Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa

Inchyra Lodge Grange Road, Falkirk FK2 0YB Scotland
My locker
Traveller (431)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (75)
Our £18 sannys! haha
Dining (43)

View prices for your travel dates

£96
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#4 of 11 hotels in Falkirk
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The beautiful Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa is perfectly located in the heart of the Central Belt in Scotland, meaning you are just 30 minutes away from central Glasgow, Edinburgh and Stirling and all the attractions and shopping that they have to offer. We are renowned for our wonderful Vital spa experience where you can unwind in our thermal suite, including 20 metre swimming pool, rasul, rock sauna and ice fountain. We are also a perfect location for business travellers to the area, offering free, unlimited WiFi so that you stay connected to the office. Extremely accessible, just off junction 5 of the M9, Edinburgh Airport is just 25 minutes away and Polmont train station easily connects to mainlines from Glasgow and Edinburgh. After a day of meetings, adventure or relaxation in the Spa, enjoy one of the best steak's in town at the AA rosette-awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. Selecting only the finest ingredients and 21-day aged cuts of beef from Scotbeef, it's our dedication to serving quality ingredients that makes us different.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
2,402Reviews14Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 796
  • 686
  • 475
  • 251
  • 194
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sarah B wrote a review Aug 2020
Prudhoe, United Kingdom32 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided on the Macdonald Inchyra for two reasons, we’ve stayed with the Macdonald chain before and it was close to the things we were planning to do. Although our visit is during the COVID-19 restrictions the hotel was well supplied with safety measures the staff were friendly, screens and masks for staff, sanitiser at key points. We were disappointed that we could not access the pool but fully understand why it is currently closed. Our room was spacious and we had access to tea and coffee facilities, paper cups and the complementary tea and coffee within a paper bag, a good idea.
The room was very dated and although it felt clean there were areas that were stained. The bathroom had considerable amounts of mould and a lose floor tile. Bedding and towels were clean and we were provided with clean towels daily. The only thing I would really criticise is the location the beds were placed for our young children (3&5), these were at the far end of the room from the main bed and adjacent to the room door, which could be easily opened. Perhaps something Macdonald should look into for child safety.
The food provided by the hotel was ok, the staff serving in the restaurant at breakfast time were great, our needs were seen to and we didn’t feel overlooked too much. Despite a reduced menu/ buffet there was still plenty of choice available.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brett Ingle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Dear Piggipp, Thank you for choosing to visit the hotel recently and for taking the time to post your feedback online. It was great to see that overall you had an enjoyable visit and found the team and the measures put in place to be good. Thank you for passing on your feedback in regards to the room and the placement of beds. We will certainly look into this for the future and make any changes we can do. Thanks again for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Brett GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CJ0hnst0n wrote a review May 2021
Whitburn, United Kingdom397 contributions145 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed here a while ago and enjoyed it so used for a quick one night stay, unfortunately a number of let downs.
I got a deal on booking.com for £78 bed and breakfast and certainly wouldn’t spend more.
Room was very small and old fashioned. Bathroom shower handles grubby (see picture) although shower itself very hot and well powered.
Toilet seat loose in bathroom. Horrible view even for a “classic double”
Glass topped furniture with water stains underneath (see picture) TV had lots of channels but most blank with no signal.
Ordered room service breakfast as no table times available when we wanted in restaurant. Food was hot and as ordered but only 1 napkin for 2 people, no salt and pepper and no sugar/sweetener for hot drinks.
Went to bar in the evening for a couple of drinks, waited at door to be seated but not acknowledged by 3 staff at host table, had to ask to be seated. Once seated waited 15 mins before drinks order taken. Then sat with empty glasses for 20 mins before I asked someone to take another order. Decided to order 2 drinks at once because of this but order delivered was wrong.
Lots of staff around but bar tables appeared to be ignored in favour of of restaurant.
Covid restrictions.... receptionist wore her mask under her nose. Bar staff allowed several guests to walk up to bar to order drinks, which I believe is not allowed under restrictions?!
Overall it was ok but I wouldn’t use outside of a cheap deal, sure there are better ones in the same area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brett Ingle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 Jun 2021
Dear CJ0hnst0n, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for posting your feedback. I will certainly discuss the points with the team members concerned. Kind regards, Brett
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johnstons1000 wrote a review Jun 2022
12 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Paige and Emily, on Reception, were extremely efficient, helpful and knowledgeable. Even though the hotel was extremely busy due to the fact there was a concert nearby they remained calm. As well as checking clients in they were dealing with others trying to book taxis, find directions etc. Both girls were friendly, approachable as they endeavoured to answer / resolve any queries.
Our room, though a little dated, was comfortable and clean. Daria our housekeeper worked hard to make sure we were comfortable, replenishing the room with fresh towels, toiletries etc.
We were able to use the hotel facilities without additional charges, even after we had checked out – the pool, the sauna, steam room, thermal beds and the gym, though they do offer a Spa Menu with a variety of affordable treatments available.
Breakfast was included and you could combine the buffet with choices from the ‘cooked’ breakfast menu.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brett Ingle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Responded 9 Jul 2022
Dear johnstons1000, Thank you for visiting the hotel and for taking the time to share you feedback on line. It was great firstly to see the Paige and Emily on reception were great, and kept calm during the busy check in and check out times, and both remained friendly. It was also nice to note that Daria your housekeeper worked hard to make sure you had a comfortable stay. As well as seeing that you enjoyed the leisure and spa facilities and breakfast. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Brett
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Megm217 wrote a review Feb 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom38 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had booked an overnight stay that included treatments for my mum for Christmas. Upon arrival we were given a room (room 157) that faced on to a brick wall, the window was filthy and the beds were creaky, hard and uncomfortable. I approached reception asking to move. Charlotte the duty manager advised she would show me to my new room (at the time we thought was room 357) low and behold my key managed to open the door to room 367 (which was the fob number) my bags were in room 357!! I went back to reception and advised I wasn't happy that my key managed to open at least 3 doors on that floor. All the whilst this was going on my mum was late for her spa treatment. I decided to wait in the room until the manager came to see me. She looked surprised that I was in room 367 when she had previously came to room 357 to show me the new room. She apologized and advised she would hold on to the key whilst we were at the spa as we were concerned who else would have access to our room.

After our treatments I was advised by my mum that we had been upgraded to the honeymoon suite and had no restrictions on our dinner menu (as an apology), we were allowed to choose whichever we wanted.
The honeymoon suite (photos attached) was absolutely filthy! I know why they call it this. Once we had got ready and went down for dinner we again complained and showed Charlotte the photos, not even an apology was offered or to move us rooms yet again!
At dinner, Ewan (restaurant manager) advised us that everything was free of charge at dinner including wine. Later that evening the night porter came to see us to find out what had happened with the magic key! He then inspected the honeymoon suite and moved us as he couldn't believe the state of the room. We were moved at 2:30am! With the expectation of being checked out at 11am. They did offer us a late check out of 5pm. The room itself was classed as a recently refurbed room. The shower was filthy, part of the mattress broken and black mold at the window!
Upon checkout there was not one apology from reception staff. I asked if anything had been charged to the room and she had advised the wine from dinner the night before had been, I advised her to take this off as I was advised the night before this was free of charge.

Low and behold they have charged me! What an absolute joke of a hotel, ran by a bunch of amateurs. The place needs knocked down and started again. There is nowhere to email your complaints to as the website states to take this up with the manager - what a joke! I will be seeking a full refund from Paypal as this is disgusting from start to finish.

So much for a relaxing spa break!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Inchyramanager, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thanks Megm217 for again posting your feedback on line. Apologies again that you encountered some issues during your visit and we will respond directly to your feedback received at the hotel. Kind regards, Brett
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Unity wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the MacDonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa from the 13th October to the 15th October 2021, the service was very disappointing and not what I would expect of a 4 star hotel.

We were checked into room 360, which is a Deluxe Family Room for three. Firstly the remote controller for the TV was not working, we reported this on the 13th October after arrival but this was not attended too. I then reported it again at 8.45am before going to breakfast on the 14th October. The shower in the room was also not working, with no water coming or water intermittently coming and no hot water, which again we reported in the morning on the 14th October at 8.45am. Both the remote and the shower were not looked at until the evening when we had returned back to the room at about 5pm, however the shower could not be fixed, therefore two days of not having a working shower and is having to have baths instead, not ideal at all.

The room service lunch was appalling, we ordered two sandwiches, one cheese and pickle and one smoked salmon with two portions of chips. These were supposed to come with a side salad but we got a small bowl of coleslaw with this and there was literally no fillings in the sandwiches (a smear of smoked salmon was ridiculous). Also the chips were supposed to come with an aioli dip at the side, which they did not (in fact they’d forgotten about the chips and had to go down and get them again).

The icing on the cake was breakfast on the morning of the 15th October. We had booked a table for 9.45am. We arrived at the restaurant at 9.40 and waited for over 20mins before we had to ask a member of staff what was going on as no member of staff even acknowledged us, she informed us that she’d check. We got seated in the bar at 10.05am and waited for 10 minutes before we were served, so well over 35 minutes before our food order was taken.

The overall service and the amenities were not what I would expect to receive at a MacDonald Hotel, especially one of a 4 star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brett Ingle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Dear Unity, Thank you for choosing to visit the hotel and for taking the time to pass on your feedback. It was disappointing to note that there was an issue with the shower, and the remote control, and apologies it took too long to replace the remote,. The shower was not repairable and a note was left to arrange a room move on your return and to confirm that the shower needed parts. The room service issue again apologies for this happening, the team would have ensured this was replaced at the time, had they been made aware. Apologies there was a delay with breakfast on one of the mornings. Finally I understand that you have also written to us and we will respond directly to you. Thanks again for choosing to visit and apologies you encountered some issues during your visit. Kind regards, Brett
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elliot C wrote a review Oct 2020
11 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I planned a spontaneous night away with my wife so we could relax and enjoy a child free night. Unfortunately this was not the case. I didn't want to adventure too far as this is the first night away after our newborn so thought a 4star hotel on the doorstep would be ideal.
I always like to book direct with the hotel either through their own website or over the phone and the poor service started here. I wished to book a 1 night stay with myself and my wife to have a deep tissue massage. Online it is not possible to book both at the same time so I attempted to ring unfortunately reservations were closed I managed to get through to the reception team hoping they would sort this all out for me but was told I've come through to the wrong department and was put through to reservations before I had the chance to say they are closed.
So decided to look for the best price for dinner bed and breakfast and found it to be cheaper on hotels.com I then attempted to book our treatments in the spa over the phone the next day and told that they were unable to fit us in. This again clearly wasn't the case as I was then able to book our treatments online through the website.
The hotel's public areas were modern and clean but the room on the other hand was far from this.
The room was sealed and marked as clean so I would expect a high level of cleaning and quality. The furniture looked like it had not been updated in many years or any attempt to maintain the room itself. The dressing table had stained marks from heat see pictures attached. The walls needed a lick of paint to cover the marks all over the walls. The curtains had black mould spots up the inside of them and around the window itself. Again see the pictures. The mattress was one of the worst I've ever slept on and even debated to sleep on the floor. It was hard and had dips in where you are clearly ment to lay. The only saving grace of the room was the shower as it had good pressure and temperature control.
The food in the 'steak house' was of a good standard but to call yourself a steak house with only 2 types of steak on the menu is highly disappointing. Their was a lovely girl working behind the bar that was so hard working and was attentive to all the customers in the restaurant. The attitude from I can only guess is management towards her at points was clearly rude and unprofessional especially in front of customers.
The spa the staff were all lovely and the treatments we received were amazing and to high standard. Kirsty was friendly and made the whole experience in the spa relaxing and she is an asset to the team there. I just wish my back still felt as good straight after but the bed ruined all your hard work.
When wishing to discuss my concerns regarding everything we experienced I was told the manager is in a meeting and the room manager won't be in until tomorrow with the reception team not offering an apology regarding the room standard.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brett Ingle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 Nov 2020
Dear Elliot, Thank you for choosing to visit the hotel recently and for taking the time to pass on your feedback. It was good to note that you enjoyed your meal and treatment and particularly noted that Kirsty stood out in the spa area. It was disappointing to note that you encountered some issue with booking the break and treatment, and that reception transferred your back to reservations after the closing time. I have spoken to the team members on reception to clarify the times central reservations closes. Please accept our apologies the room and bed were not was expected. Due to the reduced capacities and restriction's we do not carry the same number of choices on the menus, and this will remain the case until the restrictions in the numbers we can accommodate can increase. Thanks again for your feedback and we do hope that you have the opportunity to visit the hotel again in the future. Kind regards, Brett.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy wrote a review Sept 2020
6 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
2 Night Ultimate Spa Break for Two. No bottle of Prosecco on arrival as stated in the deal, additionally the promised robe and slippers were not available until requested. The room was basic and dated, didn’t have a cozy feel and minor maintenance overlooked. We chose this hotel as during the COVID-19 restrictions we were promised “everything but the steam room and sauna is available” and seemed to have the most on offer in the area, however this truthfully meant only the pool and gym were available with no poolside loungers or relaxation areas to sit and indulge in the spa atmosphere. I appreciate social distancing measures must be met and I commend them for their efforts, however this meant the relaxing nature of the spa was nonexistent.

Confusion arose regarding timings of the spa treatments, despite waiting in the designated area at the time instructed, in full sight of the reception and spa staff we were not attended to until almost 30 minutes after our appointment time, which lead to inability to receive the treatments at all - the whole reason the getaway was booked. With this result we felt it best to terminate the trip after one night as the uncomfortable room, clinical pool area and lack of treatments meant poor value for money nor did it create the relaxing experience so promised at the time of booking.

On a positive note the evening meal and espresso martinis were delicious and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brett Ingle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Responded 11 Sept 2020
Dear AmymW87PG, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for passing on your feedback. I have passed on the points noted to the team. We have followed all Government guidelines and appreciate your feedback. We are reviewing our procedures all the time and it is important to note you attended within the first week of opening and I am sure changes will be made as we review the operation on a daily basis. Apologies the Prosecco was not in the room on arrival, and you had to call for this, likewise for the robes and slippers which should have been provided for a spa break. Thanks again for visiting and for passing on your feedback. Kind regards, Brett GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon Oosterbosch wrote a review May 2021
35 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just left the hotel. It’s not a 4 star hotel in anyway. The room is dull and aged. Stains on the walls and furniture. We booked through their own website and not once in any part of the booking did it say you needed to book pool slots. We took the kids as a treat so we would have access to a pool if I knew this I would have went elsewhere. We couldn’t get the pool due to it be fully booked. When we mentioned this we were told other people are in the same boat and during the same conversation he said your the first to mention it so not sure I quite understand that. We were then told you need to book for dinner and breakfast which was fine however we said we would have a think and let them know, to which we were told there is lots of bookings left. My husband went back to down to ask if there was any cancellations for the pool could they let us know however there seem to be some confusion on how many was allowed in the pool. So we waited in the room with 2 kids patiently waiting to find out if there was a chance we would get the pool that night. But we didn’t. When we called down to book dinner we were told we have nothing till half past 8, and with a 3 year old that wasn’t really acceptable. At this point I was ready to leave, a shabby room, no pool access till the next day and now no space for dinner till half 8. We told the receptionist this and she said I will see what I can do. So we managed to get a table at half 7. Now in that time one other couple came in and even with social distancing there was still more than enough tables so I really don’t get it. Also it’s not a Scottish steak house. There was 2 steaks on the menu and from past reviews I see that this hasn’t changed. (I wished I had read the reviews before I booked).

I also had an emergency where i required sanitary products, went down to reception and they couldn’t help a 4 star hotel with no sanitary products, they even said oh we had someone ask the other day as well but we didn’t have any then either.

I feel that the hotel it’s completely misleading. They give you a booklet when you check in about the restrictions, this booklet should be highlighted during booking as the services are severally limited there is no sauna and steam room and you get a 1 hour pool slot.

The hotel lets the staff down as they seem very polite and accommodating.

I wouldn’ t recommend this hotel. It used to get a great name but you could go to a premier inn for much less, and it would be cleaner, brighter and up to date. There isn’t even plug sockets next to your bed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brett Ingle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Responded 21 May 2021
Dear Mrsobosch, Thank you for choosing to stay with us following the hotel recently reopening. We have had in place restrictions on social distancing, capacities, and certain areas of the hotel have been left closed, such as the sauna and steam room as you mention due to the Government guidelines and restrictions. It is disappointing to note that you couldn't get a pool slot at the time you wanted, and had to book one for the following morning. I believe the team also extended a complimentary late check out for you so that you could enjoy the use of the pool during your stay. Whilst any social distancing rules remain in place, we advise all guests to book any meals, or pool, spa, gym slots to avoid disappointment. I am not sure how the hotel is misleading in anyway. We are following the Government guidelines that are currently in place, and would advise guests who are not sure on how their visit would be impacted by current restrictions to contact us for further information. Thanks again for choosing to visit us and for taking the time to pass on your feedback. Kind regards, Brett
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jade Wright wrote a review Jan 2020
Scotland, United Kingdom10 contributions35 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the inchyra hotel to attend the family party night that they had organised for New Year’s Eve. From the start of the night it was a disaster, they charged £70 a ticket for the party night and we paid £145 to stay in the hotel. The service we received was terrible and I would not attend the party night again if it was offered for free. There was not enough staff working the party and the ones that were working were very rude and not helpful. We had a long wait for food and plates were not cleared from the table, I found myself clearing a table of 9 starters just to make room for the mains - then again the same for desserts. The entertainment was terrible and the mood of the whole night was very glum. We did complain to a manager who I also found very rude and offered us a 10% discount if we were to come back next year - not sure if this was a joke? I would avoid the hotel and party nights at all costs as they are not worth the money the charge.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Inchyramanager, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Dear JadeT7X, Thank you for visiting us to celebrate Hogmany as well as to take the time to pass on your correspondence directly to us and via Tripadvisor. Again, I am sorry that your felt evening didn't meet your personal expectations and that you have chosen not to except our gesture of good will on this occasion. We served many thousands of guests over the festive period with the majority having a great time. We do of course hope that you have the opportunity to visit the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Brett
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kay F wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights in July 2021, a weekend away from the kids. The room was fine, if a bit tired (i agree this is expected after the lockdowns).

However, the weather was very warm. There is no air con in the bedroom and the windows only open so far. The room was sweltering and far too hot to sleep in. I called reception to enquire about a fan. The staff member I spoke to on the phone was very rude and abrupt, telling me they didn't have any.

The next morning I asked again at reception about a fan, which didn't seem to be a problem, it was put in my room by housekeeping. I am not sure what the initial issue was the night before.

If you are looking forward to a lavish large breakfast you will be disappointed. It is a standard £18 charge for breakfast.

The Scottish breakfast consists of 1 rasher of bacon, 1 small sausage, 1 slice of black pudding and one egg. Its a bit pathetic......

Also, the breakfast manager took great pride in announcing to us in front of the whole breakfast room that our breakfast was not included in our package and had to be paid for, which I was well aware of. A bit of decorum wouldn't go amiss..... especially from a manager??

Positives - the beds are comfy, the room is clean. The pool and gym are fantastic.

Unfortunately I won't be back to waste my money, I would be happier in a Premier Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brett Ingle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Responded 14 Aug 2021
Dear kayf6160VD, Thank you for choosing to visit the hotel and for passing on your feedback. It was particularly hot during your visit, and as mentioned we do not have air con in our rooms. We purchased some additional fans to assist however, we were able to source enough at the time for all requests. For health and safety requirements we have to restrict the opening of the windows unfortunately. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast felt it was disappointing for £18. The breakfast includes tea or coffee, toast, cereals, pastries, muffins, juices, yogurts, and full breakfast options, as well as specials to select from. Thanks for your feedback and we will certainly ask the team to reduce the volume when discussing breakfast options with guests. Kind regards, Brett GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ge H asked a question Jan 2023
Quebec, Canada49 contributions11 helpful votes
Hello, Would anyone know when the rooms were last renovated? Thank you.
Answer from FalkirkBairns_3
Falkirk District, United Kingdom29 contributions46 helpful votes
No sorry, I have never stayed there but have used the pool and it is a lovely experience
Glesgagal71 asked a question Jan 2022
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom18 contributions3 helpful votes
can i use pool anytime if staying at hotel?
Answer from Brett I
Central Scotland1 helpful vote
Anytime the leisure club is open during your stay guests are able to use it. There are restrictions only on when children are permitted.
Answer from CaraLochlomond
Loch lomond2 contributions4 helpful votes
I guess you have been extremely unlucky, as for the behaviour of the “party guests “ how do you know they were attending our celebration? Nothing was mentioned to us the following day regarding guest behaviour. Personally, we can’t fault the hotel in the slightest. Good luck finding a perfect place to stay .
Answer from Karyn
Glasgow, United Kingdom69 contributions21 helpful votes
Everything has ramps and there are large steps into the pool
hobbitrsa asked a question Aug 2017
Romford, United Kingdom424 contributions73 helpful votes
Do they have room service?
Answer from Julie B
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes, not 24 hr though
Sarah D wrote a tip 18 Apr
London5 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ensure you make the most of the incredible dining experience. Plus, to say it is dog friendly is an understatement."
Read full review
Niall Milligan wrote a tip Mar 2024
Exeter, United Kingdom23 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is looking to go cashless and make all transactions card based."
Read full review
Jo B wrote a tip Mar 2024
Solihull, United Kingdom3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for your steak to be undercooked as it’ll come medium/well done. Be prepared to find your own cutlery & salt."
Read full review
Sophie wrote a tip Mar 2024
10 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The service is quite slow"
Read full review
LightPacker319659 wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spa was excellent "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Falkirk area.
PRICE RANGE
£85 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald inchyra hotel polmont, macdonald inchyra hotel and spa, macdonald inchyra grange falkirk, hotel macdonald inchyra grange
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFalkirk DistrictFalkirk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MACDONALD INCHYRA HOTEL & SPA - Updated 2024 (Falkirk)

Frequently Asked Questions about Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include The Black Bull (0.5 miles), Old Polmont Cemetery (0.06 miles), and Polmont Old Parish Church (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chianti, Cadgers Brae Brewers Fayre, and Beancross Hotel Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Linlithgow Palace (4.4 miles), Culross Palace (5.0 miles), and Callendar House (2.3 miles).
Is Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Falkirk HotelsFalkirk Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FalkirkHotels near Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire