We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
9 11 Hope Street, Edinburgh EH2 4EL Scotland
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!SAVE 20% OFF YOUR STAY
US$210
View deal
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (329)
Room & Suite (201)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 15/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Angels Share Hotel
Updated 15/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#51 of 161 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
At the very epicentre of one of the world’s most iconic and historic cities, Edinburgh, Angels Share Hotel & Bar is a showcase of contemporary Scottish culture. We celebrate the real Scotland - the one that is vibrant, fashionable and current. All 31 stylish bedrooms have a contemporary Scottish design featuring some of our favourite Scottish actors, musicians and sportspeople. Each iconic in their own way we celebrate them all equally as they have created their own history in Scotland. Stocking an impressive range of premium whisky, cocktails that prominently feature Scottish products, live music and our food showcases the finest modern cuisine made from fresh, locally sourced ingredients. We are more than just another Hotel & Bar, we aspire to cultivate a unique experience that is equal parts warm, inviting and luxurious, set against the backdrop of a culture we take pride in.
Read more
Room & Suite (201)201
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Rate:SAVE 20% OFF YOUR STAY
750Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 369
  • 225
  • 105
  • 34
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mark wrote a review Nov 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom70 contributions76 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights and loved the decor and art in the hotel. The location could not be any better, literally in the centre of Edinburgh. The bar was really nice and relaxing for a drink The room was lovely and really fresh. The shower was awesome. A few things that I didn't like was the layout of the hotel, it was pretty dated and the reception is in the restraunt, which was awkward when having breakfast. The lift seemed as though it was going to break at any minute. Overall a nice stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Keay, Revenue Management at Angels Share Hotel
Responded 4 Nov 2020
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate all feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our bar area and our bedrooms. Due to us being a listed building we are very limited to where we can have a reception area, I will discuss your feedback re this and the layout of the hotel with our General Manager and look at what we can do to improve. We do hope to see you again in the future. Best Wishes Laura
Read more
Syska1411 wrote a review Oct 2020
Aberdeen, United Kingdom17 contributions23 helpful votes
Great location, excellent customer service especially lady at the front desk Holly she’s super positive and enthusiastic and definitely made my stay. Good vibes all over. Cool setting and idea for themed rooms. Food was delicious and F&B staff really attentive. Nice breakfast menu, many choices. Cleanliness 4/5 I found some hair in the bath tub what put me off a wee bit. Also I had no toiletries what surprised me a little. I never use them anyway but I think that should be a standard. Very nice place. I would recommend it to friend and family.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Keay, Revenue Management at Angels Share Hotel
Responded 4 Nov 2020
Good Afternoon Thank you for leaving a lovely review it is much appreciated. I will pass on your kind comments to Holly who will be delighted to hear she made your stay. I am afraid due to Covid regulations toiletries have been removed from the bedrooms however they are available at reception on request, we hope to have them back in the bedrooms as soon as we are allowed. I will discuss your issue with cleanliness with our housekeeping manager to ensure this does not happen again. I am pleased to hear you would recommend to family and friends, we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best Wishes Angels Share Hotel Team
Read more
CKI wrote a review Sep 2020
Surrey, United Kingdom129 contributions76 helpful votes
This is a really good location situated in the heart of the west end. Most attractions are only a 10 minute walk away. It’s very decently priced given where it is. The hotel itself is perfectly decent with a lively bar area too. The service is pleasant although lacking a little professionalism. Although my wife says i expect too much. Rooms are typical for this type of hotel. It was a little disappointing to find out that, even as a resident, we had to book to have drinks in the bar. They tried to accommodate us for a quick drink before we left for dinner. Perhaps they should advise of this at the time of booking.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Make a reservation for drinks In the bar prior to travelling
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Eilidh Kerr, Marketing at Angels Share Hotel
Responded 28 Sep 2020
Hi Kingxxxxx, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us & hope you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh, it was also great to see that hotel was convenient for you to get around the city to see the attractions. We were sorry to read that you felt a little disappointed to have to book a table for drinks, however booking ahead is typical of any bar in the city centre, especially at peak times. We do recommend booking at check in & also in the welcome letter which is found in your room. It is great to see though team were still able to find you a table & we hope this didn't overshadow the stay to much. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon. Thanks, The Angels Share Team
Read more
Kenny H wrote a review Sep 2020
Kilwinning, United Kingdom13 contributions13 helpful votes
Had been looking for a overnight getaway due to our weekend in Paris being cancelled due to the current situation. Spotted this charming little hotel while looking through ITISON deals, after checking the reviews we decided to go ahead,and what a great decision it was! Perfect, centrally situated, walking distance to both major train stations. The hotel is gorgeous from the outside, and as soon as you step inside you are greeted by quirky surroundings and very warm and friendly staff. Every member of the team couldn't have been more accommodating, and the cocktails were amazing. Can't recommend highly enough, from stylish rooms(my parter was especially happy to be sharing the room with Gerard Butler lol), to great hospitality, they are really doing it right here. Can't wait till our next visit, first class... Who needs Paris anyway?!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Eilidh Kerr, Marketing at Angels Share Hotel
Responded 23 Sep 2020
Hi Kenny H, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your lovely review! We were really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us despite your trip being cancelled! Hopefully Edinburgh was just as good & you didn't miss being in Paris too much! It is great to see how much you liked the hotel & it's décor, your comments about the staff are also highly appreciated & has been passed back onto the team. Hopefully we can welcome you back again very soon! Thanks, The Angels Share Team
Read more
Phoebe Baker wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
Was lovely until the checkout, which was a bit of a shame, we asked for a later checkout and was given a complimentary 1 hour (12pm not 11) which of course most hotels can do if they don’t have anyone staying immediately, very much appreciated it. As we were packing got a call bang on 12 saying when am I coming down (which we were about to leave the room), the woman at the front desk mentioned no charge etc. A few minutes go by and we’re downstairs within 5 minutes, the woman at the front desk was very curt and to be honest rather rude and said she will have to charge us £45 as they had to now relocate someone else’s room, now I don’t mind it we were outstandingly late but bearing in mind we checked out on a Sunday, seems like a bit exaggerated as they couldn’t spare the 5 minutes (and the charge wasn’t mentioned on the phone) and they were just looking for a quick and easy way to make some money. Bit of a shame as it left the trip on a bit of a sour note but up until that point the stay was lovely, would’ve been 4 star has this not happened (ordered a coffee from room service that was lumpy and to be honest quite gross, otherwise 5* - just don’t get the coffee).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Eilidh Kerr, Marketing at Angels Share Hotel
Responded 2 Sep 2020
Hi phoebebakerr, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback - we really appreciate your comments. We were really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, but were disappointed to read it ended the way it did. As mentioned in your review, check out is 11am & we did offer you one extra hour complimentary. We do require rooms back promptly at the departure time stated to allow our housekeeping team to thoroughly deep clean the room, as more cleaning measures have been introduced due to Covid & we do also need time to prepare for the next arrivals at 3pm. We do hope overall that this didn't overshadow your full stay & that we can welcome you back again in the future. Thanks again for the review. Eilidh & The Reception Team.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$101 - US$242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghNew Town / West End
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Angels Share Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Angels Share Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Hunt Edinburgh (0.2 miles), Georgian House (0.1 miles), and Princes Street Gardens (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Angels Share Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Angels Share Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Angels Share Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dine, Fortuna Coffee Bar, and Aizle.
Is Angels Share Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Angels Share Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Angels Share Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Angels Share Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.4 miles), The Real Mary King's Close (0.7 miles), and Gilmerton Cove (4.2 miles).
Is Angels Share Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.