We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Show Prices
#72 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,803: English reviews
dunblane
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed here before and had exactly the same lovely experience as before. Especially enjoyed the bar area which was very relaxing. The breakfast was first class. Our request for additional pillows was carried out and in place for us

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarydollDunblane
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

WOW, we love our 5/5 rating for your stay with us! Many thanks for this, we really appreciate it. The team were delighted when we showed them your review and your lovely comments about them. I am sure we will welcome you back soon. Warm Regards, Matt Brett.

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My dog doesn't have a strong enough jaw to get at those ribs they serve. And big Jaws (my dog) could crack a walnut. Ten ton of pressure in that bite. You'd need at least twenty to pry a scrap of meat from them grippy bones. Clearly microwaved, they come with frozen chips and corn on the cob. The corn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calumnies
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the third year in a row we've stayed at the Novotel. We come at the start of December for the Christmas markets with the kids and book a suite. We have always enjoyed the Novotel as you get great service, a really nice clean tidy hotel that whilst luxurious isn't so 'posh' you are constantly watching the kids...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you Mrs Clarke for taking the time to write your review. I am saddened to read that your return stay with us did not meet it's usual standards. I am currently addressing the issues in room 601 and I will discuss the comments about your bar experience with the team. I do hope that will return next year for...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent a Friday night at this hotel and have no complaints. Arrived at midday to drop our bags off and was told our room was ready so we were able to access our room immediately which was great. Room, and entire hotel, were spotless and stylish. Spent evening in the bar, tried some cocktails etc which were lovely. Breakfast choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HonestLassScotland
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you honestlassScotland for your lovely review and I have taken note of your comments. I do hope we can welcome you back again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Warm Regards, Matt Brett.

Ann Arbor
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 6 nights at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre in November-2016 and were thoroughly satisfied with our experience there. Our travel party included children and an older adult, we had two superior rooms (each with a queen bed and convertible sofa) that were connected via an interior door. The hotel has rooms that face the Castle but the superior rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SenorDonGato
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

WOW, thank you so much for your 5/5 rating, we are all thrilled with your feedback. Your review is ideal for other to read and I'm sure it will be healful in their decision on where to stay in Edinburgh. I am so happy that next time you are in Edinburgh you will choose us and we really look forward...

Manchester
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a fantastic two night stay at this hotel. Staff were professional and friendly throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble Which makes a refreshing change. It was my mother's 70th birthday and Lee in resevasions wad very helpful and ensured she had a card and platter of fruit and cakes were in her roo upon our arrival at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 66,009
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Great review, thank you so much and 5/5 we could not ask for better! Lee will be delighted to hear your comments. I am glad that we were part of your mother's 70th birthday celebrations. Maybe we can be part of the 71st! Hope we can welcome you back on your next trip. Warm Regards Matt Brett.

United States
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The reviews regarding the dirty carpets etc. are correct. That aside, there is nothing wrong with the room or staff. The rooms are standard for European standards. Sorry Americans but hotels in Europe are small compared to what you are used to in the states. The water closet is separate from the bathing area. This hotel does work on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you Robert T for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to read the positive comments about the staff, the will really motivate and encourage them. We are sorry about the carpet in your room. We have a periodical plan for carpet cleaning, however some of the carpets are due to be replaced in the new...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great holiday. Very clean and great breakfast on offer. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and attentive to their guests. The location of this hotel is good, just a few minutes walk away from Grassmarket and from Princes city. We walked everywhere. Would highly recommend this hotel to others

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cliona M
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Wow, 5/5 stars, thank you so much for this! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend staying at the hotel to others. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip! Warm Regards, Matt Brett.

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed at hotel 5 years ago going back to same hotel was a pleasure. Staff very friendly nothing any trouble for them. Breakfast had lots of choice. The pool and steam room and sauna was very relaxing and clean. Will definitely be back again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnahH6856KX
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Wow, 5/5 stars, thank you so much for this! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again. Kind Regards, Matt Brett.

Elche, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a good location, the view from the window is nice. The staff is friendly with us. The room is appropiate and nice. We rest without noise. We had the check-in and the check-out done online so that both on arrival and at check-out everything was ready. The breakfast is good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregorio A
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much Gregorio A for writing a review about your stay with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us so much and I really hope we can welcome you back soon. Matt Brett

308 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (248)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,914 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,911 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: £57 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Lancaster, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Newton, Massachusetts

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Correspond with the front desk, explain areas that they could help you with”
 of 5 bubbles SenorDonGato, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Executive suites are large with great views, look out for the price drops.”
 of 5 bubbles k0r0vak, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Castle View rooms are beautiful it's is lovely to wake up to this beautiful sight.”
 of 5 bubbles wexfordtraveller, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“car park under hotel, car spaces a bit tight and not many of them (book ahead)”
 of 5 bubbles jomU3716US, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid top suites - noisy aircon plant beside both”
 of 5 bubbles NickUK2007, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay