We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 130: English reviews
Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As they say you get what you pay for , but this is not true for these apartments. We stayed in nr. 3 with 4 people. It's huge and well equipped, a cozy warm place to come home to after a days shopping.It has all mod cons -good beds- complimentary coffee/tea/milk . In spite of it being on busy road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10westcoast
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well appointed secure apartment in great area. Comfortable beds. Easily accessed by bus from the city centre. There are numerous very good pubs and restaurants nearby as well as various shops and supermarkets

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry V
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great apartment! We were 9 friends and everything was perfect. Big tidy rooms, lot of space for relaxing in the evening. The team was very kind. There is the possibility to store bagage after check-out. Located close to the city center, in front of the Airport's trams stop. If u need an apartment, check first this organisation because I think...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Franca L
Hannover, Germany
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Apartment was great, lots of space, good parking area, New Town is a good walk but buses in front of location. Restaurant Origano in Leith Walk makes best pizza, also glutenfree (delicious). Edinburgh Zoo is definately worth is visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra16540
Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Just recently visited Edinburgh for my 21st birthday and chose to book south side apartments for me and my friends, it was way better than we expected .. very clean, spacious and had everything we needed also very central. The man who met us at the apartment was very helpful and explained everything to us. I would definitely stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 21camnash
Pune, India
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

I visited Edinburgh for my graduation ceremony at the Heriot Watt University. I had booked this apartment through Booking. Com and was very happy with the apartment. The living dining and kitchen are large and spacious. The bedrooms were a tad small and one of the bedrooms had it's windows opening on the main road. However the location of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay K
DH1310, Manager at Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our Southside apartments and glad overall you enjoyed your stay. I hope all went well with your Gradutaion ceremony

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We visited these apartments with big expectations, after all they have certificate of excellence. The location was superb, the gentleman who met us was very polite and helpful. The apartment was big and spacious. That was all good. Then we started to notice the furniture not only had seen better days but was dirty, the beds looked like Homer Simpson...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsMenchu
DH1310, Manager at Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments, responded to this review

Many thanks for your reveiw and and we are sorry you did not have a great experience at the apartments.We generally do get positive reviews and do make every effort to fix any issues that clients point out I have passed on your comments to our Director so we can work on updating some furnture and to schedule some maintanence...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We were all very pleased we stayed here. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly both before and during our stay. The appartment was elegant, very spacious and spotlessly clean. Facilities were very good. Close to the centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaa_hill
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Booked this apartment quite late for Ed Fringe season. Despite the timing the price is definitely reasonable. For the Fringe it was only 20 mins walk from the centre of the fringe and located next door to the best breakfast we had for the stay. (also close to a short route up to the top of Arthur's seat, well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
Fortedei Marmi
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The apartment we stayed in was within walking distance of the Royal Mile. We did not need to get any taxi or bus. It was spacious, cozy and very clean. The kitchen was well furbished. there was also a lovely garden outside. We loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hikari_L

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,319 reviews
Southside Guest House
#50 of 445 in Edinburgh
292 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments
Southside & Holyrood
Richmond Place Apartments
Richmond Place Apartments
#23 of 205 in Edinburgh
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choice of: 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Apartments/Garden Apartments. Building was originally used as a Casino! All newly & beautifully refurbished to a high standard Inc: Plasma screens / Wi Fi etc. Still have many original features - Ornate plaster work, high ceilings, large windows and wooden floors. Large rooms, very light and airy. Awarded 4* Grading by VisitScotland. Close to: the Meadows/Holyrood Park, Arthurs seat, the University and Edinburgh's Commonwealth Pool. All rates INC : Tea/Coffee/Milk. 5 Mins walk from Supermarket. 7 Mins walk to Royal Mile. 12 Mins walk to Princes St. On great bus route to all over the city centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments

Address: 7 Newington Road, Edinburgh EH9 1QR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: £48 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southside Superior Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Destination Edinburgh Southside Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have no idea about the other apartments, but number 4 was very good.”
 of 5 bubbles LeoV209, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“The upstairs flat (#4) had views onto the road from the living area. The bedrooms faced the quieter garden area in the back.”
 of 5 bubbles hollholl, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 at the basement leads to a courtyard where u can enjoy the views and fresh air”
 of 5 bubbles jungfraujoch86, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
“This review relates to rented accommodation nit a Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Hilary1949, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Buses drop you off right outside the door and the buses into the city are just across the road - a 5 minute ride - terrific.”
 of 5 bubbles Deni882, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay