Argyll Guest House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Argyll Guest House

Traveller (119)
Panorama of the Double Room at the Argyll Guest House
360
Panoramas (34)
Triple room
Room & Suite (228)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 15 guest houses in Glasgow
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Popular, small and family run in convenient location .5 mile west of the city centre offering room only or bed and breakfast at budget rates. By Kelvingrove Park it is within a short walk of Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries/ Museum, Kelvinhall International Sport Arena and Glasgow University. Enjoy both west end and city centre shopping, dining and nightlife. Ideal for business or tourist alike. Family Rooms Available. Free Street Parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Room features
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more

Location

970 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH Scotland
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Glasgow Intl Airport
Glasgow Prestwick Airport
27.5 mi
See all flights
349Reviews13Q+A52Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 120
  • 111
  • 62
  • 24
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Aneeka J wrote a review Dec 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice enough place to stay, location is excellent (I think some rooms have a nice view of the Uni..), there is limited on site parking around the back, its first come first serve but I think they sell vouchers for on street parking. Room was nice and warm, and the hotel decor was great. Sarah on front desk was friendly and really helpful. Another woman wasnt so helpful, I asked her to ask the maid to clean some mess left by the previous person and she told me the maid was probably going to be too busy, I saw and asked the maid directly and she was happy to help. (I didnt ask them to do this on arrival as I arrived too late for a hoover to be used in the room).

It felt semi covid safe, there was a divider in front of the front desk but I saw other residents walking around without a mask which made me think it wasnt enforced too much. Also not confident that the ‘touchy’ bits of the room eg light switch would have been wiped down between patrons.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bobby argyll, Agency / Consultant at Argyll Guest House
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the location of our establishment! We're sorry you didn't feel our accommodation was not entirely covid safe. Unfortunately, we can only advise our guests to wear masks, we have signs throughout our hotel asking those who can to wear a mask. Our housekeeping team work hard to make sure that our guests are staying in a safe environment. We hope to welcome you back soon nonetheless!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura H wrote a review Dec 2020
Dunoon, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here on a quiet Thursday night on the road to the hospital (having travelled from Argyllshire to make the appointment) and, overall, we had a very positive experience. We checked in in the evening and the room was lovely and warm all night, the shower had lots of hot water and great water pressure. In general, the room was clean (a bad paint job on the bathroom door has me questioning if it was covered in dirty marks or if it was just the old, dirty paint coming through and some stains on the throw pillows didn’t make them inviting to touch).

The breakfast was great. The vegetarian sausage was tasty and the person who served us was an absolute delight. The person who checked us out was also absolutely lovely.

This would have been a 5 star review if it had not been for our experience surrounding the proof needed for our essential travel during level 4 restrictions. We clearly explained at the time of book on the phone that we had to travel to the hospital but didn’t have a letter (appointment made via phone call) and this was accepted. We received an email after booking asking for the same information and for a letter etc. as proof of the nature of our travel and, once again, I explained the story, and the colleague agreed to put a note of the email onto the booking, which they did. On arrival we were asked again about our reason for travel and explained that we had explained both at time of booking and that there should be a record of the email conversation. The receptionist said there wasn’t a record of my email conversation (even though I quite literally read out the note her colleague had written as it was printed on the form we signed at check in!!) and I ended up sending a screen shot of my NHS No Reply text message which came in that day (which, I don’t feel I should have had to do as I’d already provided plenty of information) via email. It all seemed exceptionally complicated for something so simple. I absolutely wouldn’t be travelling to the West End of Glasgow during a pandemic for fun, especially when they’re no fun to be had as everything is shut! The reception’s retort of ‘well, it isn’t essential travel then’ when I told her I didn’t have a letter to show her honestly made me feel as I was trying to circumvent restrictions when I was just trying to attend my hospital appointment. I appreciate we are all experiencing unusual circumstances but they need to update their policy around proof of essential travel and encourage better staff communication (or, at least, encourage their staff to read what is front of them and not attempt to fob the customers off by saying it means something different!)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mikeslady wrote a review Jun 2022
Austin, Texas
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the ground/garden floor triple room on the corner. It was fantastic to have a true bed for our teen and we found it to be spotless. Huge shower too! We had a lot of natural light from all the windows and very little street noise. The restaurant across the street had a fantastic breakfast buffet that came with the room and the service there was TOP NOTCH!! We absolutely loved the breakfast staff! They were the nicest people! In the lobby was a self-service button for calling a taxi, super easy. Bus stop to city center was on the next block and dropped off right in front of the hotel.. also very convenient and inexpensive transport. Location for Uni of Glasgow and Kelvingrove museum is unbeatable, easy walk to both. Only reason for the 4 stars versus five is there is no lift down to the bottom (it's a guest house, makes sense) but had I been alone it would have been highly difficult for me to get my suitcase up/down those stairs. If you have mobility issues just ask for a room on the main floor and that's a problem solved.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Loved room 9 for end of the hall/bottom floor quiet and yet great light!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from B Bashir, General Manager at Argyll Guest House
Responded 17 Jul 2022
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so thrilled you had a lovely stay. I will pass your comments back to the breakfast staff - they will be so happy. Yes we understand the lift issue unfortunately it the building layout doesn't allow us to add one but as you said we are more than happy to keep anyone, who lets us know prior to arrival, on the first floor. We hope you will be back to visit again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorna wrote a review Apr 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Argyll Guest House for one night, to save a very long drive home after a day of business in Glasgow.
Azam at reception was so kind and helpful on arrival, you check into the sister Argyll Hotel across the road first, he arranged breakfast for us for the morning, explained entry into the guest house and parking etc.

