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Apex Grassmarket Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (0.3 miles), Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.0 miles), and Gladstone's Land (0.2 miles).