We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Twelve Picardy Place

Show Prices
#98 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Twelve Picardy Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 281: English reviews
Start your review of Twelve Picardy Place
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We've just spent three nights at the hotel, we had a lovely suite with a huge bathroom, and it is very clean and tidy. The staff were helpful and the reception area was welcoming with someone there all of the time. The hotel is in good location for the tram restaurants, and the shops, all just a few metres away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jo50hun
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

very nice hotel in a great position in edinburgh some great eating places and pubs in broughton st and surrounding area, the room are very spacious and they have all the mod cons it has no lift so could be a problem for some but did not bother us would stay here again loved it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mac8156
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have stayed a few times at this hotel now and love the quirky rooms. Only complaint is the rainforest shower head - you expect an amazon downfall and it's a light trickle. Bar area with the fire lovely and the staff pleasant and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hmcghee68
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the Steak on Stones Bar area. I am sorry to hear that you didn't find the pressure to be strong enough in your room, I will be sure to investigate this with our Plumber, thank you for notifying me. I hope we...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a nice stay recently at this hotel; we booked two rooms on the top floor. Positives: - Great location for the Play House and shopping centre. - Good location for plenty of restaurants. - Rooms had a quality feel, nicely fitted bathrooms. - 20-minute walk to Waverly Station Negatives: - No lifts, it's a very long climb to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed that we do not provide a breakfast service and that the hotel does not have a lift. As the building is listed and its structure protected by the law, there is no wheelchair...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for one night on Valentine's Day. We flew to Edinburgh, and landed very early in the morning, getting to the hotel about 9am. The hotel happily kept our cases and called us 3 hours early to let us know our room was ready. When we checked in they had already taken out cases to the room We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cyoung2
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate your kind words. I am terribly sorry that your surprise of a bottle of champagne was spoiled when the receptionist on duty called you to advise that the room was ready. As she was unsure of what time you would be coming back, she wanted...

Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a last minute break to Edinburgh with my wife for two nights. As the title suggests, I could have given this hotel 5 stars on a good day but much lower on a bad day. I think 4 stars is a good reflection of where the hotel is currently. Firstly, the hotel was very reasonably priced - a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all customer feedback. I am glad to hear that overall you were happy with your room, reception team and location. I am very sorry to hear, however, that you were disturbed by the music coming from Steak on Stones, and the TV commentary coming from...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for two nights on business, mixed feelings as the location is brilliant but there are a few flaws. We stayed on the top floor and there is NO LIFT at all, but about a hundred stairs. It's a little far when carrying cases. The room are a little tired but look quite modern at first glance. Only other trouble...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wishboneart
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate your feedback. Unfortunately, as the building is listed and its structure protected by the law, there is no wheelchair access and there is no access to a lift in our three storey Georgian Townhouse Hotel. This is stated clearly on our website and we...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in room Loch Fyne on the top floor of the hotel. i had previously called after booking to discuss having some prosecco in the room, had briefly mentioned our trip was to celebrate a 5 year anniversary and i thought it was a lovely touch that they put a love heart in petals on the bed with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shanta J
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you would return in the future. I am very sorry to hear that your glasses were not replaced by our Housekeeping staff during your stay as this is standard procedure for stay over guests,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Gorgeous rooms, they look amazing in the photos. What they don't tell you is, the 3D glasses don't work, only for certain (children's films) that you have to request from reception, every fixture and fitting is falling off the wall, the toilet in Loch Katrine is about to fall off the wall, you'll find someone else's used make up on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmyElizabethHutton
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon Amy, I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay during Hogmanay. We do provide 3D Glasses in the rooms which do work with 3D DVDs available at reception. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our selection of 3D DVDs available. We do have some 3D children's movies, as well...

Drobak, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is small and in an old house. Then there are restrictions on how to renovate. F.ex there is no elevator. That didn't bother us. We got a nice big room on the top floor, the one with the huge shower. The room was large, tidy and trendy. But. The bathroom was to dark and a bit small, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hefoje

348 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (175)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (161)
Viewed
Other (53)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#50 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,188 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
239 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Twelve Picardy Place Hotel is an oasis of comfort, style and sophistication in the heart of Edinburgh City Centre. Centrally located in a Georgian townhouse, it is one of the most innovative venues that can be found in the Scottish Capital and an extravagant playpen for the most discerning of guests. A celebration of edgy Scottish glamour and individuality, Twelve Picardy Place is small boutique hotel with a big personality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Twelve Picardy Place

Address: 12 Picardy Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: £77 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Twelve Picardy Place 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Twelve Picardy Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twelve Picardy Place Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Twelve Picardy Place staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 month ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Twelve Picardy Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the back looks over the water.”
 of 5 bubbles les046, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have a beautiful view.”
 of 5 bubbles anne572015, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dont book room on top floor enquire about ventilation”
 of 5 bubbles Frecklesdog, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Loch Ness has good views of the Firth of Forth”
 of 5 bubbles NeilC5, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get a room that doesn't face the back courtyard/bar.”
 of 5 bubbles pestman, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5