We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Twenty

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Twenty
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Twenty
See the most recent reviews
Showing 375: English reviews
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2014

Lovely wee place, Epic price for two people twin-£45 with brekkie (which we sadly missed due to sleeping through our alarms/being hungover-totally our fault) Modern stylish bedrooms, could definitely do with a wee bit more attention to detail- lamps were dusty, as was headboard. Bathroom could do with a wee bit sprucing up but overall the room was really nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
John K, General Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review

Dear Guest I thank you for your positive feedback as we have put a lot of hard work in to the hotel since taking over . So far we have updated 7 of our rooms leaving us a little more hard work ahead but positive comments from guests makes it all worth while . I am pleased you enjoyed your...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2014

This hotel is in a great location for the Edinburgh Playhouse but that is the only positive comment I can give, we were given room 11 even though I had in writing room 4 was booked and paid for, NO heating in room slept in our clothes to keep warm, room is right on the road and as the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colsinger
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I am sad that you did not enjoy your stay at Hotel Twenty, However we are a new hotel and updating a very old building that's a grade 1 listed building and over 300 years old. We have a further 3 rooms scheduled to be updated within the next 3-4 months which is our quieter period which...

Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2014

I booked this hotel as a birthday get away for my partner..We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in Oct & found the hotel was very easy to find from Waverley station,(under 10mins walk).When we got there we did think we might be locked out, but there is a sign on the door staying PLEASE RING BELL reception is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh H
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review

I thank you for your positive feedback as we have put a lot of hard work in to the hotel since taking over . So far we have updated 7 of our rooms leaving us a little more hard work ahead but positive comments from guests makes it all worth while . I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2014

I was part of a party of 4 staying the the 4 bed room. The room was beautifully decorated, with a wall mounted large tv (although could do with a music channel if possible). Everywhere was very clean and well presented. We had breakfast included in our stay, and breakfast was to be open from 8am-10 or 11 (i cant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review

I thank you for your positive feedback as we have put a lot of hard work in to the hotel since taking over . So far we have updated 7 of our rooms leaving us a little more hard work ahead but positive comments from guests makes it all worth while . I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and...

Clydebank, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2014

If you were to read previous reviews you would be worried about staying,well don't be,fantastic value for money,rooms well appointed,large shower(room for 2),quiet at night,great sleep,Ye the breakfast is basic and for that reason it's an 8/10.if breakfast isn't a big issue then don't delay.. Booked and enjoy your stay !!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Baz-h174
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I thank you for your positive feedback as we have put a lot of hard work in to the hotel since taking over . So far we have updated 7 of our rooms leaving us a little more hard work ahead but positive comments from guests makes it all worth while . I am pleased you enjoyed...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Nice room, friendly staff, handy location! Friendly greeting when I arrived, shown to my pleasant room straight away. Cheerful greeting at breakfast, coffee topped up for me as soon as I had finished it! Many thanks for a nice stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I thank you for your positive feedback as we have put a lot of hard work in to the hotel since taking over . So far we have updated 7 of our rooms leaving us a little more hard work ahead but positive comments from guests makes it all worth while . I am pleased you enjoyed...

Reviewed 9 October 2014 via mobile

Hotel Twenty is located in a convenient location close to the tram line, several restaurants and cafes, shopping centres and not far from attractions such as Edinburgh Castle. The room was very clean and well kept and cleaned daily. The staff were also very friendly. The only issues were the WiFi; which didn't work in the room so we had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cameron D
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I thank you for your positive feedback as we have put a lot of hard work in to the hotel since taking over . So far we have updated 7 of our rooms leaving us a little more hard work ahead but positive comments from guests makes it all worth while . I am pleased you enjoyed...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2014 via mobile

We booked two rooms at Hotel 20 over the Ryder Cup weekend, they were cleaned every day, the service was fantatsic and the hotel is a credit to John who runs it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Edinburgh on a budget.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jonesy1976fc
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I thank you for your positive feedback as we have put a lot of hard work in to the hotel since taking over . So far we have updated 7 of our rooms leaving us a little more hard work ahead but positive comments from guests makes it all worth while . I am pleased you enjoyed...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Hotel room was filthy , we were put in room 8 downstairs one step from reception and two from restaurant which the staff at night were very noisy and machines ran till 1.30 making sleeping very hard , should not be a bedroom downstairs . the showers were very small , beds uncomfortable and facilities unhygienic. when we complained the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alex_living1987
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience at Hotel Twenty . I will look in to the matters that you have mentioned with immediate effect as i am unaware of this situation . I thank you for bringing this to my attention as we are a new hotel and strive to make everyone feel...

Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for the Ryder Cup Weekend and it was a bit of a disaster from the start. When we arrived we were greeted by someone from the Thai Restaurant next door who was covering as there was no receptionists that night. He was helpful but didn't seem to have our correct booking or know what rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank XikiBen
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience at Hotel Twenty . I will look in to the matters that you have mentioned with immediate effect as i am unaware of this situation . I thank you for bringing this to my attention as we are a new hotel and strive to make everyone feel...

365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (44)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (279)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Double Room (46)
Viewed
Family Room (83)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (106)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
752 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#133 of 150 in Edinburgh
607 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,104 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 150 in Edinburgh
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Twenty is situated in the heart of Edinburgh. We strive on giving a good customer service at the best possible prices. Hotel Twenty is within walking distance of Edinburgh Waverly Train station and all its shops, pubs and clubs. We have only recently taken over the Hotel and have already done a lot of cosmetic work to it. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Twenty

Address: 20 Leopold Place | London Road, Edinburgh EH7 5LB, Scotland (Formerly Richmond House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: £44 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Twenty 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Twenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Twenty Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Twenty staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Twenty staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room we were in was room 5 shocking”
lorryt2014, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Mention if you want a particular type of room before you book”
, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try and avoid rooms to front of hotel as it's noisy with traffic”
myoung1609, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't book this hotel full stop.”
richgoodall63, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms seem better than upstairs - dont stay in room 10.”
476franp, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5