We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

14-16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (370)
360
Panoramas (22)
Room & Suite (261)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 160 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Kevin and Susan Kenny, together with their wonderful team, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Telephone
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1405Reviews25Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,056
  • 294
  • 41
  • 7
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Paul K wrote a review Feb 2024
Belfast, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Absolutely superb hotel. Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Me and my girlfriend stayed for two nights in February and can't fault out stay at all. Kevin is a superb host. Rooms are very clean and tidy, beds are super comfy, shower is straight forward to use and powerful. Breakfast was delicious and there was a great variety of cooked breakfast options as well as cereals, fruit etc. They really left no stone unturned and were happy to answer any queries or questions we had about Edinburgh as a city. Kevin also gave us lots of useful information about local bus routes etc. Great value for money too. Love the way the hotel has an old fashioned feel to it too and feels very homely. Cannot recommend staying here enough!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jonathan R wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
I went with friends for a couple of nights. The owners were super friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The kind of personal service you just don't get at a big chain hotel. Everything was clean and tidy, the beds were comfy, and a great shower. Excellent breakfast options for both meat eaters and vegans etc and we availed ourselves of the good whisky selection at the bar. We caught the bus into town one day (super cheap and regular), and walked the other. Both easy enough options so don't be put off that this place isn't central. A lovely, independent place I will definitely be returning to.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: A good whisky selection behind the bar.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JR236 wrote a review Jan 2024
Cornwall, United Kingdom20 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed here with friends for the New Year holiday period. The owner, Kevin, was friendly and helpful, gave us information regarding buses, taxis, etc. There was a lovely choice of breakfast options, all presented and cooked well. The Hotel is set in a quiet residential area close to a golf course, is about half an hour from Edinburgh Airport by taxi, and a two minute walk to the bus stop which takes you into town. Buses are regular, and cheap. We left very early in the morning for our flight home and were provided with a continental style breakfast left outside our bedroom door - a lovely thought. The bedroom was spacious with a large bed, and an en-suite shower room. There is a lovely restaurant called The Salisbury Arms just up the road which is within easy walking distance. I would stay at this Hotel again if I visit Edinburgh in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Kenny, General Manager at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Responded 21 Jan 2024
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we would love to welcome you back next time you come to Edinburgh. Best wishes Kevin, Susan and all the team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul M wrote a review Nov 2023
4 contributions
Well deserved scores, a lovely hidden gem and not too far from the city centre. Lovely and comfortable clean beds with plenty of facilities and information leaflets about bus times and the surrounding area. The breakfast was lovely during our stay too. Very friendly and welcoming hosts. Well done to kevin and Susan Will return one day
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Kenny, General Manager at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Responded 21 Jan 2024
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you stayed with us and very much appreciate your review. Best wishes Kevin, Susan and all the team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wander03341982071 wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Beautiful hotel in a very quiet part of Edinburgh. Fantastic Attention to detail from Susan and Kevin that has made our stay fabulous. Kevin is Always so attentive and nothing is too much. One is made to feel at home. We highly recommend this beautiful hotel.We go away very happy having had a fantastic time!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Kenny, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Responded 14 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review, so pleased you stayed with us, it makes all the hard work worthwhile to read your comments. Best wishes from Kevin, Susan and all the team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mozarteum42 wrote a review Nov 2023
Spicewood, Texas60 contributions73 helpful votes
Room was great. Nice friendly place to stay. Breakfast was very good. There are restaurants within walking distance. Hotel is about a mile out of town but we took Uber into the town so no problem there. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is no elevator and you can ask for "ground" floor if you cannot take your bags up to second...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Kenny, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Responded 14 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review, we very much appreciate you kind comments. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future. Best wishes Kevin, Susan and all the team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
birty1973 wrote a review Oct 2023
Poole, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Just back from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Overall myself and my husband thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Kevin (didn’t get to meet Susan) was a terrific host. Always ready with a cheery ‘hello’ and smile. Made us feel at home. Breakfasts were always lovely. We’d like to also mention the gentleman who works on a Tuesday and Wednesday, always welcoming, provided us with lots of helpful information to help our time in Edinburgh go with a breeze - enjoyed our chats in the bar! Our room was spotlessly clean with an amazingly comfy bed! Sadly our only negative comment is the location of the room within the hotel. Our room was right by the front door. Although there are signs by the front porch politely asking guests to be quiet we were occasionally disturbed by guests checking out of the hotel in the early hours (I’m a light sleeper so difficult not to be woken by the front door). We also had an issue with the guests in the opposite room on our final night….lots of loud music and partying going on into the early hours. We did have words! You can’t fault the hotel for their friendliness, location and cleanliness though. All in all a lovely stay was had and we’d love to return…just maybe not in the room by the front door 😊
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Kenny, General Manager at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Responded 6 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us, next time we will give you a room upstairs. Best wishes Kevin, Susan and all the team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KBG_14 wrote a review Oct 2023
Niagara Falls, Canada8 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here in September and couldn’t have been made to feel more welcomed. The hosts were friendly, helpful and warm, lovely breakfast room with cooked to order meals, and the room was comfy and clean. It is an older quirky hotel with lots of character and history compared to a sterile, soulless modern hotel. Would not hesitate to recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Kenny, General Manager at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Responded 9 Oct 2023
Thank you for your review, all our hard work is made worthwhile when we read such lovely comments. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Scotland. Best wishes Kevin, Susan and all the team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brenda V wrote a review Oct 2023
3 contributions
+1
My husband and I have been traveling throughout the UK and stayed here for two nights in the family room with one king and one twin bed. The room was very run down and not well cared for with dirty carpets, a broken window, black mold in the shower, torn curtains, screws holding the toilet in the floor are coming out, and the soap bottle holder is rusting…plus the sink stopper was broken off. We showered under a very small dribble of water, not even enough pressure to get the soap out of my hair, and the shower head handle was broken. So it sprayed onto the shower wall and had to be hand held to use on any body part. The location is convenient and the owners were very nice. We enjoyed the bar area and breakfasts were nice…but they really need to update the accommodations. Being on the top floor, it was very warm and the stairway was quite dangerous with a lean to it that wasn’t normal. We may have just gotten a bad room…but until they refurbish the accommodations, I do not recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good luck
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Kenny, General Manager at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Responded 5 Oct 2023
Thank you for your review, we remember you and your husband very well and enjoyed the interactions we had with you. You have pointed out several problems with the room that we don't really know where to begin. We always react very positively to any problems our guests have and look to resolve them whilst you are staying with us, but unfortunately you did not bring any of the points you mention to our attention so were unable to react and deal with them. We will investigate all the points you mention. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mags wrote a review Sept 2023
Rotherham, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Great stay breakfast very nice lovely and clean, great host's, comfy beds great location would highly recommend. Buses are very regular just round corner, lovely veiw of Arthur's seat. Nice walks from the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Kenny, General Manager at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Responded 6 Oct 2023
Thank you for your review, thank you for your kind words. Let us know next time you are coming to Edinburgh. Best wishes Kevin, Susan and all the team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£93 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ceilidh donia hotel edinburgh, hotel ceilidh donia
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL CEILIDH-DONIA - Updated 2024 Reviews (Edinburgh)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia?
Nearby attractions include Royal Commonwealth Pool (0.2 miles), Edinburgh Hebrew Congregation (0.3 miles), and Clambers Soft Play (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wee Greek Kitchen, The Salisbury Arms, and Bits Bake Shop.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (1.3 miles), Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.2 miles), and Gladstone's Land (1.3 miles).