We stayed on a Saturday so on street parking was free, bonus!

Room 4 was massive!!! Bathroom all fully refurbished and modern with a shower and bath. Towels supplied.

Rooms are spacious and have a TV with good selection of free view channels.
Kettle, tea and coffee facilities included.

Great little bargain room, perfect for short stopovers and city breaks.
In the centre of town, location is perfect and prices per night are phenomenal!

Definitely recommend and will use again ✨ thank you Argyll Hotel Team!!!

Lorna Murphy
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bobby argyll, Agency / Consultant at Argyll Guest House
Responded 28 Apr 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Argyll Guest House! We can't wait to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jörgen C wrote a review Jun 2022
Malmö, Sweden
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My reservation, paid in advance, at Argyll Guest House for 22-26 June 2022 clearly said that breakfast was included. At check-in the hotel wouldn't honour this but insisted for us to pay for breakfast once again. I showed the reservation to the staff at reception, discussed it at three occasions during our stay but the staff always said that only the manager could handle this, a manager who was not available and didn't answer by telephone. In the end they charged my credit card an extra 136 GBP for breakfasts. Apart from this, the hotel was ok and Glasgow great, as always.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from B Bashir, Agency / Consultant at Argyll Guest House
Responded 10 Jul 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to hear you where frustrated by the breakfast situation, as you booked through a third party whom told us breakfast wasn't included. There was nothing out staff could do and advised you to contact whom you booked with. We are so sorry we couldn't resolve this for you but we hope you get it sorted.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LMR1258 wrote a review Sept 2020
Warrington, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Argyle Guest House recently when visiting family in Glasgow. We only had one night here and the room was clean and cosy. Breakfast was included, served in the Argyle Hotel opposite and was a delicious Scottish cooked one. Staff were so attentive and pleasant, abiding by Covid19 measures. I highly recommend the Argyle Guest House.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bobby argyll, Agency / Consultant at Argyll Guest House
Responded 23 Sept 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsPScot wrote a review Jun 2023
Fife, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here recently after I attended Elton John at the Hydro. Normally when we attend gigs at the Hydro we try & book the hotels right next to there but after a few cancellations of the gig due to Covid & 4 years after booking the ticket, availability nearby wasn’t an option. I have to say I wasn’t expecting as much but I was very pleasantly surprised how lovely this was. The room we had was massive, with a double bed, and single, both very comfortable, table & chairs, equipped with lots of tea & coffee, hairdryer, plenty of towels, A flatscreen tv. The room was spotless. We were on the ground floor, massive bay window. No noise coming from outside even though the windows was open. We had to check in over the road and breakfast was also there and it was absolutely lovely. Staff were very friendly & attentive. It was a very warm day and the room was hot however, we prepared for this and had our own fans so this wasn’t an issue. All in all, it was a lovely stay & in comparison to other hotels that I’ve booked nearer the hydro, where you can’t swing in a cat in there, the 10 minute walk is worth it. I’d definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lou wrote a review Nov 2022
Dublin, Ireland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
At the time of the booking they don't inform you the basic room is a Hitchcock style room.
The small print in the booking confirmation email tells you as it is. Too late!

You check in at the hotel across the road from the guesthouse and no one offers help to carry your luggage to the room.

If you are disable, have difficult walking or heavy suitcases it's impossible to walk down the narrow stairs leading to a dated shoe box.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kim P wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 2 nights (July 4 and 5). The bed was comfortable and the location was quiet. Lots of great restaurants near by....and a grocery store! I didn't really explore the area as I came to Glasgow to do a tour of Scotland with Discover Scotland Tours so having the hotel only a couple of miles from where the tour started was a plus.

My room was dark but I was only in the room early in the morning and in the evening/night so it didn't really matter to me. The receptionist was very nice and helpful when I needed cabs.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from B Bashir, Agency / Consultant at Argyll Guest House
Responded 10 Jul 2022
Hello Kim, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you will come back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony G wrote a review Jan 2023
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Not at all conducive to a good nights sleep. The radiator was on full blast in a room (No. 1), that was barely larger than a prison cell with no ventilation. The noise emanating from the roadway outside the window was appalling and noisy guests who cannot close doors quietly does not help.
The one positive aspect was the breakfast which is taken in the main hotel where the staff really did take a pride in what they did.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mbarr954 asked a question Mar 2020
Chatham, Illinois5 contributions2 helpful votes
How do I cancel my reservation
Answer from Judy T
Silverton, Oregon6 contributions8 helpful votes
I would call or email the hotel directly. I have had good success with emailing directly.
kararn asked a question Aug 2018
Providence, Rhode Island27 contributions10 helpful votes
Is there parking available on the premises?
Answer from Jacob G
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
There is parking, but it's extremely limited. It's a few spaces on the road outside the front of the hotel.
Answer from Lorraine D
Durham108 contributions54 helpful votes
You can get a bus to the hotel from the station or a taxi. Don't forget to go round the corner to the Park Bar. Traditional Scottish Pub with amazing traditional meals and great prices. Live Scottish music at weekends too.
Answer from B B
5 contributions5 helpful votes
Hi Kerry, there are steps up to the hotel and the guesthouse. Our guesthouse does not have a lift, we only have a lift in the hotel. We are roughly a 15/20 minute drive to Glasgow Airport and a 15 minute walk from the SSE Hydro. If you need anything else please do not hesitate to call 0141 337 3313 and we can answer any questions you have!
Answer from B B
5 contributions5 helpful votes
Good Morning, We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel soon! We have bus services directly outside the hotel that can take you into the city centre or if you want to see the major sights you can get the city sight seeing bus. Charing Cross train station is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel and you can get a train to Edinburgh from there. Anderston train station is a 15 minute walk from the hotel where you can get a train to Rutherglen. I hope this helps, we have 24 hour recpetionist who will also be able to assist with any questions. Many thanks, Argyll Hotel
Benjamin B wrote a tip Sept 2023
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If planning to eat in the locality during your stay at the Argyle, then make sure to book ahead. "
Read full review
A R wrote a tip May 2023
Las Vegas, Nevada10 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is an issue and noisy road"
Read full review
Terrilouise91 wrote a tip Aug 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom151 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go to guest house for check in go to hotel across the road, Not for those with mobility issues there's alot of stairs If your large the towels ain't fitting round you "
Read full review
mikeslady wrote a tip Jun 2022
Austin, Texas62 contributions22 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Loved room 9 for end of the hall/bottom floor quiet and yet great light!"
Read full review
Tony C wrote a tip May 2019
Naas, Ireland224 contributions177 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look for Room 7."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glasgow area.
PRICE RANGE
£83 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
argyll guest house hotel glasgow
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARGYLL GUEST HOUSE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Argyll Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Argyll Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum (0.2 miles), Kelvingrove Park (0.1 miles), and The Grove (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Argyll Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at Argyll Guest House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Argyll Guest House?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Argyll Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include MacTassos, Murphy's Pakora Bar, and Fanny Trollopes.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Argyll Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, Polish, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to Argyll Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Mackintosh House (0.4 miles), The Tenement House (0.7 miles), and House for an Art Lover (1.7 miles).
All Glasgow HotelsGlasgow Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GlasgowHotels near Argyll Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire