We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Lauderville Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lauderville Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 160: English reviews
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay at Lauderville... absolutely faultless. Perfect in every way, highly recommend this beautiful B&B. Thank you very much Brian, Yvonne and Simon, hope to stay with you again soon.

Thank Aled31
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and it was fantastic! They were very kind, pleasant and helpful people. The room reminded of an other era. Was very clean and they provided us all the necessary things such us slippers, swing kit, etc. The sound isolation of the room wasn't very good, because we could hear the people who were passing... More 

Thank Ioulia P
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for posting a review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. hope to see you both again More 

Kansas City, Mo.
Level Contributor
215 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Impressions: Nice house, serving a good breakfast, and it is well managed. No major gripes......minor gripes, a fee for paying by credit card, and a room which is literally 12 feet from the busy road/traffic noise. Avoid this room, and pay by cash, you will be happy!

Thank Nuttman
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post an overall good review. Apologies for the road noise, hope it was quieter at night when you were asleep. We would be glad if guests avoided the credit card fee of £2.50!! Depending on the bill, we usually pay the card company in excess of this charge. Hope to see you again and... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

On arrival the welcome was very friendly, the stay was warm and delightful. Catered for all your needs one could expect and leaving with intent to return just for the hospitality. A fantastic visit to Edinburgh overall and this beautiful family run guest house added tremendously to that. Will see you again soon.

Thank LeonB4469
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

many thanks for a splendid review, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. More 

New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed for five nights at the Lauderville Guest House and enjoyed the cosy and comfortable place. My 13 year old son just loved it. The guest house has a feel of the home with carefully chosen decor and the breakfast is also delicious and healthy. It is not too far from the main city centre, and well connected with... More 

Thank ashasarangi
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to post a nice review. Hope you visit Edinburgh again in the future, and who knows, we might make it to Delhi one day! More 

Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We stayed her for a night during October 2016. The property is furnished to a very high standard and it was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The owner is was very pleasant and helpful. The family room was £90 which I thought was very reasonable for given the location and standard of accommodation which was bordering on the luxury end of... More 

Thank CSJAberdeen
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thanks for a great review, hope to see you both again. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend away in Edinburgh and were impressed with our visit. We stayed in the Deluxe Four Poster Room for 2 nights. The room was nice, a little cold at times as it's single glazed but we found the radiator temp control so all was good. The staff were friendly, the breakfasts were... More 

Thank Stu C
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thanks for your nice review and glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you back in Edinburgh in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We'd booked a place nearby online, but there was an error with the service so we couldn't stay. That owner recommended we call here, and there was one room available--lucky us! The room was gorgeous, with lovely furnishings and lots of little luxury touches. Despite having a front ground floor room and being on a busy road, we did not... More 

Thank sprite75
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a great review, glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Lauderville but the the room we stayed in was very small but clean. We were not as near to the center as we would have liked and the buses were not that frequent The cooked breakfast was very good and the owners and staff were very helpful.

Thank Helen K
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to write a review, glad you had a lovely stay! More 

Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Some people like to stay "in the middle of everything". Knowing that this translates often into "noisy and expensive", quiet, clean, and economical are my primary criteria. The Lauderville Guest House is about a 10 minute bus ride from Edinburgh's City Center--the middle of everything--and a very convenient bus ride at that. The bus stops are two minutes from Lauderville's... More 

Thank tripfriend92
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and loved all your comments! More 

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (25)
Room/Suite (6)
View from Room (2)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Dining (2)
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (7)
Dining (2)
Room/Suite (2)
View from Room (1)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#41 of 444 in Edinburgh
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonas Guest House
Sonas Guest House
#23 of 444 in Edinburgh
206 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#21 of 444 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#3 of 444 in Edinburgh
888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsway Guest House
Kingsway Guest House
#14 of 444 in Edinburgh
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#27 of 444 in Edinburgh
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edinburgh Town House (awarded 4 stars by Visit Scotland Tourist Board). Well situated for all Edinburgh's main tourist attractions. All rooms en-suite and stylishly decorated with every amenity. Superb Breakfast Menu. High speed Wi-Fi throughout, hard wired internet in reception, and private (secure) parking, all free to our guests. Totally Non-Smoking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lauderville Guest House

Address: 52 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 2NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: £75 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lauderville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Lauderville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauderville Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Lauderville Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lauderville Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lauderville Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the ground floor adn it was very quiet -we backed ontot he garden and parking”
 of 5 bubbles 108Bubbles, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of property quiet. Busy road out front.”
 of 5 bubbles lauraa295, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We loved the room with the four poster bed with a view out to the street Plenty of room and a nice bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles Fruns, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good , but for a little extra the four poster at the front of the house.”
 of 5 bubbles noobey, 2 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Get the 4 poster room!”
 of 5 bubbles mikeydenn89, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay