We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel

Leslie Road Leslie Road, Glenrothes KY6 3EP Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 9 hotels in Glenrothes
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English
379Reviews9Q+A55Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 162
  • 142
  • 57
  • 13
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
TWSS601 wrote a review 20 Feb
Ashford, United Kingdom53 contributions26 helpful votes
Reasonably priced, comfortable and clean, everything you would need for a trouble free stopover or longer stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The free breakfast menu included hot food. Just next door there is a welcoming inn for other meals and drinks. Would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Glenrothes, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear TWSS601, Thanks for the great review and we hope to welcome you back soon Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mike S wrote a review Jan 2024
Ashford, United Kingdom75 contributions25 helpful votes
Well-placed for us between Edinburgh Airport and St Andrews, small and quiet. The king-size bed was noticeably bigger than any we've seen. Having the Filketty Fox pub next door for evening meals is great. Staff were friendly and very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Access to the car park is left off the Leslie Road, past what looks like a private housing estate.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Glenrothes, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi mikeR31FN Thanks for the great review and we hope to welcome you back soon Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brian C wrote a review Jan 2024
Glasgow8 contributions6 helpful votes
The rooms are ok. The beds are passable, nothing like a Premier Inn. The breakfast promises much but is sparse, comes out in dribs & drabs from the kitchen. Eggs are powdered, beans you could drink with a straw. You get the idea. Four of us came down and had to wait due to couples taking up the family tables. They really need to sort that out.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Brian C, We appreciate you for choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes for this trip and for sharing your feedback. We appreciate you choosing us and doing business with IHG Hotels and Resorts. We aim to give our guests an efficient stay in a place that feels fresh and focused only on the features and services you need; I am sorry we did not deliver this time. I shared your sentiments with our hotel management and trust that proper actions will be taken to avoid this from happening again. Until your next stop in the area, we look forward to hosting you again to redeem your confidence. Sincerely, Grace L. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mwilliams851 wrote a review Jan 2024
Penmaenmawr, United Kingdom27 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed here while visiting family in the area between Xmas and New Year. Hotel was clean and the staff on duty at the time were very helpful and pleasant. The room was spacious and the bed was huge, but not the comfiest. If you sit up on the bed with your back to the wall tonwatch TV, the bed rolls forwards. Breakfast was a buffet but not the best. The quality of the ingredients was poor on the cooked offerings. We skipped Breakfast the second day and had our breakfast at Morrisons down the road.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Plenty of parking on site with a pub for evening meals right next-door
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Glenrothes, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Hi mwilliams851 Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us ,Its great to see overall you had a good stay and we will look into your comments regarding the complementary breakfast we offer. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mada S wrote a review Nov 2021
11 contributions8 helpful votes
good customer service. nice staff. beds not very comfortable, tasty breakfast included in the price of the stay. clean rooms covers are changed fresh daily. close to the center. only positives👍👍👍👍👍
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Glenrothes, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Nov 2021
Dear 195madas Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and its great to see overall you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Martin W wrote a review Sept 2021
12 contributions1 helpful vote
It was bad enough having our two night stay in October cancelled but the email was sent to a third party at our old email not the one the one used for booking confirmation.( so much for data protection ).Seems the Hotel have got a three month government contract and loyal customers of I.H.G. just get discarded with no alternate venue sourced for us and I.H.G. themselves have just ignored our email.Great customer service! Would be very wary of using this Hotel chain again after over 20 years of patronage.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Glenrothes, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel
Responded 23 Feb 2022
Hi martinS6777MO, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience,We will look into the issues you have raised. Regards Dan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
p_lloyd1 wrote a review Aug 2021
Hastings, United Kingdom13 contributions8 helpful votes
The best thing about this place is the staff, (especially Igor, who is a credit to the hotel). When we got to the room it had no soap in either of the dispensers. There was a lot of dust, particularly in the bathroom. (not sure it had been cleaned). The pillows were rock hard, which we asked to be changed. If they were, we couldn't tell the difference. Breakfast was included in the price, which was a bonus. However the bacon had the same consistency as my leather belt. Hot drinks and fruit juices were available all day at no extra cost, which was very welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Glenrothes, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,I will pass on your kind words to Igor and will look into the other issues you have raised. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nicola wrote a review Jul 2021
Banchory, United Kingdom21 contributions33 helpful votes
5/5 Checked in this afternoon and I was greeted by a lovely lady called Lee. Lee was polite friendly and helpful. She went out of her way to make me feel welcome. Holiday Inn Glenrothes ticks all the boxes for me when staying away for work. My main delighted I how Lee welcomed me and spoke to me when I passed by reception. Lee you are a credit to the Holiday Inn and I am most greatly for how you interacted with me. Thank you very much.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The hotel Is very busy this week as is the restaurant next door. Book In advance so your not...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Glenrothes, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Dear Guest Many thanks for the great review and i will pass on your kind words to Lee , Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
A S wrote a review Jul 2021
Aberdeen, United Kingdom238 contributions131 helpful votes
We had seen an advert for a Scarecrow Trail and a Scavenger Hunt in Elie, and always looking for something different to do, decided to go down for these. We had enough points for a couple of rewards nights with IHG properties, so chose to take advantage if this to book this hotel. We are platinum members, and this was acknowledged at check in and we were offered our welcome amenity. Our special requests (quiet room and additional pillows) were not mentioned. Our room was quiet but there were no additional pillows. The lady checking us in was very 'door' and never raised a smile during the entire check in process. She appeared to be concentrating very hard on working the computers (I suspect lack of confidence was at play here). The room was quiet, and pretty much clean - there were a some finger marks on the light at the desk. The shower curtain could have done with being an inch longer, as when you are in the shower, if you so much as breath on it, the bottom flips out and hangs outside of the shower tray. This room is not geared up for females - the only mirror with a socket near it has nowhere to lay straightners down, or if doing make up, you need to either stand or sit on the floor. The bed was not comfortable - it sank in the middle, so my hubby and I had much cosier nights than were anticipated. I didn't check, but assume that it was a 'zip n link'. If this is the case, the matresses really need to be replaced. The bed is on wheels, and if you it up and lean against the headboard/wall to read/watch TV - the bed moves away from the wall. At breakfast, there was no sign telling you what the plan was, and there appeared to be only one, very harrassed lady working. We took a seat at a table and helped ourselves to orange juice & coffee. Husband went and made toast, but was unable to find plates to put it on, so we had buttered toast on napins at the table. Other people came in after us and were served by this lady, and got their cooked breakfast. When she eventually came to us, we were told that there was a 10 minute wait whilst they cooked more food. I abstained, but hubby took a fully cooked breakfast. When it arrived, I was so glad that I had swerved it....everything was just thrown on the plate in a pile - not very appetising, and the bacon jus looked horrific. Hubby, who has the constitution of an ox, managed to eat this, but didn't take it on our second morning. When we left, the plates had still not been replenished and all the mugs had been used so people were taking hot drinks in paper cups. The good points about this hotel are it's location - it is a great location to be based in for exploring East Fife. It has a free car park, and it has unlimited, free hot drinks, juice and water from dispensers in the lounge area. The rooms are what you would expect from a budget hotel. The not so good bits were really the staff - from the unsmiling and unwelcoming receptionist to the harassed & disorganised lady serving at breakfast. This really shone the place in a bad light. The bed was another negative. Would I go back again? Not sure - staff change over time, so might give the place the benefit of the doubt for another visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Glenrothes, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,I will look into the points you have raised and we like to ensure all our guests have a great stay and experience True hospitality so hope to welcome you back. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
pompeytoffee22 wrote a review Jun 2021
Gosport, United Kingdom725 contributions252 helpful votes
+1
Reason of stay: Family funeral After a long journey from the south coast we arrived, check in was easy even though I was given the details of another family members checkin form. Room was ok not great dead insects on the window ledge, cobwebs hanging over the bed shower unit dirty looking with a rusty soap and shower tray. Walls are paper thin and after being disturbed by the inconsiderate guests in the next room with their shouting and slamming doors and complaint twice to reception and nothing being done about it. We managed to get a late check out which was handy so at least family had somewhere to go before the funeral as you’re not allowed to use the hotel toilet in reception because of covid regulations. Another member of family had a double inter connecting room and had no hot water. Breakfast was just ok not great and I’m sure other hotels in the area are better and cleaner than this one. I was hoping for a fairly decent nights sleep after an 8 hours drive and failed to get that.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 Jul 2021
Hi pompeytoffee22, I am glad you left feedback. I appreciate you choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes! We always wanted our guests to have a delightful stay, no matter what the purpose of the travel is. I am sorry to learn about the issues encountered during your recent stay with us, particularly with cleanliness, noise, and the lack of hot water. IHG Hotels & Resorts sincerely cares about your experience, and I appreciate your taking the time to let us know. I have shared your comments with hotel management, who responded with genuine concern for the impact this had on your stay. I know they appreciate you sharing your experience and am confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again. We look forward to hosting you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience. Cheers, June A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glenrothes area.
PRICE RANGE
£55 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express hotel glenrothes, holiday inn express glenrothes, holiday inn glenrothes, glenrothes holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeGlenrothes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS GLENROTHES, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cluny Activities (3.3 miles), Falkland Palace & Garden (3.5 miles), and Elite Falconry (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Kettlebridge Inn, Bar & Italian Restaurant, Home Farm View - Pub & Grill, and Bridge Cafe.
Is Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Glenrothes.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Markinch and Thornton Parish Church (2.2 miles), Scotlandwell Wash House and Well (4.8 miles), and Balbirnie Stone Circle (1.6 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.