We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alba Hostel Glasgow

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Alba Hostel Glasgow
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alba Hostel Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

I Stayed for two nights in a dorm, while visiting the University of Glasgow. The location was a little out of the way of the city centre and the west end, but there are many good public transport options nearby so it wasn't really a problem for me. Staff are friendly, rooms are spacious, the breakfast was good for the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SonicDiouf
Alba_Hostel_Glasgow, Manager at Alba Hostel Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you very much for your lovely review. Hope to see you next time. Best wishes, the Alba Hostel Team

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Before booking, I phoned to check that the rooms would be single sex ones and was reassured it would be. The first night was fine but on the second night two males turned up to the room. It was late and after a fuss with the lock, I asked if they were in the wrong room? BUT NO,they had keys...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 546annie
Alba H, Manager at Alba Hostel Glasgow, responded to this review

Hello Dear Thank you for your stay at Alba Hostel and happy to listen that you liked our hostel facilities, rooms, cleaning and staff. I am sorry that you had problem with your stay. we have 2 female 6 bed dorms in our hostel and only female are allowed to stay and there is no key of room instead a...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Came away from my stay with red welts/bites all over my back and arms. Though the hostel itself was nice and charming I can't get over the idea that it may have been bed bugged. I would have given it a better rating except for the fact that I am now washing all my clothes mid trip to avoid the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lemonysquares
AlbaHostel G, Manager at Alba Hostel Glasgow, responded to this review

Hello Dear Greetings from Alba Hostel Glasgow!! Thank you for your stay and happy to listen that you like our hostel cleaning standards and interior. I am sorry that you had problem which you are not sure happened due to bed bugs. Just to inform that this is a common issue that can start any accommodation or even at our...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Twice now I have had the pleasure of staying in Alba Hostel! The first time was last year October, when I flew in around seven in the evening and remembered I had not booked a place to stay! The Alba staff assured me over the phone that they would not mind me checking in at any time. When I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank S1GMA
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Provides nice small size hostel. Reception accommodating and helpful. Some parking available which is nice. A little removed from main city areas, but cabs are easily available. Beds and bathrooms clean and private.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank M5284ARtraveller
Reviewed 15 February 2016

I stayed here for a few days over Glasgow MCM comic con in September. The staff were aloof and rude, and the hostel here is run for the benefit of the owners, not the benefit of those staying there. The receptionist did not speak clear enough English to be very helpful, and the staff were consistently rude to me when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harley S
AlbaHostel G, Manager at Alba Hostel Glasgow, responded to this review

Hello Dear Thank you for your stay at Alba Hostel Glasgow and sorry to listen that you have few issues. we have proper receptionist person available all the time but I believe you speak to someone else like our handyman whose English is not very good, apology. sorry to listen that you lost your dress in you room. did you...

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Mattress was old and weak. Bed sheet and pillow case need some real washing. I always waked up with aches. Kitchen is not opened till 8 am, and hence was not suitable for early breakfast. I was compelled to leave without preparing my breakfast in the morning. I had to checkout before my intended date. Bad experience.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mody111
AlbaHostel G, Manager at Alba Hostel Glasgow, responded to this review

Hello Dear Thank you for your stay at Alba Hostel Glasgow and sorry to listen that you had some issues. We normally replace our all matteresses, linen, carpets once a year and paint/decorate whole the building in winter time. Can I ask you if you have notifid all these problems to reception or manager? Anyway I am checking myself all...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Cheap dorm-style accommodation. Bathroom attached to our room, only one other person in room, though several empty beds. Can be a bit noisy going across room in dark to use the bathroom in the night! Bunk type beds which obviously not like full size beds but did ok. Location is quite far out the centre, though there is train station...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thewanderer2016
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewed 16 December 2015

If you don't need too much luxury, this place is just fine. There is a possibility to have breakfast and it was not too noisy either. Beds not very good, but acceptable. Service not always friendly, but the boss is! So that's enough :). Neighborhood was fine, not far from the trendy/nice streets and the botanical garden (20min walk). Price-quality-rate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xk_tjex
California
Reviewed 23 November 2015

My husband and I (in our seventies) stayed here for two nights in a twin bedroom with ensuite shower and lavatory. The staff were helpful (carried our cases) and the room was warm, comfortable and clean. It's a hostel, and there is a large dining area on the ground floor, a kitchen with all the equipment you'd need in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RootlessCosmo

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Glasgow Pond Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
1,038 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
413 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#74 of 96 in Glasgow
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alba Hostel Glasgow is in the west end of Glasgow, offering cheap, clean, modern, safe, comfortable accommodation with great facilities and of course a great atmosphere where you can meet other like-minded people. We have fantastic friendly staff and superb facilities to meet all your needs. If you are looking to meet great people and have a unique, fabulous hostel experience in Glasgow, then Alba Hostel Glasgow is for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alba Hostel Glasgow

Address: 6 Fifth Avenue | Anniesland, Glasgow G12 0AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: £15 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alba Hostel Glasgow 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Alba Hostel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Hostel Glasgow Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alba Hostel Glasgow staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Alba Hostel Glasgow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I recommend consulting (management -early ) to try to find a nice deal ...”
ssopab01, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring slippers, toiletries and a towel if you don't want to rent (1£)”
codecargo, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The train is half the price of the bus if you get a return ticket. 2.40”
755robe, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Talk with the reception and ask for an advice.”
worldlove1, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own lock for the lockers.”
joryb490, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Hostelworld.com
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates