We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 Playfair Terrace North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9HX Scotland
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$144
Priceline
eDreamsUS$145
Agoda.comUS$144
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (70)
360
Panoramas (14)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#9 of 18 hotels in St. Andrews
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch
715Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 322
  • 261
  • 99
  • 21
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
eyeHateSand wrote a review 22 Oct
Preston, United Kingdom94 contributions24 helpful votes
What an impressive place. We have eaten here before. Enjoyed it. Tonight was outstanding. Each course was perfectly formed and left you wanting to lick the plate. We were staying guests this time but there were just as many patrons coming through the outside door as diners only as there were staying guests. Absolutely first class food.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Playfair Hotels, Owner at Ardgowan Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hello eyeHateSand, Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review for us, and we're so glad that you had a fantastic meal in Playfair's Restaurant while you were staying with us in the hotel. Our chefs and restaurant team have been working hard this past year to overcome quite a few set-backs but we're glad to know that you found everything to be first class. We hope you can come stay (and dine) with us again, and next time we won't judge you if you decide to lick your plate! Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe Hotel Manager
Read more
Hazel H wrote a review 18 Oct
Dundee, United Kingdom86 contributions47 helpful votes
We stayed here for 1 night. We were in Room 9 which was very dark and quite small. The height of the ceiling and dark carpet made the room feel smaller and enclosed. Room was very warm. Two very small windows didn’t help to brighten the room. One window looks out on to the extractor duct from the restaurant which is noisy. I asked reception when this would be turned off and they confirmed it would be 10pm. What they failed to say was it started again at 6am! Needless to say the noise from that woke us up. Not quite the long lie we had hoped for on our holiday. You should advise guests of noise from extractor fan before booking. The bed was two singles joined together and you could feel and see the join in the middle. Breakfast was average - fatty bacon, poached eggs that were overdone as no runny yolks in any of ours and potato scone that was rock hard. Positives - hotel in a good central location.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Playfair Hotels, Owner at Ardgowan Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hello lunchwithdad, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us, though I'm sorry to read that you were not completely happy with your stay. I've passed your feedback along to each individual department in the hopes that we can improve our service for future guests. I do hope that you took full advantage of our amazing location in St Andrews and were able to explore everything in our town while you were here. We hope that you can come stay with us again sometime in the future. Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe Hotel Manager
Read more
Alan C wrote a review 9 Oct
Clydebank, United Kingdom599 contributions140 helpful votes
We stayed at the Ardgowan hotel whilst in St Andrews for golf. The reception staff were friendly and helpful during the check in process. The room was one of the smallest rooms I’ve ever stayed in and the bathroom was equally small. The bed was comfortable and the room did have enough sockets and charging points The cooked breakfast was very small and disappointing. It was more like a snack breakfast. My ten year old grandson eats more. We were in a hurry for golf or would’ve given feedback at the time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Playfair Hotels, Owner at Ardgowan Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello BigTravellerAJC66, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We're glad to see that you enjoyed many of the aspects of your stay and that our staff really impressed you while you were here. We have varying room types throughout the hotel to suit most guests' needs, ranging from our smaller Junior Double or Twin Rooms to our standard size Classic King or Twin Rooms to our largest Deluxe King or Triple Rooms. I'm sorry to hear that the room you booked was not the size that you would have preferred. We do have photos and room sizes listed online to help guests make the best decision possible for their stay. I'm also sorry to hear that you were disappointed with breakfast, as this is not something we normally hear. At the moment, guests are pre-ordering breakfast from the kitchen, so you have a choice between a full-cooked breakfast, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon or continental options, as well as coffee/tea, toast, cereal, porridge etc. I'm not sure what you ordered for breakfast when you were with us so I am unable to comment on what you received but any of our staff would have welcomed your feedback at the time. We hope you enjoyed your golf in St Andrews while you were here and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again at a later date. Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe Hotel Manager
Read more
MegI1994 wrote a review Sep 2021
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom4 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed here recently for a family golf trip. From check in to check out the hotel staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was a bother - including posting a forgotten belonging after I was home. All 3 rooms were immaculate, I was in a single room which was a perfect size for 1 person. We also ate in the hotels restaurant - food and service were amazing, would highly recommend. Would definitely visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Playfair Hotels, Owner at Ardgowan Hotel
Responded 2 Sep 2021
Hello MegI1994, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! We're so glad that you and your family had a wonderful time with in St Andrews for your golfing trip! As a family-run business, it's always a pleasure being able to welcome families into the hotel and we're so thankful for your kind comments about your stay with us. We hope we can welcome you all back again soon! Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe Hotel Manager
Read more
oneillelizabeth wrote a review Aug 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom1 contribution
Breakfast lovely although tables uncomfortably close. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Room was nice although bed not particularly comfortable. Hotel well placed for all amenities. All in all had a very pleasant stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Playfair Hotels, Owner at Ardgowan Hotel
Responded 2 Sep 2021
Hello oneillelizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review for us. We're glad to hear that you experienced great service from our reception team and that you enjoyed our perfect location in St Andrews. I'm surprised to hear your comments on the comfort level of our beds, as they are pillow-top Hypnos mattresses and we always get rave reviews about them! I will certainly pass along your comments on the breakfast tables to our restaurant team and I'm sorry that you felt uncomfortable during breakfast. We hope you had a lovely time in St Andrews and hope we can welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$141 - US$240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ardgowan hotel st andrews
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeSt. Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ardgowan Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ardgowan Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kartel Scotland (0.3 miles), The Swilcan Bridge (0.2 miles), and St Andrews West Sands Beach (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ardgowan Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Ardgowan Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Ardgowan Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Haar Restaurant, The Seafood Ristorante, and Vine Leaf Restaurant.
Is Ardgowan Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of St. Andrews.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ardgowan Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ardgowan Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Ardgowan Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Andrews Links (0.8 miles), St Andrews Cathedral (0.6 miles), and Martyrs' Monument (0.3 miles).