We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rufflets Hotel

Traveller (367)
360
Panoramas (15)
Dining (78)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
1,440Reviews
550Photos
9Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,096
  • 245
  • 72
  • 17
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We are just home from Ruffletts after having afternoon tea and found everything excellent, ie food and surroundings. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel. Was nice to be given the cakes we had not eaten given to us in a nice box.
Read more
Response from StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Afternoon Tea with us, and thank you for the recommendation. Our Afternoon Teas are very popular - from the Traditional one, to ones with champagne, as well as our Gluten Free option. I hope that the cakes that you took away were equally enjoyed. With my best regards Stephen Owen General Manager
Read more
I booked rufflets as a celebration. We were not disappointed. I had ordered prosecco and chocolates for arrival. Very nice. Staff were very welcoming. Food was delicious, staff were so helpful. Rooms very tastefully decorated. Great night sleep
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Many thanks for the kind feedback - we were pleased that we were able in a small way to make the special occasion memorable for the right reasons. Hope that you will come back and see us again - it doesnt have to be for notable celebrations. With my best wishes, Stephen Owen General Manager
Read more
I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The early check in was very much appreciated. The food was wonderful. The room was spacious and very clean. Look forward to another visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Many thanks for the recommendation - and as you will expect we were all pleased to see how much you enjoyed the stay with us at Rufflets. Do keep an eye on our website, or perhaps sign-up to receive our newsletters as we often send out special offers to our contacts. With my best regards, Stephen Owen General Manager
Read more
No, it was not a birthday celebration; just another return visit to this excellent hotel. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. The food is superb; every plate a picture - quality, not quantity! We look forward to another return visit later in the year.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Good to see that the return was as good as the previous visits - we do work hard to keep the standards high - all with friendly and warm service. Look forward to seeing you again soon. With my best regards Stephen Owen General Manager
Read more
We have previously stayed at Rufflets and always enjoyed the experience. Since our last visit the hotel (dining room & bar) has been refurbished and redecorated to a very high standard. Once again we had a thoroughly good experience with a lovely room (shower no bath -my wife
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Pleased to read that for the most part the stay for the special occasion was a very good one, but I will discuss with the team the points raised. The feedback is very important to us, as it does help us improve what we do. The next time you come and stay, do speak to the Res Team regards the room allocation. We do have 3 rooms that have good walk-in showers only - the others all have showers and great bath-tubs. Hope to be able to welcome you back soon. With my best regards, Stephen Owen General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Room 14
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRufflets Hotel
The Suite at the Rufflets Country House Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRufflets Hotel
The Classic Twin Room at the Rufflets Country House Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRufflets Hotel
The Classic Double Room at the Rufflets Country House Hotel
Photo provided by managementRufflets Hotel
Turret Room Window
PreviousNext
12345641
Hi I was talking about the bar menu not the food menu
0 votes
Show all answers
Thanks for the message. If you email our reservations team to say you are interested in the Open 2021 week. We will be finalising prices in the next week and once done will be able to quote.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi David I am afraid that dogs aren’t allowed into any area of the main house. We do have 4 rooms in external buildings that we allow dogs into. Regards Stephen
1 vote
Dear Judith, Thank you for the message - and sorry if the descriptors are not clear, we will loom at this. All of our rooms have showers, although some do not have bath as well. If you give us a call on 01334 472594, or email our reservations team, we can discuss this in more detail. We do have decent availability for the 28th, but less for the 29th (not sure if you are looking for both nights). Regards Stephen
1 vote
do you have spa facilities?
Sorry no we don't but out guests can use the spa at Fairmont by prior arrangement.
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"The bath in our standard room was on the small side, garden view rooms are the best."
"Would expect the rooms to have a high standard as did the main hotel areas"
"Best view is over the gardens at the back, which is also quieter. Rooms to the front face over the drive and ar ecloser to the main road."
"Be sure you ask the size of bed."
"Ask for a room that overlooks the garden!"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$141 - US$450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rufflets country house hotel st. andrewsrufflets country hotelrufflets country st andrews
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rufflets Country House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandSt Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing