Moxy Glasgow Merchant City
Message from Tripadvisor:Temporarily closed
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Moxy Glasgow Merchant City

Traveller (224)
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#62 of 104 hotels in Glasgow
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Contemporary design hotel featuring well-appointed chic bedrooms. The stylish, spacious lobby with free Wifi is the place to meet, greet and retreat.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

210 High Street, Glasgow G4 0QW Scotland
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles336 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Moxy Glasgow Merchant City is celebrated for its pristine cleanliness and comfortable accommodations, featuring modern amenities and a well-stocked bar that contribute to its funky atmosphere. While the rooms earn praise for their comfort and cleanliness, guests note they can be tight in space and sometimes lack adequate temperature control. Travelers enjoy the proximity to local attractions, though some have mentioned noise as a downside. Opinions on service and value vary, with compliments on the staff's friendliness juxtaposed against critiques of service speed and room comfort issues.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Hip
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
336Reviews20Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 135
  • 104
  • 47
  • 27
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
AnnaScotland wrote a review Jan 2020
Scotland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this hotel for its proximity to Strathclyde University and were very pleased we did. Arriving early it was a bonus to have access right away to our room. Lighting was good, beds were extremely comfortable, sufficient hanging space for a short stay. Bathroom was very small but plenty shelf space for toiletries and a very efficient shower and 2 very large and 2 smaller towels for 2 people. We knew to ask for more/different pillows if we wanted them but what we had was fine. Our room at the back was both quiet and dark so we got a good sleep. Breakfast had plenty of choice if you looked around, cereals, yoghurts, croissants,bread for toast, fruit, hard boiled eggs and omelettes....more than plenty for everyone. While there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room there was an area behind the bar to help yourself. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, only slight drawback was location. It is a 15minute walk to George Square/Buchanan Street etc but only a £5 taxi ride back if your legs and feet are too sore. Great place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GLAOX, Manager at Moxy Glasgow Merchant City
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Hey AnnaScotland, So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back soon :) Peace & love Chloe
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John M wrote a review Mar 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff were friendly enough, however no one offered us our complimentary drink on checkin. I had to return to ask for this when I realised it was part of our rate. I also requested an extra pillow as we only had one each and I’m too wide to sleep comfortably without two. Reception informed me they had run out of pillows... and cushions (despite being surrounded by chairs with cushions). We didn’t bother with breakfast as the selection was limited and the cafes nearby offered better quality food. I was however impressed with their no waste policy when we were offered breakfast pastries later in the day- more businesses should adopt this approach. Overall it was ok, I would prefer a comfortable sleep to a hipster friendly decor or a lively theme to th hotel though. Management also need to enforce a designated smoking area as we had to fight our way through a cloud of smoke whenever we entered the front door.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Bring a pillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GLAOX, Manager at Moxy Glasgow Merchant City
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Hey JXjohnm, I am glad you found our staff friendly, my sincere apologies that you were not offered your complimentary drink on check in I will look into this During busy period in the hotel, we unfortunately do not have enough extra pillows for everyone. By Marriott standards we offer two pillows per room. The smoking comments have been taken onboard and we will look into that. Peace & love Chloe
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Samantha Jane Donald wrote a review Feb 2020
Stewarton, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked this last minute for our date night in Glasgow. Room was very small but comfortable, offered late check out for £10 per hour (booked to leave for 5pm so £50) we came back after our date night and was looking to purchase a bottle of wine for our room to be told no. Was a little bit annoyed as we intended to enjoy the rest of our evening. Plus side is great location bff or merchant city decent price but I personally work to hurry back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gerry v wrote a review Jan 2020
Dundee, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Where to start, first of all it should be called " near to merchant city" because it's a bit further out than the title suggests they have a security staff on a friday night just wonder why this was needed, check in was efficient and quick but lack of details of hotel layout etc., and I can't understand why they need a £10 deposit.

The room was big enough but minimal if your staying more than a couple of nights then I'd have issues, theres little hanging space 2 coat hooks and 4 hangers on a small rail fixed to the wall, no other storage area that's why they don't have any extra pillows in the rooms, I was working late and by the time I noticed how bad the pillows were I was dressed for bed and i wasn't going to change again to make a trip to the reception. The mattress was just awful it's a budget memory foam mattress and is designed for functionality now comfort, if there is 2 people in the bed you will fell it when the other person moves just a poor nights sleep.

The bathroom is small the shower is probably about a third of the room size, the shower was hot enough but not very powerful.

Although it's a modern hotel and nice decor the lack of amenities the poor bed quality and no way to control the temperature in your room make the moxy the basic of basic hotels, it's well worth spending a little more and get a better hotel closer to city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GLAOX, Manager at Moxy Glasgow Merchant City
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Hey Gerryvdb, Our hotel is based in merchant city. The £10.00 deposit is for incidentals such as food or drinks being charged back to your room. If you wish to have a bigger room you could always book one of our family rooms next time which has a living area. Our crew is here 24 hours a day so you can always call down to the desk and they can bring pillows to the room for you. Peace & love. Chloe
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scottish Food Review wrote a review May 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
You can be too cool for your own good. Sometimes someone, something or somewhere is so achingly trendy that they end up being mildly annoying or intimidating. In hotel-land being too cool is almost as dangerous as pretentiousness as a means of putting off customers. Who wants to stay in a hotel where you look around you and worry whether you belong there or not. It doesn’t make for a relaxing stay.
Moxy is going for the uber trendy, but luckily it doesn’t go too far. It has a relaxed vibe, but everything is polished enough to ensure you don’t feel that you’re staying in a youth hostel, because the prices definitely don’t feel like that. Watt you have is a modern take on a boutique hotel. Modern and retro influences mean that thirty and forty somethings are immersed in nostalgia, whilst still provided with the necessities of flat screen TV, free WiFi and quality soap.
Moxy Glasgow is well located, one stop from Queen Street Low Level gets you to High Street which is literally next door, or it’s a simple walk through the Merchant City to get to the shops, or you could stay for the bars and restaurants.
The room was quiet, the bed comfortable and everything was clean and in good repair. The service was slick and professional, but friendly and welcoming. All of the other functions ran with the efficiency you’d expect from the big Marriott brand who own the Moxy brand.
Glasgow is not short of places to rest your head if you’re up visiting, but the Moxy nicely fills a niche you never knew existed. It’s not budget, it’s not luxury, it’s not too flash and it’s not shabby. It’s just cool. But not too cool…
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duncan C wrote a review Oct 2021
Muir of Ord, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Watch for hidden prices with this hotel. There is no doubt that this hotel is exactly what it says on the tin. But when you add in the additional fixed £20 for food (we didn’t eat) and £56 for two nights parking as the hotel only has a deal with one NCP and not the owner 300 yards away. It becomes a very expensive night in an average hotel.
The rooms are small but comfy and the bathrooms are built for a single person at a push. The bar staff obviously cant be bothered, but when served, food and drink is good. Bit soleless to be honest
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Watch out for food and parking charges
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
veqan wrote a review Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I love Moxy hotels - they are always such a great stay for a great price. The lobby smells so wonderful and the rooms are simple, modern and small - just right for 1 or 2 people to stay comfortably. I would recommend this hotel for solo travel or travel with friends.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vilma L, Guest Services / Front Office at Moxy Glasgow Merchant City
Responded 15 Sept 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you had a great experience. Providing first class hospitality service is our number one priority and I am so glad that we were able to meet your expectations. I hope you choose to stay with us again when you're in the area. Kind regards Moxy Crew Leader
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wddeni wrote a review Apr 2022
Majorca, Spain
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in was quick and pleasant, strange set up of reception at end of bar but it works!
Room given on 3rd floor directly outside lift, my own fault for not requesting a room away from lift area as not a great sleeper at best of times, back to reception who changed room without any fuss.
Room spotless and comfortable, I kept all my bits in overnight case but if staying for more than one night storage drawers/ boxes that would blend with quirkiness are lacking.
I personally loved the different lighting especially the under bed sensor light.
Hairdryer provided
Shampoo/ Body Wash & Conditioner
Nice thick towels too - bathroom was tiny, for me it didn’t matter but anyone with a fear of small spaces I’d check if there are any rooms with bigger bathroom.
Kettle
Tea , Coffee, sugar sachets
Yes as mentioned before it’s paper cups, no big deal and I’m sure if you really wanted a proper cup the bar area would provide one.
I asked for couple glasses of ice and this was given without question in an actual glass.
Only downside for me was no mini fridge - bought some juice and kept on windowsill with window open but not ideal as it’s pretty central and as you can imagine an open window on a busy through-equals a toss & turn night.
I booked in for breakfast so hoping if like the rest of the hotel it will be of a really good standard ( I’m writing this rather early as I’m awake ) if you have booked then enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking at rear of hotel few minutes walk, cost reduced by hotel if you take your ticket to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura B wrote a review Sept 2021
Oxford, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is ok for one or two nights. Comfy beds, very nice television, bathroom is minuscule but functional.
The staff is very friendly.

Booking.com states that there is parking, but actually you have to park in the nearby multistorey and pay (with a discount you can het through reception). That's a bit cheeky, because we were travelling by car and didn't know Glasgow at all. If I had known there wasn't actually parking at the hotel (as advertised) I would have booked somewhere else.

Now though, what's with the light under the bed? It's a nightmare! I think the idea is that it turns on when you go to the loo. The problem is that it must work on a weight sensor, so it turns on even when you're turning in bed. So you're turning because you are trying to get to sleep and then you get this 90s club effect that makes sleeping even harder. We had to try to stay immobile to hope for a bit of rest. What's wrong with the bed side lights? Also the room is so small that at least half of the customers must be able to find the loo in the dark.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
philiplk wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here during my recent trip to Glasgow. Location is good, about 10 mins walk from the city centre e,g buchanan bus station, glasgow central train station etc..
My room was quite small but it has everything i require, The bathroom has a small shower. Buffet breakfast was good with a selection of hot items (sausage bacon and eggs), cereal, pastries etc..
My room was at the back of the building and it was quiet. However, I was woken up at 2 am on the first night by loud thumping foot steps from the floor above, otherwise I didn't hear other noises.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from steve m
Southport, United Kingdom588 contributions284 helpful votes
Not Sure!
Salim Said asked a question Jul 2022
Muscat, Oman6 contributions
Is there a service for picking up from the airport?
Answer from wddeni
Majorca, Spain20 contributions2 helpful votes
I’m sorry that I wouldn’t know , why not contact the hotel for this info ☀️
Answer from wddeni
Majorca, Spain20 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi Niall - I did not come across the Manager, The service we experienced from the staff was excellent, plus the hotel was spotlessly clean, this must reflect on how he leads his team? Pity you had a bad experience
ELEANOR L asked a question Oct 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom22 contributions14 helpful votes
where can i park if staying at moxy glasgow and is there a price reduction if staying at hotel?
Answer from U_Krishh
Singapore, Singapore84 contributions59 helpful votes
There is a public one next to the hotel too which is free. But no security. So not advisable if it’s a fancy car.
Aly asked a question Sept 2019
Edinburgh, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Can you leave luggage prior to check in?
Answer from TheKatt
Vancouver, Canada389 contributions202 helpful votes
Yes you can, and we loved this hotel! The location is perfect and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Pop over to the Old School pub across the street for some local karaoke and a beer!
evlittle wrote a tip Mar 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom19 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
",As yet there is no lift at High St train station, and there is a relatively long steep staircase"
Read full review
lindsaymmccrone wrote a tip Nov 2023
Aberdeen, United Kingdom40 contributions52 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t book this hotel. There’s no service to speak of."
Read full review
sactotraveller wrote a tip Sept 2023
10 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are many other choices nearby. I would not select this minimalist hotel with tiny rooms and inadequate staff"
Read full review
JMB247 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Stirling, United Kingdom163 contributions90 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try somewhere else"
Read full review
garethbufton111 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Telford, United Kingdom126 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking was a couple minutes away. Room did become hot but I was on the south side with the sun most of theday air conditioning regulated."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glasgow area.
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
181
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOXY GLASGOW MERCHANT CITY - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Moxy Glasgow Merchant City
Which popular attractions are close to Moxy Glasgow Merchant City?
Nearby attractions include Escape Reality Glasgow (0.2 miles), Glasgow Police Museum (0.2 miles), and Provand's Lordship (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Moxy Glasgow Merchant City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Moxy Glasgow Merchant City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Moxy Glasgow Merchant City?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moxy Glasgow Merchant City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Obsession Of India, Green Gates Indian Restaurant Merchantcity, and Turkiye Efes Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Moxy Glasgow Merchant City?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Moxy Glasgow Merchant City located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Glasgow.
Are pets allowed at Moxy Glasgow Merchant City?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Moxy Glasgow Merchant City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Mackintosh House (2.1 miles), The Tenement House (1.2 miles), and House for an Art Lover (3.0 miles).
Is Moxy Glasgow Merchant City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Glasgow HotelsGlasgow Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GlasgowHotels near Moxy Glasgow Merchant City
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire