We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Show Prices
#93 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 521: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Location about 10 minute walk from city centre in a quiet area. The hotel itself was tired and shabby although the staff were very warm and welcoming. The room was on the top floor, 76 steps and no elevators. The room was clean but required a complete makeover, starting with a proper working shower. Breakfast was again adequate but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel W
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hazel, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. As we are a Georgian townhouse building, it is very difficult for us to have an elevator, so I do apoligise for this. As we discussed on check in, we could of offered you a lower floor, which you advised was not required. Disappointing to hear that...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is a cosy little hotel, with an old school feel but a home away from home. Located close to the tram station 'Princes Street West End' everywhere is accessible. Edinburgh Castle and the shopping of Princes Street are a short walk away. Facilities at the hotel are good with a good continental breakfast and bar for an evening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samantha K
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Samantha, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can only apologies that you didn't receive the bucks fizz at breakfast time, however I am pleased to hear that Joe was able to make up for this later in the evening. On...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable hotel. Situated in a quiet area of Edinburgh but in easy reach of main attractions and shopping (10 minute walk for shops). Limited parking which has to be booked in advance.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil J
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil. Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful - we do take great pride in offering exceptional customer service to all guests. On behalf of myself and the...

scotland, uk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a few nights here. 10 min walk from Haymarket. 5 min to tram line which takes you into centre, or 15 min walk to End of Princes St. The staff Def DO make this place, helpful and pleasant. Downsides are 4 floors with no lift, outdated and VERY tired rooms throughout (esp bathroom with old grouting/things in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a_suthers
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to helpful and pleasant. Unfortunately, as advertised as a Georgian townhouse, we are are unable to install a lift for the 3 levels within the premises. Disappointed to hear that you found the room you stayed in to be...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had booked this hotel via groupon deal and received excellent service from the reception and other staff. We were shown to a lovely enormous room ( Manor Suite) with a high standard of presentation throughout. There was a complete bathroom suite in the en suite which must be a first for us. The heating was comfortable for a high...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul_reports
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your stay in our Suite was certainly enjoyed. I do agree that sometimes it can be very difficult to heat such large rooms, however we always make sure that the heating is...

Northern Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great time here with family and friends convenient for the rugby at Murray field and central to the centre for shopping.Great staff and service with pleasant old world charm and plenty of character.it is a safe area with lots to do near by.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RPRedman
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our staff to be helpful. We do take great pride in offering exceptional service to guests, ensuring your stay is most enjoyable. On behalf of myself and the team, I would like...

Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this through Groupon. The staff are second to none in their customer care and welcome. Our room No.30 was on the very top floor - a bit of a hike, especially with cases - thankfully the staff offered to take this up and for that matter bring it down for us. Our room was clean and tidy, not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hagiasmos
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We do take great pride in offering exceptional customer service to make sure your stay is most enjoyable. I do apoligise that you found to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our daughter and fiance had travelled up to stay on the Sunday night and we followed them up the next day. We had been upgraded to The Manor Suite because Emily told them it was our anniversary. WOW!!! What an amazing room. It was huge! Gorgeous bed, huge window with writing desk and deep red leather chair and a sofa...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wendaz2
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words on your recent stay with us. It was my pleasure that I was able to give you a complimentary upgrade to help celebrate your special occasion. I am very pleased to hear that you would recommend our hotel to others and that you would definitely visit us again, should you find yourself...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely sight seeing trip to Edinburgh recently were we stayed at the Thistle Hotel were we found the most helpful and pleasant staff. The rooms were comfortable and warm, the continental breakfast was good.I have no hesitation recommending the hotel which is very reasonably priced a good place to rest after a long day in the most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny W
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel to others. Edinburgh is a great city and there is plenty to see and do, no matter what time of the year, so it's great to hear...

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked just one night with a Groupon deal, really helpful through the booking stage. Traditional, cosy hotel situated just a five minutes walk from city centre. Although we only booked via Groupon we were put into a suite which is a huge room with a nice modern bathroom. We arrived early hoping to just leave our bag but our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gtthurs
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the location to be very well situated. Glad to hear that your room was ready prior to check in time, and that we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade to...

270 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#90 of 150 in Edinburgh
675 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,092 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#59 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,235 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#67 of 150 in Edinburgh
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: £66 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Gilman, Illinois

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't think I can think of any”
 of 5 bubbles 599hazelw, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Hotel allows you to specify rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 84neilj, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1-4 are basement rooms, quite dark, Rm 4 no TV signal. avoid these rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for top floor room”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is no lift but our room on the top floor was really quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Corrigan59, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay