We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Argyll Western Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 248: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I won't be using this hotel again due to the smoke alarm going off in our room we were charged £50, I phoned and emailed the hotel over the past few days asking why the charge was made and they said it was due to smoking in the room, not me or my partner smoke it was due to something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emma6818
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for almost two weeks – this was wonderful time. Hotel is cosy, clean and let you rest without any worries. Staff is very helpful. Not only makes you stay comfortable but also gives lots of useful hints (especially Robert). Localization is fantastic – many attractions which are reachable on foot. Close to sybway stations too. Looking for nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnnaK1717
Grenoble, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a one night stay in Glasgow before moving on to Edinburgh. This hotel made a terrible day of traveling better, They gave us a free room after seeing we are a big family with a baby, to make our stay extra comfy. Reception was great and very helpful. Breakfast was superb, and once again they went out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megancoetzee9
Nazim A, Manager at Argyll Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Megan Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. Your comprehensive and positive review of your recent stay with us is much appreciated - I'm thrilled to read how impressed you were by our team and the hotel facilities. Thank you for your review and recommendation; I hope we'll see you back at...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a fantastic location, the rooms are nice and clean however the hotel has a major issue with staff. We arrived Friday night and the receptionist didn't even say hello he just stared at us, very cold and unfriendly. Woken up at as 1am the fire Alarm rings...everyone evacuates to reception and no staff appear for 15 minutes. No...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angela d
Nazim A, Manager at Argyll Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela Thanks for your review. We sincerely apologize for your experience. We take every single review very seriously as our aim is to constantly improve and in fact achieve the highest of standards what is reflected in our great reviews and wonderful appraisal from customers. Fire alarm was caused due to one particular individual smoking in the room. With...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel! Short walk to great Westend attractions. Staff is incredibly nice and accommodating. And my favorite part is that the rooms are clean especially the bathrooms! I stayed in two rooms while there, one with three beds, and a single bedroom. Both were very nice. The single bedroom had smaller bathroom but it did not bother me, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C.R. C
Nazim A, Manager at Argyll Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear C.R.C Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. Your comprehensive and positive review of your recent stay with us is much appreciated - I'm thrilled to read how impressed you were by our team and the hotel facilities. Thank you for your review and recommendation; I hope we'll see you back at...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recommend the stay. The rooms are cosy, clean and well-decorated. The tartan decor is lovely. It's peaceful and safe here. The service is friendly, tacful and helful. Definately recommend the hotel and its welcoming atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lveto
Nazim A, Manager at Argyll Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Iveto Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us! Remarks like these keep us inspired to provide a high standard of service to all our guests. Thanks for choosing us and we hope to host you again soon. Kind Regards Robert Rosman Hospitality Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This newly refurbished hotel, is super value for money. The rooms are big, with a very tall ceiling and lovely Scottish style decoration. Everything is brand new, so you can expect good quality. The location is not bad as it is not far from the city centre. The hotel does not offer parking but you can buy a cheap parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikolas S
Nazim A, Manager at Argyll Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nikolas Thank you for your top score and for a wonderful review of your stay with us! Remarks like these keep us inspired to provide a high standard of service to all our guests. Thanks for choosing us and we hope to host you again soon. Kind Regards Robert Rosman Hospitality Manager

Reviewed 7 December 2016

My friend and I stayed here for five nights on a recent trip to Glasgow. I think we got the friendliest welcome we've ever had at a hotel! Great staff, very accommodating. They were happy to adjust the temperature whenever we wanted, etc. The rooms were spacious (we were in a triple basement room and it did not feel like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
Nazim A, Manager at Argyll Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback re: breakfast and the temperature of the room. With Glasgow being known for it's fluctuating weather, and seeing the temperature was very cold a few days before your stay, we left the heater on for the room to...

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Hotel was in a great spot. Close to botanic gardens and the local bars. Very welcoming. Room was clean and ideal for a nights stay. Plenty of choice for breakfast and are happy to change the menu to suit. Would defo visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louise m
Nazim A, Front Office Manager at Argyll Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor member, Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review on your recent stay at Argyll Western Hotel. I am delighted you found so many aspects of your stay so great that you would "defo visit again". Please come back and visit us again very soon, Kind Regards Robert

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This is a nice little find in the West End of Glasgow. It has friendly, helpful and attentive staff, nicely decorated and fitted rooms and a good location too. Parking is slightly tricky as the road outside that sits just above Great Western Road is metered from 8am to 10pm but they do have pre-paid cards available at a discount.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian355
Nazim A, Manager at Argyll Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor member, Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review on your recent stay at Argyll Western Hotel. I am delighted you found the staff "friendly, helpful and attentive" and offered you impeccable customer service. We are so fortunate to have such a great location in West End of Glasgow! Please come back and visit us again...

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (104)
Viewed
Double Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Single Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)
Viewed
Triple Room (23)
Viewed
Twin Room (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#26 of 95 in Glasgow
692 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
271 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#9 of 95 in Glasgow
2,139 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 95 in Glasgow
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Argyll Western is a Grade A listed building located in Glasgow's iconic West End, close to the Botanic Gardens, University of Glasgow, and The Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum. Also nearby is The Museum of Transport, Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre and the SSE Hydro. This recently refurbished family run establishment has warm welcome awaiting you- with a very Scottish feeling. Each of our guest rooms celebrate local Scottish Clans, each decorated differentl & tastefully with family tartans. Free high speed Wifi, large flat screen TV's in all rooms and a full Scottish breakfast as standard, need we say more? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Argyll Western Hotel

Address: 6 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland (Formerly Lomond Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Price Range: £44 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Argyll Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Western Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Argyll Western Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Salt Lake City
5 months ago
Salt Lake City
5 months ago
Seattle, Washington
5 months ago
Halifax Region, Canada

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Argyll Western Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask Robert or Azam for a recommendation considering your length of stay, party size, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles jrmickley, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is no lift because it is an old building”
 of 5 bubbles LadyR2012, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“you want to be on the first floor in the back...away from the street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 10sJohn, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be aware that the single rooms can be very small and maybe haven't been updated as recently as the other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles bzz77, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Call the hotel directly; don't book through travel sites. Describe the kind and size of room you want.”
 of 5 bubbles Randy2620, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay