We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sandilands Guest House

25 Queensferry Road Ravelston, Edinburgh EH4 3HB Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#70 of 162 B&Bs in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
John and Maureen Sandilands extend a warm welcome to you at Sandilands House, a distinctive and charming bungalow of great character built in 1930 to high specifications. Enjoy our excellent and recognised Scottish friendly B and B service in our quality, traditional and comfortable Guest House. Our central location with free off street car parking is an ideal base for our visitors to explore the city attractions effortlessly. We are just one mile from the city West End, on a direct excellent bus service or 15 mins walk to City Centre. Also close by are Royal Botanical Gardens, Murrayfield Rugby Stadium, Art galleries etc. Edinburgh Airport is just a 20 minute tram or taxi ride away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Desk
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese
134Reviews0Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 82
  • 33
  • 10
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jack W wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights for the first time and we can not wait to return!! We got a lovely warm welcome on arrival which made us feel very relaxed. LOVELY hot breakfast every morning (with lots of choices!!) cooked and served by 2 VERY helpful owners. The guest house itself is situated only a 25 minute walk or 10 minute bus journey from the city centre which was ideal for us. Our room was upstairs and it was the great for size and had everything you’d expect and more! The guest house itself is very clean and very well prepared for guests during this time of the COVID virus. We had a lovely stay and will be back for sure! Hats off to hosts John & Maureen for making us feel so welcome in their lovely home. I’d highly recommend Sandilands guest house to anyone staying in Edinburgh.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Adrienn S wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
John, the owner is a lovely man, doing his best to make guests welcome. Every morning he serves a great breakfast according to the guest wishes. Bus drives every 20-30 minutes to the center. That is why I am giving 5 stars. Beside all the good, I need to write that we got a room in the ground floor that has serious problems with high humidity and air quality. The room was very humid, smelly and stuffy. It could not be helped with opening the window. I suppose they have problems with moisture coming up from the ground. All my cloths took in the smell. If you hardly tolerate this, I would recommend to find an other place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Sandilands, Owner at Sandilands Guest House
Responded 28 Sept 2021
Hello Adrienne, Thank you for your 5* review, and your comments. We sincerely regret that you were uncomfortable with your rooms ambiance. We would have been more than happy to change your room as during Covid as we had an extra room, unused due to conformance with recommended distancing. Why you did'nt is a mystery as you knew how approachable we are especially for our guests comfort. Your double room en-suite is on the ground floor, North facing with 2 large windows, each 1.5 m High by 1.0 M wide. With both windows in open position this provides 2 apertures 1.5 m High x 0.5M wide ie 1.5 m2 Total Open Area. When this room is aired by our staff during services, this room is adequately aired without opening the windows to their full potential. As you were advised at check in, staff cannot enter the guests rooms for servicing, this has to be attended to by the guests and for any towel change requests etc this is requested as and when necessary to staff. Your observation that the room was stuffy and damp could only occur if there was no air circulation and that also the heating is under your control by airing your room, or opening your radiator for temperature control. This room has no damp or moisture issues as the floor is carpetted above wooden flooring which is above a ventilated floor space 1.5 m high. similarly the ceiling is below a wooden/slated sloping roof with no moisture. There is only one external cavity wall which contains the large window, all other walls are cavity internal walls. We have inspected thoroughly this room and found absolutely no evidence of moisture or unpleasant smell. During your stay I requested if all was well and you replied positively so we truthfully cannot find any substance in your comments. For the benefit of future visitors we can assure them that this room is charming , highly rated by our guests and most comfortable to stay in. Kind Regards John
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NatBuckle wrote a review Sept 2021
Worcester, United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
We really thought we had landed on our feet at this B&B, small, cosy and a lovely welcome from John the owner. The rooms are basic but have all the necessary things in them including flat screen TV, kettle, tea’s and coffee’s and luggage racks. Breakfast was good but finished quite early. We stayed here for 4 nights and the room was freezing! The owner did come up to the room and ask me if I had turned the radiator valves on, which of course we had…the problem was the heating was turned off at 8pm and turned back on 11 hours later, this is an old house and the cold actually felt damp. After I politely asked for the heating to be left on it was and the room was extra cosy. Imagine my horror when I wrote a review on booking.com saying how good the B&B was but I found it a little cold and got a response from the owner saying I was pathetic!! I would have recommended this place but after reading Johns replies to the slightest criticism from guests I would steer well clear!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take a blanket, John isn’t keen on the English rocking up and complaining about the cold.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Sandilands, Owner at Sandilands Guest House
Responded 27 Sept 2021
Hello Natalie, Thank you for your review which we value always. Your positive comments are pleasing and much in line with a great majority of our visitors, recent and previous, as August/21 heralded a return of of our Guest House welcoming visitors following our closure of 18 months due to the pandemic. Your visit was particularly pleasant as I thought we shared a similar sense of humour with friendly banter like '' being a cheap date'' etc. All good fun. Thats why I was taken aback by your negative comments about the room temperature both on Booking.com and here. There was a cold snap overnight at the end of August but we had foreseen this and the heating was on and available to guests in their rooms between the hours 7-9pm. by opening the inlet TRV on their radiators. You had never complained about the room temperature, just like all our other guests untill your last evening when you called me to attend your room. Unlike your account of events, I immediately sourced the problem. You were opening the return valve on the radiator not the HW Inlet valve. As soon as I rectified this, your heating was allowed to circulate. Job done I thought. Then you reported the room as freezing. This was most unfair just like your scores.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
simon m wrote a review Aug 2021
Doncaster, United Kingdom13 contributions9 helpful votes
What a lovely place to stay made to feel so welcome breakfast was very nice and nothing was to much trouble will be back. Great location easy walk to the centre to all the shops and places to eat. Keep up the good work 😁
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Julia Bell wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
What can i say but what a beautiful stay myself and husband had staying at sandilands B&B John and Maureen could not do enough to make our stay any better what a beautiful couple.. room so cosy and had best sleep ever along with an amazing breakfast. All beautiful and spotless located so near to zoo and city centre and bus stop over road But only 20 min walk into town and lovely when it's fine day.. we planing to book again.. honestly found a real gem to stay.. Anyone booking will not be dissapointed.. Can't wait to return... Mr and Mrs Bell
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
happyholidayertlc wrote a review Jun 2021
Burnley, United Kingdom13 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
We’ve just celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with the most welcoming host and hostess John and Maureen at the Sandilands House Queensferry Road Edinburgh. This is a lovely accommodation very relaxed and in a great location ten min walk into the heart of the city if you don’t like walking there’s a bus stop on the door step. Every day starts with a lovely cooked breakfast by Maureen whilst John serves the best coffee or tea and great conversation. We’ve stayed at this property three times and can’t wait to return for a fourth time. So as much as John and Maureen look forward to retiring we keep our fingers crossed that they DONT and we get to see them next year. Terry & Wayne
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jacqueline P wrote a review Jul 2019
23 contributions14 helpful votes
I cannot comment on the accommodation but I would be extremely wary of providing this establishment with my bank card information!!! My friend originally booked 2 rooms for 2 nights, for her and her husband and myself and mine a few months ago, directly with the guest house for a stay on June 10th & 11th. She provided her card details to guarantee the room. However we had a family bereavement over in France which meant that we had to cancel our room as we had to go to France. I was very distressed obviously and it meant that we had to cancel our much planned for trip to Scotland. My friend rang John of Sandilands, to explain, but as it was we could only give one week’s notice, he required my card details to take full payment for our room. I rang John, explained the situation about the bereavement and we had quite a long chat, I thought was a nice man he was. He did insist in taking full payment however as the cancellation policy is stated on the Sandilands website. So fair enough, I understand he’s running a business and I gave him my card details to take the full payment which is where I made a big mistake! John did say he would re-advertise the rooms in order to relet them and would refund the money if he was successful. Like an idiot I trusted him to do this. So when the time of our stay came I looked on his website which showed that the guest house was fully booked. ”Great” I thought, he would be contacting me for a refund. How wrong I was. I didn’t hear anything, so gave him a ring a few days later left a voicemail, but heard nothing back. So I thought I just would write the money I paid off, and put it behind me. Then I was checking my bank statement and was horrified to discover that not only had John taken the original payment that I authorised on the 7th June, he had taken another £237 on the 14th. This had caused me to go overdrawn, something that I never do, so I was rather concerned. I called John to ask him to explain. I was polite and began firstly by asking how he’d got on with reletting the room, he said he had been unsuccessful, I asked why it was showing as fully booked on his website, he said that was an “error”, I did say that didn’t actually help me in getting my money back, he obviously wasn’t bothered about that. Then I went on to ask why he had taken another £237 from my account, which was a completely different amount from the original payment. He was so very dismissive in his attitude, telling me that I have made a mistake! I said no, it’s on my bank statement, all he kept saying was “No I don’t think so”, telling me I’d made an “Error”. I then said firmly but still politely, he needed to find out what happened and I wanted the money returned that morning. He made no apologies and was extremely rude, saying he was busy and would deal with it when he was able. I said I accepted he had the breakfast rush to deal with, but when it was finished he needed to make this a priority. Anyway, at this point he hung up. I was astounded that he could be so rude and totally disrespectful after I had been decent enough to make the original payment to him. I called my bank who advised me to find out from him what this payment was for. I endeavoured to do this, but he wouldn’t answer my calls. I then emailed him, asking for him to clarify what the payment related to. He ignored my emails. After 24 hours and still no refund, I then asked my husband to call him, where upon he was greeted with a rather “vague” John almost denying that he knew anything about this, when my husband explained further, he kept saying he has dealt with it upon my original phone call, yet bank transfers are pretty instant and yet no money was paid into my account. My husband then said to John, that I would like to speak to him, whereupon John immediately hung up, Hubbie called him back and he said I was rude and he wouldn’t deal with me! I could not believe the attitude of this man, I had been polite, yes I was annoyed, so was firm in my dealings with him, but really, he had taken an unauthorised payment from my account and was refusing to deal with it, he made no attempt at an apology, just kept denying the money had gone, despite my emailing a copy of my bank statement clearly showing the amounts leaving my account. So again I emailed, told him I was handing it over to fraud department at my bank. Then finally the money was put back into my account another day later. There was no offer to pay my overdraft fee, no apology, no compensation. John is a man without any honour in my experience! My friend who did stay the 2 nights said on her arrival he literally was knocking on their door as soon as they got into their room, demanding payment. She had originally booked room guaranteeing with her debit card, but he said she had given him wrong payment details. So she went to the front desk and he had written her card details in a book. He had written the number the wrong way round, another of John’s “Errors”. After my initial payment to John he should have destroyed my card details. He had no right to hold on to them, I think he is clearly flouting GDPR regulations, as this unauthorised payment from my account should never have occurred in the first place if he hadn’t been keeping hold of my card details. Therefore I would not be happy in giving this man any of my card/bank details.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Karen K wrote a review May 2019
Melbourne, Australia12 contributions9 helpful votes
Lovely guest house with excellent hosts.John and Maureen were most helpful and could not do enough for us. Lots of information and advice on where to go and how to get there. Superb breakfasts and great tea/coffee facilities in rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
teharker1 wrote a review May 2019
Mission Beach, Australia12 contributions4 helpful votes
We had a lovely stay in this Guest House which began with a warm welcome from our hosts John and Maureen. It was such a pleasure to meet them and that aside, our room was most comfortable and the breakfast selections definitely the best we had during our five week holiday in the UK. Sandilands is a relatively short walk from the heart of Edinburgh with a bus stop nearby if preferred. We would definitely stay again should we ever return to Edinburgh and highly recommend it to other travellers. Thanks again John and Maureen.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sumsum252@hotmail.co.uk wrote a review May 2019
Lowton, United Kingdom3 contributions
Maureen and John were great hosts.Very informative and helpfull in every way.Our room was spotless with everything you need.Near the city with bus connections.Also fantastic breakfast with fresh fruit etc.Thankyou for a lovely 3 days Lilian Tony.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ground floor if needed.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANDILANDS GUEST HOUSE - Updated 2024 Prices (Edinburgh)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sandilands Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Sandilands Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Dean Village (0.7 miles), National Galleries of Scotland: Modern Two (0.4 miles), and National Galleries Scotland: Modern One (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandilands Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sandilands Guest House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Sandilands Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandilands Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandilands Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dine Murrayfield, Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank, and No. 35 at The Bonham Hotel.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sandilands Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandilands Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (1.7 miles), Palace of Holyroodhouse (2.4 miles), and Gladstone's Land (1.6 miles).