The City Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The City Hotel

Room 16 on the 1st floor
Traveller (109)
Room & Suite (37)
The Weavers Restaurant Conservatory
Dining (27)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 4 small hotels in Dunfermline
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Dunfermline, The City Hotel is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its proximity to great restaurants and attractions, The City Hotel makes it easy to enjoy the best of Dunfermline.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at The City Hotel offer a flat screen TV.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including 24 hour front desk. Guests of The City Hotel are also welcome to enjoy an on-site restaurant. For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available.

Nearby landmarks such as Dunfermline City Chambers (0.1 mi) and Abbot House Heritage Centre (0.1 mi) make The City Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Dunfermline.

Dunfermline has plenty of pubs. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like The Old Inn, Seven Kings Pub, and The Elizabethan, which are serving up some great dishes.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Dunfermline Abbey and Palace (0.1 mi), Pittencrieff Park (0.2 mi), and Townhill Country Park (0.8 mi), which are all within walking distance of the small hotel.

The City Hotel is sure to make your visit to Dunfermline one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Karaoke
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Restaurant
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

18-20 Bridge Street, Dunfermline KY12 8DA Scotland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Turnhouse Airport
Dundee Airport
31.7 mi
See all flights
471Reviews1Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 142
  • 129
  • 97
  • 50
  • 53
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Carl-Darren M wrote a review Aug 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at this hotel several times before and at around £45 for a room with a double bed and breakfast, you don't mind the old fashioned quirkiness. However, whilst i appreciate the hotel is slowly renovating-itself, their charges are equivalent to the local Hilton.

I checked in yesterday and the cost was £63.00 (they admitted they had put prices up). I asked for a double bed (i am over 6ft) and they had to upgrade the room which then cost me a total of £73.00. The room was ok, but no air con and the door lock was faulty. The bathroom had a Saniflow toilet and there was a big notice saying "do not use toilet until you read this notice". Whenever you used the toilet, sink or shower, all you could hear was a heavy pump noise. Also, the taps and shower had zero markings to indicate hot or cold.

Also, although not the fault of the hotel, the room overlooked the car park. On the evening all i could hear was drunk people and i was woken at 4.45am by seagulls screeching to each other. With no air con and a warm night, i had to wedge the window open which increased the noise level.

The one good thing about the hotel was the staff. All were very friendly.

However, when the modern Hilton nearby had the same prices which also includes air con, secure parking, usb charging ports etc, and a quieter external environment, regrettably i wont be staying at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Adamson, General Manager at The City Hotel
Responded 13 Aug 2020
Dear Carl-Darren M, Thank you for reaching out to us on tripadvisor to let us know your thoughts following your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to learn that we failed to impress on this occasion and will be sure to discuss all of your feedback at our next team meeting. Unfortunately, due to current circumstances, we have found it necessary to increase our prices slightly, but feel that what we have to offer still represents good value for money when you consider that our rooms come with a full Scottish breakfast included in the rate. We are sorry that you were disturbed by the saniflo unit in your bathroom and have asked our maintenance team to investigate why you should have heard such a loud noise. We will also look into the issue that you mention with the taps. We are also sorry to hear that due to our city centre location, you were disturbed by external noise. Our only wish is that you had alerted our night porter to this issue as he may have been able to take steps to deal with any drunk people nearby. Finally, we would like to thank you for your kind words about our staff and would love the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us should you change your mind. Kind Regards, Hotel Staff and Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eastendpar wrote a review Feb 2020
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Fair value at £6.95 for a well cooked clean plate of food plus toast and tea. Comes with a poached egg (ask for runny if that’s what you like as mine was a bit too firm), 2 decent pork sausage, small pot of beans, a few bland mushrooms, potato scone, and a fresh tomato. Also with a couple slice of bacon which let the plate down, very tough and chewy and would have fancied my chances of digesting my wife’s handbag more easily!! Staff lovely and conservatory warm, clean and modern. Bit of a pain at first listening to the melting snow constantly dripping from height on to the roof, but eventually faded into a background noise after a while. Plenty seats we could’ve moved to inside had it been that big an issue though. Shame it looks over a large car park but swings and roundabouts as it means it’s in a great location in the centre of town. Pretty decent large lunch menu at very reasonable prices so will come back and try lunch here sometime soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Adamson, General Manager at The City Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear eastendpar, Thank you for dining with us at The City Hotel. We are pleased to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back for lunch in the very near future. In relation to the eggs and bacon, our chefs are more than happy to prepare your food to suit your taste, although we will pass on your feedback about the bacon. We always like to hear what our valued customers think and appreciate you taking the time to leave us this review. Kind Regards, Hotel Staff and Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SteveandLynne wrote a review Oct 2021
Ashkirk, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is situated in a great place for getting around. We got a free car space at the back of the hotel. The reception and bar are of a very high standard and the staff were very welcoming. We booked an executive double and was given room 3. Unfortunately the room was very small and above the kitchen with the dreaded extractor fan. We asked to be moved which was no hassle and we got room 11 which was lovely and very spacious and very quiet. We had a great sleep and the shower was amazing ❤ We are both Vegans Unfortunately the veggie sausage had cheese in it but we had plenty toast tattie scones beans and mushrooms. The breakfast staff was very friendly and made sure our food wasn't cooked in butter. We also got soy milk and vegan butter. More than enough with as much filter coffee as you could eat.
We had some cocktails in the bar before going out for dinner a bit pricey but 😍 would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eddie M wrote a review Feb 2020
Rutherglen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in smooth friendly and informative payment taken on arrival and I can understand why after seeing room 21 on the second floor.No offer of assistance with luggage NO lift which I was aware off but the stairs from the first to second floor are narrow steep and not for anyone with mobility issue.Our room had too many issues for my liking from the size lack of headroom cleanliness and lighting which was poor and my wife pointed out it was impossible to apply make up etc and although there was a wall mirror it would be better if a mirror was over the desk rather than the current wonky set up.Bed linen clean but the old style divan base is badly marked and stained and needs skipped walls are marked especially above the tv and there was broken glass on the carpet at the side of the bed.Bathroom extractor not working and the tiniest wash hand basin iv ever seen is useless and the release plug does not work had to get my nails into the grove and yank loose.Nice fluffy towels for the average shower a plus.BEWARE light sleepers the room is subject to horrendous outside noise and the window does nothing to muffle the din we actually thought the window was open it was that bad and we did not manage any sleep only consolation was the breakfast in the morning served in a pleasant dining room which was good.We had booked a standard double for one night any longer and we would have booked out.
We did not use the bar or restaurant during our stay but it was busy with locals and had a good atmosphere and seems popular with diners.
On checking out I have reported these issues and received an apology so let’s hope for future customers action is taken regretfully I would not return would not recommend and urge anyone booking to avoid room 21 at all costs-perhaps the rooms at the back of the Hotel on the car park side are better who knows but for our trip it was regretfully a sleepless disappointing visit to the City Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid room 21.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma A, Manager at The City Hotel
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Dear Eddie M Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review following your recent stay at our hotel. As a family run business, we understand the importance of customer satisfaction, therefore it is disappointing to learn that you felt certain aspects of your stay were not up to standard and we would like to address some of your points individually. Unfortunately, as you mention we do not have a lift in our hotel and had we been aware that you had mobility issues, we would have allocated you a room on a lower floor, although it is worth pointing out that our staff would have been more than happy to assist with your luggage had you asked them. In relation to your room, we do agree that the layout needs to be improved and this is something we plan to address in the near future as part of our on-going refurbishment works. Following your stay, we have inspected your room and accept your point about the bed base and will replace it in due course. We must however respectfully disagree with your assertion that the room lacked cleanliness at any level. We apologise if you were affected by street noise and our only wish is that you had alerted our night porter at the time as this is something that given the opportunity, we may have been able to address. Finally, we have noted all of your feedback and will pass any outstanding issues on to our maintenance and housekeeping teams to address and we thank you for bringing them to our attention. Kind Regards, Hotel Staff and Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michi K wrote a review Aug 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was extremely disappointed with the response of staff after I had booked a table online and arrived to find my seat was reserved in the part of the hotel that serves light lunches, sandwiches etc and not hot food. The booking was confirmed online that it was booked for 2 people at 12:15, it didn't stipulate anything about whether I wanted a light lunch or hot food and as I have been going to the City Hotel many many times in the past and always have had hot food. I wrongly 'assumed' the menu would be the same in the whole hotel but was never given an option when I booked online.
This is where it became the worst experience I have ever had, in what is normally good service, a certain member of staff in the front part of the hotel, was extremely uncooperative to every question I asked politely. When I asked if we could have a table in the other part of the hotel for hot food he said 'I think it's fully booked so you won't be able to' (think?) So I asked if he would at least check and he said he would but went back behind the bar and started cleaning dishes piled up on the counter. I asked another girl the same question and explained I'd already asked and she said she would check with her manager, I showed her my booking and that it didn't give an option and we'd like to move to the other restaraunt and she said she'd check. The man came back and said he was afraid there wasn't any availability in the other part so I asked if I could have hot food where we were sitting and he said No. I started to explain that I hadn't been given the option online and he interrupted me and said I don't know anything about our online booking service (not a good admission) Then I asked if he would find out if there were any tables and he said he would. I saw him talking to another man, then he came back to say we may be able to get a table but it would probably be 25-45 mins if we were prepared to wait! Needless to say we just left. Lesson learned, call and book to make sure you get seats where you want. Staff training most definitely needed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Adamson, General Manager at The City Hotel
Responded 13 Aug 2020
Dear 935michik, Thank you for getting in touch with us via tripadvisor. We are obviously very disappointed to hear what you have to say and as good customer care is of the utmost importance to us, we are currently investigating this matter. In relation to booking online, our web-site does request details on whether you wish to book a table in the City Bar or Weavers Restaurant before submitting the booking form and we have also confirmed that there was definitely no availability in Weavers Restaurant on the day of your visit. Given current circumstances, our staff have been under a great deal of pressure adjusting to new working practices and because of the rules relating to numbers and physical distance, we are not always in a position to swap bookings around as we normally would. Finally, we would like to apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and sincerely hope that we can welcome you back to dine with us in the future. Kind Regards, Hotel Staff and Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DollyBirdScotland wrote a review Mar 2020
Scotland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The City is a traditional Scottish hotel - i adore the tartan carpets! - bang in the centre of the town's [city] historic heart, but it doesn't overcharge considering its location and it's a good choice for the price. There are just a few parking spots or you can use the pay and display car park outside which is actually quite reasonable [3.80 all day]. We looked out our window and saw that lovely baronial clock tower.

OK so it's not the Ritz but it doesn't try to be, so yes be aware there are no lifts or power showers but it's cosy, clean, comfortable, has a bar/cafe, restaurant, 24 hour reception and the location is excellent for the theatre, bars and restaurants and a most beautiful city park. Friendly staff, especially breakie and lunch, but I found Dunfermline a very welcoming town anyway. Will stay again when next back for the theatre.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Adamson, General Manager at The City Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Dear DollyBirdScotland, Thank you ever so much for leaving us such a kind review following your recent stay with us at The City Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and that you appreciate what Dunfermline has to offer. We will be sure to let our team know about your feedback and are very much looking forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Hotel Staff and Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorna F wrote a review Mar 2020
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Group of 12 stayed here overnight for a family reunion. Efficient, warm friendly welcome from reception. Corridors and staircase a bit grubby and bags of laundry left sitting on landing the whole time. Room was clean and nicely decorated but paintwork needs freshened up. We had a good night’s sleep in a comfortable bed in a well soundproofed room. The shower had very poor pressure and the spray was sparse- definitely needs some maintenance. Breakfast was very nice.
My main complaint would be the lack of consistency regarding the rules in the residents seating area ie.reserved for residents only and no food or drink to be consumed in this area. Before we left to go out for an evening meal we met in reception for a drink. Only to find, all but two seats being used by non-residents who were having drinks. Adjacent bar was full, so nowhere to sit. When we returned after our meal to socialise, again all seats taken by non residents despite the signs. We managed to find a table in the very noisy bar. Could the hotel not provide a separate residents lounge or at least stick to their own rules displayed on every table in this area?
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Adamson, General Manager at The City Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Dear Lorna F, Thank you for staying with us at The City Hotel and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. We are pleased to hear that our staff offered you a warm welcome and that you found our rooms to be comfortable. We do agree with your comments about the corridors and stairwells and have plans in place to refurbish these areas in the near future. We have also passed details of the water pressure issue to our maintenance team to investigate, although we suspect that an airlock was the main cause of the problem you faced and we apologise for this. Finally, we would also like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by a lack of seating, however the hotel, bar and restaurant were extremely busy on that particular weekend, Thanks again and kind regards, Hotel Staff and Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
victoria B wrote a review Nov 2021
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My room was on the top floor, and there were no lifts, but fortunately the receptionist organised help with my luggage.

The room was spotless, but being on the top floor was warm due to the weather. The window could open and this ensured my comfort - but I would not want to stay on the top floor during very hot weather.

There was a double bed but the mattress had seen better days which meant it was lumpy and not that comfortable. The walls appear to lack insulation and this meant that a tv on low and even snoring in the next room could be heard very clearly, which was annoying.

The towels were good quality and the shower and bathroom were spotless with plenty of hot water.

Breakfast is excellent in the hotel. Waitress served and a good menu with decent coffee. Porridge cooked to order too.

Being in the High Street the hotel is conveniently placed for all the attractions.

There is a small car park at the hotel and I found a space for both nights of my visit. The hotel has a coffee shop and a restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid a top floor room if the weather is warm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
waterfeture wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the City Hotel a couple of years ago I have to say on that visit was not great as room was cold and we were in a noisy room. The difference from that stay to the one we have just had was like night and day! We were in a superior triple. The room was of a very good standard very clean and decorated to an exceptional standard. The room was lovely and warm we thankfully had a car park side room which we had no issues with noise and had a peaceful night sleep even with it being Easter weekend. The staff here are exceptional and food was fantastic and very competitively priced. The mixed grill was sooo nice I had it both nights. Breakfast also was very good one slight criticism I would have was no pastries or quaissant,s as one of us did not eat the cooked breakfast so the continental could have increased choice but everything else was fab. The hotel public areas and bar/ restaurant was really nicely done the restaurant swirl light fitting had me looking for one for my house. Very well designed and thought out. So will I be staying there next time I am down? Most definitely 👍
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keri M wrote a review Aug 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
we have been in the city for food and drinks on several occasions and had no problems, untill last night, we had a table booked for a couple of drink prior to another booking for a meal, my cocktails I ordered were poor, one had very little of the flavours it was supposed to and tasted like something was missing, my husbands bottled beer was not cold, even when we finally got it as it was forgotten. the attitude of the waitress was poor, we seen her being polite and well spoken to other customers around us while she just mumbled to us, my husband also caught her giving us dirty looks from the bar more than once, we also had to go and ask to get our bill despite us being one of few customers left so no excuse for not being aware when a table was finished.

As for our meal, we waited nearly 50 minutes for it to come and witnessed 2 tables that were seated after us get their food (which looked amazing) before us, we didn't order anything extravagant so no reason for it to take so long, when it did arrive the egg on my gammon was dried out and rock hard like it had been sitting under a heat lamp for quite some time (I'm making this assumption as I would expect an establishment like the city would hire a chef that could at least fry an egg properly) the remainder of my meal was mediocre, chips were decent but that was it. My husband ordered steak pie again after having it 7 days prior and saying it was amazing, well.... he got the other end of the spectrum this week... absolutely stinking, it had one chunk of beef, the rest was just shredded crap and full of carrot and bits of fat, I wouldn't have gave it to a stray dog. Needless to say it wasn't eaten (apart from the pastry as it was Ok) and wasn't paid for.

We again also had to go looking for staff to raise our complaint and get the bill, though I will say the young girl that served us was very polite and couldn't be nicer, maybe just needs to be a little more aware of whats going on and when customers are finished, we waited nearly half an hour from finishing to finally getting plates cleared and the bill.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Adamson, General Manager at The City Hotel
Responded 22 Sept 2020
Dear kerim476, We take all complaints very seriously and would like to respond to some of your points individually as your review differs from the facts as we understand them. In relation to your drinks, we received no complaint from yourself at the time and we did in fact serve a large volume of cocktails on this day with no other complaints received whatsoever. We would also like to assure you that all of our cocktails are made with quality ingredients including premium spirits and fresh fruit. With regards to your bottled beer being warm, all our beer is stored in a refrigerated cellar before being transferred to the bar coolers. I therefore do not understand how it could have been warm when it was served to you. Again, there was no complaint from yourself at the time. Your claim that your server was “giving you dirty looks” is in our opinion unjustified and if our server had a serious expression, then perhaps she was just concentrating as she tried her very best to manage a busy bar. We would like to apologise that your steak pie was not up to our usual high standards. You mentioned that you have been in previously and enjoyed it so we are disappointed to learn that on this occasion you were not able to have the same experience. Although you were reimbursed having declined a replacement, we would much rather our customers left feeling entirely satisfied. As you are aware, bar and restaurant staff are working harder than ever to comply with coronavirus legislation and are still adjusting to a new ‘normal’. That is something we must ALL adjust to and all that we ask for is a little patience and understanding. Finally, I would like to assure you of our best intentions at all times and thank you for taking the time to set up a brand new tripadvisor account to allow you to leave us this review. Kind Regards, Hotel Staff and Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jodie279 asked a question Jun 2015
Glenluce, United Kingdom9 contributions7 helpful votes
when does selwo marina close end of season
I G wrote a tip Mar 2024
Aberdeen, United Kingdom233 contributions188 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very noisy!"
Read full review
Quest12384945583 wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not as advertised, front reception is uniformed and mislead the public. Rooms aren't good and neither is the service esp"
Read full review
Matthew K wrote a tip Nov 2023
Wakefield, United Kingdom421 contributions242 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid front facing rooms on Friday and Saturday nights."
Read full review
Mr-J-Berg wrote a tip Oct 2023
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom78 contributions55 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book elsewhere. Use as a last resort."
Read full review
Michael W wrote a tip Sept 2023
Aberdeen, United Kingdom65 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If staying Saturday night ask for a room away from Karaoke as very loud."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dunfermline area.
PRICE RANGE
£75 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeDunfermline
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CITY HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The City Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The City Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pittencrieff Park (0.2 miles), Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum (0.3 miles), and Dunfermline Abbey and Palace (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The City Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The City Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The City Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The City Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include East Port Bar, Dhoom, and Antioch Turkish Restaurant.
Is The City Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Dunfermline.
Are there any historical sites close to The City Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum (0.3 miles), Blackness Castle (5.0 miles), and Dunfermline Abbey and Palace (0.1 miles).
All Dunfermline HotelsDunfermline Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DunfermlineHotels near The City Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire