We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Show Prices
#94 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 539: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for our birthdays and booked the thistle hotel and was not disappointed at all. Staff were very welcoming and the room was lovely and spacious, and warm. We were upgraded to a suite which was a welcome surprise and we had a fantastic time. Breakfast was lovely and we will definitely book here again. Thank you once again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey H
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights at the Thistle and were pleasantly surprised. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and gave us a good welcome. The hotel itself is very nicely located in a quiet neighbourhood about 5 mins walk from Princes Street. Across the street is St Mary's Cathedral which can only be described as awesome in context of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DemarrKlarj
Scotland UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a wonderful surprise, when I arrived at the lovely Thistle hotel in Edinburgh's fashionable and classy West End. The historic building, lovely cornices, beautifully appointed rooms, nice toiletries and peaceful location all created the most perfect stay! It really is a most comfortable home from home. The gentlemen staff whom I saw, were all so courteous and attentive to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HelenaScotlandUK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely time in Edinburgh and at the thistle hotel. The reception staff were exceptional and went out their way to help throughout our two day break. I loved the traditional feel and look to the hotel however I would say in need of some talc. Only downside was the cooked breakfast it was very greasy and supposed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were extremely friendly when we arrived. They apologised in advance that a towel rail had been removed from our bathroom; however, I imagine the towel rail was pulled off the wall after people had to steady themselves on the toilet, which moved every time you sat on it. Despite the room being booked for 2 people we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that your overall stay with us was enjoyable. I can only apoligise that you only ever found one towel in the room. This should not have been the case, and please let me assure you that this is not normal service. I...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had been upgraded to the Manor Suite, which is such a beautiful room, warm airy and big, was perfect, clean and everything we needed. The staff are excellent and helpful at all times, the breakfast is lovely with lots of choices, we have stayed there 3 times and will be staying again this year, good central location to town...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elizabethmccrickerd
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable and that you will definitely be returning to stay with us again. We were more than happy to upgrade you to our suite for your stay with us. Our staff take great pride in offering exceptional...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at the hotel early from our flight up to Edinburgh and the staff were warm and welcoming. We were able to leave our bags safely with them and were due to check in at 2pm, however we arrived at the hotel by 11am and they said our room would be ready by 12pm if we needed it. After going...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gemma N
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gemma, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear your overall stay with us was enjoyable. We were more than happy to provide you with a complimentary upgrade. Thank you for your kind words and that you would recommend the hotel for anyone staying in Edinburgh. On behalf of myself and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was warm, clean and comfortable. We chose the basement as there are no lifts in the hotel - less stairs to climb. Tea and coffee facilities in room.On the whole a very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorraine C
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Our staff thrive in offering great service to make sure your stay is most enjoyable. On behalf of myself and the team hear at the Thistle Hotel, I wish to thank you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival, a friend & myself were delighted to be told that we had been 'upgraded' from the twin room we had originally booked to an 'executive' room which had two doubles. Once taken down the stairs into the lower ground 'basement' to our new & improved room, I have to say I was disappointed. The room was very cold,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma S
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gemma, Many thanks for your review. I am very sorry that you feel your overall stay was not what was expected for several issues that you have listed. I would like to just state that you were offered the Twin room when you asked for a room change, however yourself and your friend refused this option as it was...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and myself had booked to stay for 2 nights in this b and b. After reading through some reviews, we were expecting a very pleasant stay. However, when we arrived we were told that we would be in the basement. We were made to feel better as we were told that were being "upgraded" to a better room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emzjc91
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am very sorry that you feel your overall stay was not what was expected for several issues that you have listed. I would like to just state that you were offered the Twin room when you asked for a room change, however yourself and your friend refused this option as it was to high...

273 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
696 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: £60 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Gilman, Illinois

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“very quiet, great nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles traceyh951, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the hotel is nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethmccrickerd, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our basement window faced onto Manor Place and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles lorrainec2017, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We used the manor suite”
 of 5 bubbles S2832FOpaulj, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lots of stairs no lift”
 of 5 bubbles 370natashah, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay