We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hilton Edinburgh Carlton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 160: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My daughter and I made a special trip to Edinburgh on Wednesday 23rd November to visit 'Edinburgh Christmas', do a bit of sightseeing, shopping and I thought it would be a nice touch to book a 'Festive Afternoon Tea' at The Carlton. We started our day at The Carlton. Arrived, it was very busy with a very large group of... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We had a great few days staying at the Carlton Hilton, we were upgraded on arrival and the room was great. All of the staff we met at the hotel were very helpful and friendly, this made our short stay even better. We enjoyed a few cocktails in the 1900 bar and I must thank Colin Brand, the Food &... More 

Helpful?
Thank ScottD962
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at this hotel for two nights on bed and breakfast .Good central location and close to many of Edinburgh's attractions .Staff were good and helpful and we enjoyed a very good buffet breakfast .Room was very comfortable with great views of Edinburgh .

Helpful?
Thank bodmas
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Superb hotel staff and location. Rooms very modern and received a great service from all the staff. There were renovations taking place during our stay but these did not cause us any problems at all. Great choice at breakfast - only small gripe was it could have been a little hotter and the plates were cold. Complimentary WiFi in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireCazzy
TD_LMC901, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton, responded to this review

Dear LancashireCazzy, I am thrilled to see you have taken the time to share your 5 star review. I am pleased you loved our central location and the service levels from our dedicated team. I will review your breakfast feedback so we can improve the most important meal of the day and gain an even higher recommendation from you. Thank... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The rooms were nice, really comfy beds and nice big tv. The bathroom and shower were really nice. Breakfast was nice with loads of choice, except I was unlucky at the time I went to fill my plate as there weren't any sausages and the eggs that were there had gone hard. The lobby is a little cold and impersonal,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 1cfjs11
TD_LMC901, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton, responded to this review

Dear 1cfjs11, Thank you for sharing your recent review. I am so pleased to see you experienced a comfortable stay with us. I am however disappointed to see in some areas of service levels let you down. I will review where improvements can be made to our levels of guest care, please accept my sincerest apologies for the discomfort caused.... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed in this hotel over a weekend with my two daughters, 17 and 10 years old. The hotel is very nice, clean and well located. Even so I wasn't particularly happy with the stay. First someone turned the sign on the door from "please make up my room" to "do not disturb" so the room wasn't made that day.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Drifa G
TD_LMC901, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton, responded to this review

Dear Drifa G, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. Whilst I am pleased to see you were impressed with our central location and cleanliness I am sorry to hear about our service standards on the Sunday night. I will review your comments at length with the necessary team members and ensure we can use your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night recently. As we were exploring the city we didn't spend much time in the hotel however the room was comfortable and spacious. Got an excellent nights sleep. My only negative was the two bright yellow blowers at the reception desk, they were rather unsightly but it's just a very minor complaint.

Helpful?
Thank GormMango
TD_LMC901, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton, responded to this review

Dear GormMango, Thank you for sharing your recent review. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your recent stay and found our hotel comfortable and spacious. Unfortunately due to heating challenges we did have to source temporary blow heaters, please accept my apologies for the discomfort caused. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Edinburgh Carlton we look forward to welcoming... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice hotel in good location. Staff were very friendly and attentitive. We never had dinner but the quality of breakfast was the best I have experienced in a hotel. Rooms were very clean but a little underwhelming compared to the rest of the hotel - which was fabulous!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Angela D
TD_LMC901, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton, responded to this review

Dear Angela D, I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent review. Whilst, its wonderful to see you were impressed with our central location, I am sorry to see you were not entirely satisfied with the finish of our guest rooms. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Edinburgh Carlton, we appreciate your loyalty and hope to welcome you... More 

Cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel has been done out to a very nice standard. Our room however did suffer from quite a bit of road noise which did not bother me as I am a good sleeper but if that should be an issue ask for a room away from the road. Great location and very handy for the shopping and the long... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AndyCumbria
TD_LMC901, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton, responded to this review

Dear AndyCumbria, I am pleased to read your 5 star review. Its wonderful to see you were impressed by our central location and the serivce from Scott, he is a valued memeber of our team who will be delighted with your personal mention. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Edinburgh Carlton we look forward to welcoming you back in the... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Can't argue with the location. Just off the Royal Mile with most of the main city sights within easy walking distance. Rooms and public areas all very fresh after the recent refurb. We were in an executive queen room at the back of the 5th floor. Reasonably spacious and very quiet. Some staff (Scott in the exec lounge and Jana... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pedrode
TD_LMC901, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton, responded to this review

Dear Pedrode, I appreciate you taking the time to share a review from your recent stay with us. Its so wonderful to see you were impressed with our central position in the heart of such a beautiful city. Furthermore, I am delighted to hear you were impressed with the service levels from Scott & Jana, both will be overjoyed you... More 

482 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (410)
Viewed
Amenities (85)
Viewed
Pool (45)
Viewed
Premium Double Room (54)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (133)
Viewed
Upper Level Premium Double Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
632 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,116 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
222 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blending perfectly into the historic surroundings of the Royal Mile, Hilton Edinburgh Carlton is an iconic element of the city. The building dates back to 1900s and is part of the impressive North Bridge which links Edinburgh's Old and New town together, giving you easy access to countless shopping, dining and entertainment. Once one of Edinburgh's top department stores, the building was fully refurbished in 2016 to bring the décor back to its stylish best. Our modern accommodations offer complimentary WiFi access, ergonomic work area and Suite Dreams by Serta(R) beds with luxurious linens. Select an executive room or suite for extra space and amenities including access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast and refreshments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Carlton

Address: 19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: £107 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Edinburgh
Carlton Hotel Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#63 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Edinburgh Carlton staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Edinburgh Carlton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Executive rooms well worth the extra for the executive lounge access.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyCumbria, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a view if it's important to you.”
 of 5 bubbles Chachachingching, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“any room , they are all renovated”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineW324, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have more than one person, be sure to get a large enough room for two.”
 of 5 bubbles billw838, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“i would say a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles Trick0369, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay