We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 320: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for the night with my wife as wee had a day at knockhill racetrack, which was absolutly amazing btw. Anyway the staff here where very friendly aswell as helpful, there was one lady with blond hair on the desk who was more than helpful with an elderly couple, who took time to so book them in. Only issue... More 

Helpful?
Thank GARY_STWART
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Only stayed once on my many trips to the area. Had a noisy room that is not well sound proved. Not a great choice for dinner other at the hotel or nearby. Breakfast was poor if I am honest and I would only stay here as a last resort.

Helpful?
Thank Azbat-1
Billy M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. We have a new dinner menu launching this month, and have recently started a refurbishment of all bedrooms within the hotel. We are also very excited about some upcoming changes to our breakfast menu. We... More 

Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Holiday Inn express is a great place to stay and this has been our third time staying here. It is central to Edinburgh, Stirling ,Perth and a short drive to Glasgow. We decided to stay here again for a short break as we were always made welcome and its a clean friendly and welcoming environment. Booking in is always... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline K
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

A great weekend stay staff were very good Hotel and room was clean and well presented. Had two very relaxing evenings in the lounge with the family. Thanks to all at the Hotel. Breakfast was also very good. Only one small point it was maybe just me but there was only one set of tongs that looked to be for... More 

Helpful?
Thank waterfeture
Billy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear you had enjoyed the stay. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. More 

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one night on the journey back from holiday. It was typical of the others in this chain. We had a twin room with a desk, TV, free WiFi, tea and coffee making facilities. The beds were very comfortable. The on suite was clean and bright with nice large towels, hand wash and shower gel. We ate in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
Billy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only problem we had was that at first we were given a room on the bottom floor (room 14) and when we stepped into the room, a strong smell of cigarette smoke hit us. The smell was not nice and as I'm pregnant I smelt the smell a lot... More 

Helpful?
Thank ashleighc123
Conisbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Really like this place, very relaxed easy to find and no stress with parking the car. Rooms were very clean and modern with a lovely comfortable bed. Great bar area with TV to catch up on the news and football with great service. The only thing going against this place is the food choice with only a limited bar menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin N
Billy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review

Dear Martin N, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay. Thank you for your feedback regarding our bar and breakfast menus, we are currently in the process of reviewing our evening menu and hope to have an updated version launched soon. We look forward to... More 

Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My wife and I were on a trip throughout Scotland and stayed our first night here after flying into Edinburgh. We arrived at the hotel around 10:00 that morning. The staff allowed us to check into our room right away as they could tell we were tired and need a nap after an overnight flight. They even mentioned that breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobbieDucati
Billy M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We were only too pleased to help you settle in after a long journey. Our inclusive Express Breakfast provides something for everyone to start the day off well. We provide a choice of twin rooms with single beds or a double bed with an additional sofa bed all at the same cost. We hope... More 

Wookey, Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Arrived late on a Friday due to poor weather conditions,however staff were very friendly and welcoming. Room was very quiet and clean which was very good. The only down side was the lack of plug sockets in the room. Breakfast would have been ok had it not for the 2 coach loads which decided to arrive for breakfast at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Billy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff both welcoming and friendly. Our inclusive breakfast is always popular, and is served for 4.5 hours each day, giving guests an opportunity to avoid the peak times if they prefer. We look forward to... More 

Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016

we had a one night stay overall experience very good rooms very nice and clean ,only criticism was although the staff very friendly and welcoming and helpful ,their only seemed too be one person to deal with bar service and reception which led to waiting quite a while for service this may have just been a one off i thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
Billy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. Please accept my apologies for the wait you had at the bar, we always have a minimum of 2 staff available and on this occasion it would appear that our Duty Manager would have been away from the desk assisting a fellow guest. I am pleased you enjoyed your... More 

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
417 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dunfermline Crossford Keavil House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
2.5 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#4 of 12 in Dunfermline
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Budget hotels in Dunfermline don't come any better than the award winning Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline

Address: Halbeath Road, Dunfermline KY11 8JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Price Range: £45 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline Hotel Dunfermline
Holiday Inn Dunfermline
Dunfermline Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline Fife
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 225jacquelinek, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“lots of traffic noise at night so close your window if on a road side room”
 of 5 bubbles rachelmZ2945KM, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 556ChrisB, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quiet room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles Istate75, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles kalql8, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay