We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Valentine City Centre Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Valentine City Centre Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

3 night stay in December. Friendly owners and lovely breakfast. Comfortable adequate room but in need of a good ckean. Had an issue with the key box not opening in. Luckily we were with friends and were able to stay in their room for an hour or so. If we'd been on our own we'd have been stuck out in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyCardiff123
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Got home today after a few days in Edinburgh staying at this hotel. The room was lovely and the staff were friendly. Good location in town and the breakfast was great! Will definitely stay again when we're next in Edinburgh. Chris and Emily.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher A M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed between 21st November and 24th November 2016. We stayed in the luxury double and it was a beautiful room. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. The guest house was easily in walking distance once you become familiar with the surrounding area. There everything you need in walking distance and a bus right outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AMG1989
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

I booked this hotel as it had the cheapest rate available and it stated that it was the closest guesthouse to the castle. However having a son who won't walk the length of himself (ha ha) we jumped on and off the bus, which is right outside the hotel. We stayed in Room 31 which was right on the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmandalovesSantaPonsa
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Recently enjoyed a three day mini break in Edinburgh to go to the theatre and had the pleasure of staying here for three nights. Lovely Guest house with fantastic staff who made us feel very welcome. It is very close to Princes Street or the Castle and the theatre was also only a 20min walk away. Local transport is easily...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

My hubby and I stayed here for two days bed and breakfast, first impressions lovely welcome and looked clean and tidy, we were shown to our room which was three flights up and as I am disabled wasnt great, room was clean but basic and quite small, low ceilings which made us have to duck a few times going in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cas M
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Spent 3 nights in 5 single bed room and it was absolutely great. The beds are comfy, the room is spacious and clean. Even if the bathroom was not in the room, it was clean. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast; toast, coffee, haggis, black pudding, bacon, sausage, ... The guest house is very well situated, just about 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigcop73
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We recently stayed for 2 nights and had room no.12 which was spacious and clean. It was facing the back garden and got plenty of natural daylight in the room. We heard a few footsteps from upstairs but nothing to keep you awake! The shower room was adequate (the temperature of the water did fluctuate a little!) and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carol1302
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Cold and drafty room, had to put a cover over the window to keep the cold out. The cover in the bed was not big for two so we had to ask for another one. Bed hard and squeeky, and so was the floor. Shower was either too warm or cold and hardly any pressure in it. Had to wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annika L
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this review

Sadly in the main another example of guests simply choosing not to alert us to problems that are easily fixed. The particular room has never been described this way before - the large radiator can normally keep the room as warm as anyone could possibly require. It is unfortunate that we discovered after you left you had struggled with the...

maple grove
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Our stay at the Valentine was less than advertised. Room 31 was listed as a 4 poster king room on the 3 Rd floor. It was a full sized bed with a dusty covering on the 4 posters. The duvet cover was either dirty or just worn with no cover sheet between it and us. The pillows were flat and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this review

We welcome all reviews and there are of course occasionally a background story to a review, perhaps potential guests would be best served reading this particular review from the end first! A booking placed with a Booking site with strict cancellation terms was altered after arrival, despite this OUR policy (not the Booking site's) is to refund any income from...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#40 of 445 in Edinburgh
918 reviews
Caravel Guest House
#160 of 445 in Edinburgh
76 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Broughton Hotel
The Broughton Hotel
#18 of 445 in Edinburgh
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#47 of 445 in Edinburgh
56 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#97 of 445 in Edinburgh
373 reviews
Clarin Guest House
#127 of 445 in Edinburgh
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Valentine City Centre Guest House is in Edinburgh's City Centre, the closest guest house to Edinburgh Castle. A listed Georgian Townhouse with many original features, it has accommodation on four levels, and is within easy walking distance of all city centre attractions (10 minutes stroll to Princes Street, 15 to The Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle). Situated adjacent to theatres, restaurants, cinemas, pubs, and shops, this family run accommodation has a wide range of rooms to suit all budgets from a luxury 'five-star' room to economy doubles as well as a six person group room. Each morning over a generous two-hour period, a much praised full Scottish breakfasts is served, cooked entirely to order. All rooms have free WiFi and digital TV, and despite the city centre location, free off-road parking is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Valentine City Centre Guest House

Address: 19-21 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: £44 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valentine City Centre Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Valentine City Centre Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentine City Centre Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Valentine City Centre Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Valentine City Centre Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Valentine City Centre Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“under no circumstances take a room facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles rilkar, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the top require you to climb 3 lots of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles kelandchez, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side are quieter and offer good views of the surrounding gardens and church”
 of 5 bubbles AndyWand, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Definitely a room to the back as they have a nice view and are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles SaschaG314, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Four poster one was particularly great”
 of 5 bubbles tyrannosaurusbex2015, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay