We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Show Prices
#74 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,875: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Like any Novotel this is a clean, modern and well equipped place to stay. A short taxi ride from Waverley Station (approx £5) the hotel boasts 6 floors of accommodation, a bar, buffet restaurant, swimming pool and steam room. We were delighted with the size and comfort of our room and enjoyed a meal in the rock music themed bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reddog91
Harrogate, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came here with my daughter for her 13th birthday, first impressions were excellent, the staff were very accommodating, we got an early check in (12pm instead of 2pm) and also a late checkout the following day of 3pm. They gave us a map of the City to help us find various places we were looking for and marked the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wackygirl74
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and compliments – We strive to make each guests' experience special and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

For a business trip it's perfect. Great helpful staff, very responsive and the rooms are large, light and well-equipped. Having a gym and small pool makes it a great choice. I'm impressed every time I stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HuldraHunter
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I agree with the previous review which states this shouldn't be a four star hotel. The reception and bar area of the hotel look lovely, but the rooms need some TLC. The net curtains had many holes in them, the TV was tiny with not many channels, the bed was poorly made, the sink would not drain and instead would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank e83f83n
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I do take your comments very seriously and will make sure to investigate further. If you would like to talk to me personally further about the issues you encountered during your stay, please call me directly at 0131 656 3500....

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited Edinburgh with my husband and two children. We stayed in the Novotel and was really happy with our choice. It was a perfect location for us with it being a 10/15 minute walk to the castle and a 5 min walk from Grassmarket. We arrived early at the hotel and the room was ready so we checked in, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annaran r
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to hear that you and your lovely family had a wonderful time with us and that your kids enjoyed our entertainment area. I am however sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our British buffet and will investigate further with our kitchen team to see how they can make it...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

first time in the hotel, very impressed. can't fault it in the slightest. the food is spot on, very friendly people. facilities are all faultless. very impressed and ill definitely be staying again. would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harvey F
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that your experience was more than satisfactory and that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

England
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

180 for a 2 night stay and NO breakfast included.1st time I've paid that sort of money and then asked to pay 18 each for breakfast. Heating not working in room so given tiny heater which also did not work.1 member of staff behind bar on Sat afternoon so advised to not order cocktails as he didn't have time to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unhappy35
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed about your experience at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I do take your feedback very seriously and therefore invite you to discuss this matter further with me personally. You can reach me directly at 0131 656 3500. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Clean: housekeeping did a good job pre arrival and daily services. Comfy: rooms are roomy, good shower, large bed, spacious desk space, good amenities (pool and hot tub!). Central: walk to the Castle is a plus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aldo C
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review you have indeed summed up perfectly well and main assets! I hope you have enjoyed our customer service as well. We hope to welcome you soon as Novotel Edinburgh Centre. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was looking forward to a suite and had prepaid. Very disappointed not only to get email on the DAY of arrival telling me the suite was not available , but also to find the online checkin was once again hopeless i.e. you show up at the appointed bit of the reception and stand like a lemon fidgeting until someone...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thewhitlam2015
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I truly apologize for the inconvenience. I will make sure to investigate this matter further and please contact me directly at 0131 656 3500 in order to discuss this matter further. I look forward to welcome you back at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

Colchester
Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfy bed, immaculate room and lovely bath and shower. Toiletries good quality. A bit weird having the toilet separate but useful for friends rather than families sharing. Swimming pool was clean and empty in the mornings and the fitness room had enough equipment to keep us happy. Overall, a really good place to rest your head for Central Edinburgh.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am happy to hear that you are satisfied with Novotel consistency and high quality of service and comfort. I therefore hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

314 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (255)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,989 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,086 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#28 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,184 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: £73 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
Newton, Massachusetts
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Lancaster, United Kingdom
over a year ago
1 month ago

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Queen one is super spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles D7775MGalexanderr, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We asked for a quiet room and were placed on the top floor at the rear. It was good.”
 of 5 bubbles 2Wabisabi, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Brilliant ”
 of 5 bubbles sanjeer2017, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“This is a great, quiet location.”
 of 5 bubbles fkmcja, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Fantastic Value at a Reasonable Price!”
 of 5 bubbles 744angelah, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5