We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dukeside Lodge

Save
Share
St Andrews KY16 8NS Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#39 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Dukeside Lodge is a luxurious 4 * Guest House nestled in the beautiful countryside of Balone. Situated within a mile of the famous Duke’s Golf Course, and just 1.9 miles from St Andrews, Dukeside Lodge provides a tranquil setting to relax and unwind. You will be greeted upon arrival with a warm Scottish welcome by our resident house manager, who will be on hand for the duration of your stay.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
45Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
GolfEvents wrote a review Feb 2021
Germany16 contributions7 helpful votes
We fully prepaid a booking for 2 rooms, 2 nights, in early 2020. Unfortunately the booking had to be cancelled due to COVID-19 travel restrictions. So far, no reimbursement .Calls are not returned and correspondences ignored. We cannot recommend to work with this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
john h wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
From the time we arrived until we left 4 days later we had nothing but praise for the accommadation and,the staff that run it. The room "Loch Lomond" was very clean as was the whole property. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Meyer,who runs the B and B with her husband Stuart ,was brilliant. We shall stay here again next year and looking forward to it already!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ample parking, Loch Lomond room very large.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Alex wrote a review Sep 2020
Burnley, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed here with my girlfriend overnight as an anniversary surprise, and was left feeling a little underwhelmed by our stay. Beautiful house, cute little room, and a lovely area, but a few details were lacking. Firstly, the service by the staff/ owners. While they seemed to be attentive and friendly on arrival, in the morning for breakfast we felt a little bit alienated and ignored by them, and they were nowhere to be seen when we checked out. I know it’s only a little thing, but it would have been nice to get a goodbye and a “how was your stay” type departure. Instead, we came downstairs to an empty house. Overall, we didn’t really feel like we were welcome for the entirety of our stay. As for the breakfast itself. Again, nothing special. Very basic unappealing cooked breakfast with cold toast. Finally, the room. It did have a very cute sort of style, and I liked the decor. The mini fridge was a great addition to the room, and the shower (albeit quite confusing to figure out) was very good. However, the bed wasn’t very comfortable and both me and my girlfriend woke up with aching backs, from an uncomfortable nights sleep. Overall, I personally wouldn’t rush to come back to the house as we both felt rather underwhelmed by our visit. If the staff were more welcoming and made us feel more at home, then we would have left a higher rating.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Mackenzie, General Manager at Dukeside Lodge
Responded 13 Sep 2020
Good afternoon Alex, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Dukeside Lodge. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us we would like to offer our sincerest apology. All of our rooms are equipped with memory foam mattresses which can be a little bit firm if you're not used to them. Due to current events concerning COVID-19, we are trying to keep our guests as well as the staff safe. This is the reason why we have had to implement new methods as far as breakfast is served in our establishment. We did not mean to make you feel alienated or ignored. We are trying to conform as much as we can with government regulations as well as trying to remain as welcoming as we can. If you had issues regarding your breakfast this should've been raised so we could've rectified it. We will however pass on your comments to management. Our aim in our guesthouse is to make everyone feel at home, we try to accommodate as much as we can the needs of our guests. We are sorry you felt like we weren't attentive enough. We always try to be present while our guests are leaving to make sure they had a lovely stay, however, this might not always be the case since we have been fully booked the last few months. We are so sad to hear about your stay with us. We do hope in the future if you were to decide to come back that we could improve on the quality of your stay. Thank you again for taking the time to review our family-owned business. We wish you all the best and safe out there. Regards, Maya Mackenzie
Read more
Nicola W wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions
Excellent accommodation in quiet location. So clean & sparkly rooms & whole property. Very well maintain. Great hosts. Easy free parking. Near to St Andrews. Peaceful & quiet rooms. Fantastic breakfast & great choices.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Holidaymaker30 wrote a review Aug 2020
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom36 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
From the minute we were welcomed through the front door, we knew we would like it here, immaculately clean throughout with 2nd to none covid measures. Extremely comfortable beds, great choice at breakfast and all cooked to perfection with not a trace of grease in sight. Nothing is too much trouble for the management and their team. A short taxi ride into St Andrews at approx £7, it’s worth it. The rooms are spacious and towels changed daily. We would definitely return here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeSt Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dukeside Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Dukeside Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Kartel Scotland (1.8 miles), St Andrews Links (1.7 miles), and The Swilcan Bridge (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Dukeside Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Dukeside Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Dukeside Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dukeside Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grange Inn, Haar Restaurant, and The Räv.
Are there any historical sites close to Dukeside Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Andrews Links (1.7 miles), St Andrews Cathedral (2.1 miles), and Martyrs' Monument (1.8 miles).
Is Dukeside Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.