Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kick Ass Grassmarket

2 West Port, Edinburgh EH1 2JA Scotland
Traveller (152)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (31)

View prices for your travel dates

£78
Get rewarded with One Key
£87
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#6 of 54 hostels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

AWESOME CITY CENTRE LOCATION... FREE WIFI throughout hostel....FREE CITY TOUR....FREE DAILY BAR EVENTS/ENTERTAINMENT.

Our Luxury hostel opened in April 2014 and already guests are raving about us. It has been designed to give you the best possible comfort and fun. All Rooms have FREE WIFI access. All beds have private lockers, private night lights, USB charging points and power point.

Guests booking at KickAss also get free access to all facilities of our other KickAss Hostel (Budget Backpackers) only 2 mins away

SECURITY: 24hrs Reception, No curfew. Security electronic swipe cards for all rooms, CCTV throughout and security passes issue to all our guests. Security lockers provided for every bed.

MODERN ROOMS: All rooms have wifi access, USB charging points at each bed, Private bed lights. Bunks have been designed to give Max headroom and mattresses are Hotel Superior quality. Fresh clean bed linen provided Free of charge.

KEEP IT CLEAN - All of our rooms are cleaned every day. Our bathrooms and kitchens are constantly monitored for cleanliness. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness.

FREE LUGGAGE STORAGE : If you arrive before check in time

AWESOME FRIENDLY STAFF ; they are friendly and will tell you all the best places to go - and more importantly, where not to go!

MODERN FACILITIES, including large self-catering kitchen and personal private showers pods. USB charging point for every bed, Private bed light

KICKASS BAR: Walk through the door and you are guaranteed to be impressed. Meals from under a fiver . Pints from under £2.00. Daily Bar events and entertainment. Great place to meet new friends and fellow travellers

KICKASS CAFE: Great place to meet during the day grab a sandwich or coffee

Our motto is 'LIVE LIFE TO THE FULL', and we mean it. So what are you waiting for? !!

Please note that we do not permit stag or hen parties.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
566Reviews20Q+A46Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 281
  • 187
  • 53
  • 24
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mark wrote a review Feb 2020
Cork, Ireland89 contributions53 helpful votes
Stayed for the Valentines weekend, paid for a 12 bed mix room got a 6 bed mix room instead for no extra charge! 30€ for the 2nights absolutely perfect!

Location is excellent couldn’t have picked somewhere closer to all the main attractions, pubs and clubs! Looking straight at the castle!

Welcomed by the wonderful team at the Grassmarket Kickass on arrival! Got all my necessary stuff and headed for the room! Very big building, did not think it was so big, rooms plotted here there and everywhere but great sign posts to show you where everything was. Staying on the second floor at the back side of the hostel.

Room was in great order, very spacious and open. One thing I was a bit curious on was, my sheets had a lot of loose strands of hair as if someone had been sitting on it previously or something. Despite that the duvet and pillow definitely seemed clean. Extremely comfy bed for just 15£ a night couldn’t have asked for more! Locker was perfect size and charger along side bed was handy.

Showers just down the corridor were very clean, colourful and spacious! Extremely well kept and maintained bathrooms.
Handy if there was a hair dryer in all bathrooms not just one or two, but imagine the hostel may supply if needs be.

The bar downstairs was very quirky, cool, chill out spot. Got served by an Australia girl very chatty and welcoming which was really nice to come by when solo travelling! Cheap prices for drinks and they had a wide selection of food options.

Plenty of events every night which is a real bonus! Unfortunately did not get to do the pub crawl as I was absolutely wrecked from travelling on my first night but went on the walking tour at 11 with team member MJ. Despite it pouring out of the heavens raining, she was great to give a tour of the main attraction points and show about the city! Lovely tour overall, and great information on other things to go and see. I wish her the best in the future !

Overall a great hostel, fabulous location, great service and all the team were always on board to help with anything!

Would definitely recommend staying here if a solo traveler and looking for a good sociable hostel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kick Ass Crew, Owner at Kick Ass Grassmarket
Responded 4 Sept 2020
Thanks so much for your review! We are grateful for the feedback and hope that you are back to enjoying travel again! KA Crew.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lunalunare wrote a review Sept 2022
Granada, Spain3 contributions1 helpful vote
I slept in the dorm with the most beds, 22. I was a little worried about the number of people in the same room, but everything surprised me. I slept very well. The capsule type bed gives you a lot of privacy and is almost like your own room. You can store your little things near the bed, including your daily clothes and small items. I see it as much more practical than a bunk bed, because it isolates you from noise, prying eyes and the privacy of your things. You have a cabinet with a key to keep your things safer. The sheets and quilt I saw clean. My bed was next to a giant window and it was nice to wake up to those views of the castle. The bathroom theme is excellent. You don't have to wait for anything, you have many places to choose from, everything is perfectly clean. You don't have any lack of paper and you have hair dryers on all floors. Even some excellent hand dryers to dry your clothes in case it rains a lot. Then, the theme of the kitchen, it's great. You don't lack for anything, cutlery, pans, plates, glasses, cups, your drawers to store food from purchases and several refrigerators for perishable food. It is well organized, because you can put your labels and nothing is lost. You have your microwave, your oven, several ceramic hobs and several kettles of water. And although I didn't have the breakfast they recommend, I had my cappuccino for breakfast, which is great and cheaper than in other cafeterias, along with buns I bought at the supermarket. And to finish, the location is excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 307, with 22 capsule beds. Bed 20.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kick Ass Crew, General Manager at Kick Ass Grassmarket
Responded 28 Oct 2022
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hostel soon! Sincerely, Kick Ass Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
samanthadavey wrote a review Apr 2023
Melbourne, Australia19 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Amazing location with a view of the castle as soon and you walk out the door and the sightseeing bus stops right near the front which is convenient, it was about a 10-15 minute walk from Waverley station. The pods were a nice size, I could sit up in it and I like that they had a towel rack in the pods. The bathrooms on level 3 are individual rooms with toilet and shower in each which was great as most hostels have dormitory style bathrooms. The only issue I had was only 1 light in my pod worked but wasn’t a huge issue.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kick Ass Crew, General Manager at Kick Ass Grassmarket
Responded 16 May 2023
Hi, Thank you for your review of our hostel! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon :) Sincerely, KA Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
beth wrote a review Mar 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
Staying monday - wednesday, 2 nights. After arriving at the hostel my first impressions were hopeful, the reception and seating area were very stylish and modern. I then proceeded to my dorm, which was overlooking the main road, where there was a lot of noise already. After a long day of walking i decided to have an early night, after being in bed for about half an hour i started to itch my legs and my back, i looked and i was covered in bites, i was extremely disgusted and uncomfortable and did not get back into bed. I proceeded to look in the bed and found toenails, the bed was dirty and so was the room after further inspection, it had either not been cleaned or cleaned rather poorly. I then went down to reception to ask for fresh linen and a hoover, the staff were rude and hesitant to help resolve the matter and i was told in a very rude manner “its not their job to change beds”. She did change the sheets however was mumbling to herself and didnt say a word to me in the process. I didnt get a wink of sleep due to feeling extremely uncomfortable in the bed and the room being so cold which resulted in me leaving with the flu. It got to early morning and i decided enough is enough and got the train home first thing, meaning i had to cut my trip short. I am extremely disappointed and disgusted. Wouldnt want this to happen to anyone else!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kick Ass Crew, Owner at Kick Ass Grassmarket
Responded 4 Sept 2020
Thanks so much for your review! We are grateful for the feedback and hope that you are back to enjoying travel again! KA Crew.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sydney W wrote a review Oct 2022
5 contributions
We were very disappointed in the cleanliness of the Grassmarket Bad Ass Hostel. Bathrooms were pretty bad. Today, I was up early and went into a bathroom as the cleaning person was leaving. She had just finished cleaning. I was shocked to see hair still all over the floor, whisker hairs on the sink and the toilet, I am quit sure, was not even touched. Hairs and pee stains remained.
Bare minimum cleaning … The rooms as well. A quick sweep through was witnessed, but the real dirt, not touched.
At one point, my daughter told me to look down at her shower flip flops, and there was the largest spider between them and the kick plate. While trying to decide what to do about it, it disappeared! Poof! I was so freaked out about it crawling into anyone’s sleeping pod.
Also, first night, we discovered the locker that went with our bed didn’t work. Asked to have it fixed. Never happened.
So my daughter changed beds to have her own locker. We told the front desk, they said no problem, and that they would have housekeeping come up to change the bedding in the pod she had slept in the first night, as they had “a full house that night and someone else would be in that bed.”Housekeeping NEVER came, and new hostel guest unknowingly slept in the used bedding!!! Gross!!!
My overhead light didn’t work. Asked if they could fix? They said sure. Never happened.
The help at the front desk were nice, but on those broken items, and bed cleaning, no follow through.
Breakfast was great, and those guys really earned their keep. Single handedly kept the whole thing going.
I’m just sayin’, not the cleanest.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kick Ass Crew, General Manager at Kick Ass Grassmarket
Responded 28 Oct 2022
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hostel soon! Sincerely, Kick Ass Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellie wrote a review Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom16 contributions4 helpful votes
This hostel was expensive but to be expected for new years - we paid almost £90 a night each which did seem steep but location was amazing and couldn’t have been better . Stayed in a mixed dorm. Staff at reception were friendly however we were a group of 5 split across two rooms mixed dorm rooms. It would have been nice if the staff had made the extra effort to try and look to accommodate us in one room but this seemed like we were causing a fuss when we asked. We also tried the breakfast one day which personally we didn’t think was worth the ~£4 charge so I’d give this a miss. Overall amazing trip
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kick Ass Crew, General Manager at Kick Ass Grassmarket
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Ellie, Thank you for choosing to stay at Kick Ass Grassmarket and for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your kind words about our amazing location and friendly reception staff. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by not being able to accommodate your group of 5 in one room. We understand that it would have been more convenient for you and we will take your feedback into consideration to improve our service in the future. Regarding the breakfast, we apologize if it did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into account when reviewing our offerings. We are delighted to hear that you had an overall amazing trip and we hope to welcome you back to Kick Ass Grassmarket in the future. Best regards, Oscar@Kick Ass Grassmarket
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carly C wrote a review Oct 2023
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
I booked a ‘refundable’ package just in case the room is not hygienic and I can still expect a refund. The option is slightly misleading in the first place because you can’t actually have your refund on the same day. Besides they couldn’t promise when the cleaner gonna come. I sincerely tell you to stay away from this hostel, unless you don’t care toe nails/ hair / spiders & crumbs company your sleep. Just remember you pay what you have with the price.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kick Ass Crew, General Manager at Kick Ass Grassmarket
Responded 12 Dec 2023
Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with us; we always try to keep high standards when it comes to cleanliness, Regarding the refundable rate it is a global concept, more related to the right to cancel until 24h before check in than actually check if the room is up to your standards. housekeeping cleans the room before check-in so we are not sure to understand what you mean when you say " they couldn’t promise when the cleaner gonna come" but we trust you and try to resolve the miscommunication with our reception team. all the best Alberto@KA Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Garnik S wrote a review Jun 2023
Yerevan106 contributions10 helpful votes
The worst place I've been. I've chosen this place due to its location, arrived late at 10 pm and turned out book wrong dates, they refused to refund, refused to give another place to sleep, lied to me that it's the bookings policy not there, when I asked booking later they told that hotel refused to refund. In the reception they have the worst attitude towards the guests, very noise. In other words if you don't want to ruin your trip don't stay there
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Better find different place, don't be fooled with photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Étienne B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
They chose to have instant book enabled on listings restricted to women only. I happened to book a room and just cancelled it 2 minutes later which means I didn't even locked their calendar for more than 2 minutes. They chose to have a strict non refundable policy and disengage from communicating when it comes to show a bit of understanding and considering at least a partial refund. They earn quite a few income from these reservations which is obviously questionable in terms of honesty
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kick Ass Crew, General Manager at Kick Ass Grassmarket
Responded 28 Oct 2022
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hostel soon! Sincerely, Kick Ass Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shelley wrote a review Jun 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom8 contributions
Fantastic vibrant bar/beer garden! So impressed with their COVID structure….executed to the highest degree. Funky decor and super friendly staff and with the backdrop of Edinburgh castle (viewed from their beer garden). Mike the manager was extremely hospitable and went the extra mile to make our party feel so relaxed and valued. 10/10!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Precook a table if you can. Inside or out…you’ll enjoy the experience!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tadeáš L asked a question May 2023
Can i checkout at 5 AM?
Answer from Scott8446
Glasgow, United Kingdom990 contributions352 helpful votes
Of course
Answer from Kick Ass Hostels
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Our lockers are 1780 x 305 x 315 in size, roughly the size of carry on luggage so it may not be suitable for large suitcases however you can take your valuables out and store them in the locker and store the rest under the bed. I hope this helps! KA Manager.
jason asked a question Jun 2018
Edinburgh, United Kingdom35 contributions20 helpful votes
Is the cafe dog friendly?
Laura28_13 asked a question Jul 2017
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Does your Edinburgh Hostel Accommodate Stag groups?
Answer from Kick Ass Hostels
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Hi thank you for your enquiry. We are predominately a tourist hostel and we do not normally accommodate stag groups. We hope this information is of help to you . KA manager
Serafina wrote a tip 7 Feb
Bristol, United Kingdom28 contributions1 helpful vote
"Take a pad lock for the bigger lockers! You can rent one for a low fee. Pods are a lil warm so a wee ISB powered fan sorted me out."
Read full review
Adam B wrote a tip Jan 2024
28 contributions3 helpful votes
"There are no lifts, and lots of stairs, so not suitable for anyone with mobility issues."
Read full review
Stephen wrote a tip Oct 2023
Dublin, Ireland3 contributions1 helpful vote
"Do yourself a favour by choosing the Pod option to stay in, and be to inquire about organised events during your stay."
Read full review
Yolanda wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
"Make sure you bring a lock for your valuables. Otherwise you can buy one at the desk for 4 pounds."
Read full review
Garnik S wrote a tip Jun 2023
Yerevan106 contributions10 helpful votes
"Better find different place, don't be fooled with photos"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£44 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
300
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KICK ASS GRASSMARKET - Updated 2024 Reviews (Edinburgh)

Frequently Asked Questions about Kick Ass Grassmarket
Which popular attractions are close to Kick Ass Grassmarket?
Nearby attractions include Edinburgh Old Town (0.3 miles), Camera Obscura and World of Illusions (0.2 miles), and Royal Mile (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kick Ass Grassmarket?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Kick Ass Grassmarket?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Kick Ass Grassmarket?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quinn's Cafe, Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, and Doctors.
Is Kick Ass Grassmarket located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are there any historical sites close to Kick Ass Grassmarket?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (0.3 miles), Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.1 miles), and Gladstone's Land (0.2 miles).