We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Dakota Glasgow

179 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DP Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1326)
360
Panoramas (37)
Room & Suite (432)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£116
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 102 hotels in Glasgow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The new modern classic.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English
2634Reviews55Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,207
  • 300
  • 79
  • 30
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Rob H wrote a review 23 Feb
1 contribution
A very nice comfortable boutique hotel at a sensible price, an inclusive breakfast would have been nice. Polite and friendly staff, clean and home from home hotel. Staff helpful, even posted my shirt back after me leaving it in the room. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 3 days ago
Dear A1020CNrobh, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that our hard working team were able to showcase our high standards; and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to them. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond for our guests; so I'm glad this was evident throughout. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CKerns96 wrote a review 23 Feb
Silverstone, United Kingdom18 contributions16 helpful votes
What an amazing stay. We had booked early checkin, but owing to arriving on the sleeper train we were very early, however the hotel was accommodating to allow us to use the lounge and checkin to the room as soon as possible. The room was huge. Space is not an issue here, with a large room for living space, either side of the bed and an open bathroom. The lighting in the room is ‘mood lit’ but adds to the ambience the hotel carries throughout which is very nice. The bed is immensely comfortable, the shower very powerful and the bathroom amenities being White Company, very luxury. Lots of room for storing luggage, a safe for valuables and plentiful room for hanging clothes. The staff are next to none, very professional and courteous. Everyone we met was friendly, approachable and upheld the high star nature of the hotel. Would 100% recommend this hotel and will be returning should we be in Glasgow again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 3 days ago
Dear CKerns96, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am so delighted to hear that our high standards were evident throughout; and I will be sure to pass along your glowing review to the team. We pride ourselves on our dedication to our guests enjoyment throughout their stay, and it is evident that we delivered on this. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David W wrote a review 21 Feb
Manchester, United Kingdom13 contributions12 helpful votes
Was very disappointed, there are works taking place adjacent to the hotel, i asked whether they were impacting the hotel, whist away I wanted a restful experience. I asked at reception if the room i had been allocated would hear any disturbances, the receptionist Jan (i think) said they had had no complaints and I wouldn't be disturbed. at 7.00 am all i could hear was reversing bleeps and noise associated with what was going on. I did advise the receptionist i would be unhappy if disturbed she said i wouldn't and most definitely lied about this. Why they couldn't have relocated me i don't know, they didn't even look if another room was available. On checking out i mentioned this to another receptionist who was there when i was told that i wouldn't be disturbed, she gave a knowing look and said she would mention it to the other receptionist. Very poor customer service
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 4 days ago
Dear richardw552, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. Whilst I am delighted that you chose to stay with us; I am disappointed that your stay was not of the standards that you were expecting. I am sorry to hear that you feel our usual quality of service was not evident. The regeneration project is out with our control; and whilst we can manage our guests expectations we cannot guarantee that there will not be noise. I must apologise if you feel our team were not being forthcoming; however during the week of your stay we had very little mentions of the works from guests. I will of course speak with the team to ensure that, if possible, we are moving guests who highlight a concern regarding the works. We hope to be offered the opportunity to welcome you back so we are able to showcase the experience you were expecting. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
damickel wrote a review 20 Feb
Helensburgh, United Kingdom82 contributions55 helpful votes
We have stayed before and also have had a meal with friends so wondered if it would be as good as remembered. No worries,excellent stay overnight…..room extremely clean and comfortable. Hotel decor is quite dark but calming. Staff are welcoming and efficient. Breakfast great choice and cooked fresh for you. We live out with Glasgow,so great to have a place like this to stay …..would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Hotel reception help with carpark details if you have a car, however very near Charing Cross...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 6 days ago
Dear damickel, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that our hard working team were able to showcase our high standards, and I will be sure to pass along your kind words. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kemi M wrote a review 17 Feb
1 contribution
Really beautiful hotel, they have an amazing attention to detail. Staff are super attentive and they serve amazing food especially the scottish breakfast (my husband rarely gives compliments to restaurants or hotels and this was a first!)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 1 week ago
Dear kemim2024, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that our hard working team were able to showcase our high standards; and I will be sure to pass along your kind feedback. We pride ourselves on our dedication to the guest enjoyment, and it is wonderful that it was evident throughout. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David C wrote a review 12 Feb
Edinburgh, United Kingdom9 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel is in a superb location and the quality throughout is tangible. The team are wonderful and very friendly yet professional. The breakfast was amazing too! The room was sumptious and the little touches were most welcome. The bar is lively however plenty of quiet spaces for a table for two.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear davidcl8112HD, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am delighted tat our hard working team were able to showcase our high standards, and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to them. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie B wrote a review 11 Feb
Threshfield, United Kingdom19 contributions2 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our 6 night stay at this hotel. In particular we appreciated the staff: friendly, professional and very helpfiul; without exception. We were visiting the Galleries and museums, the hotel is in a really good geographical place for this. We were able to walk to all but the Burrell. Good access to the shoppoing streets, restuarants and bars as well. We were pleased with our room (a king), it had a really good bed, slept like a log. We were advised beforehand there were road works happening on the road our bedroom faced onto. The room was well insulated with modern windows, so it wasnt a problem at all, you really couldnt hear anything. I think the hotel was geared for people staying a night or two, the only critism I could find with the room was the lack of shelving/drawer space. As we were staying six nights it didnt accommodate for the extra clothing someone might bring. The only shelf was situated well above the hanging space which made it difficult to use. The overall ambience of the hotel is modern with contemporary fittings, lighting etc. Some people commented (on previous reviews) on the lighting being too dark. It is a little subdued, but we actually enjoyed this, it helped create the ambience and we also found it very relaxing. There was adequate lighting in the room, all on dimmer switches so one could turn up the lighting if needed. We had a meal in the restaurant which was superb, both had fish dishes and vegetarian. My husband commented the food was better than some Michellin star restaurants we had been to! We were less impressed with the snack in the bar; chicken ceasar salad, there was really nothing at all to it. I would prefer to have paid a little more and had a decent one. Overall this is a fantastic hotel which we enjoyed and will return to.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Julie, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and I will be sure to pass along your kind regards to the team. I can only apologise that you did not enjoy your salad, and that you found the storage to be inadequate. We appreciate your comments, and will certainly take this into consideration. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Daniel I wrote a review 6 Feb
1 contribution
Best hotel we’ve stayed in a very long time - exceptional staff that are willing to go beyond for your stay. Great atmosphere in the hotel bar, jacks & amazing food. Great central location with some brilliant bars / restaurants within walking distance. Only downside was the parking, recommended car park was a charge of £40 for our stay. Would visit again, all the best to the staff & thanks for having us!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear V804YWdanieli, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that our hard working team were able to showcase our high standards, and I will be sure to pass them along to the team. I can only apologise that you were not given the best option for parking; we have an affiliation with both the Charing Cross and Cambridge Street NPC lots where you can get a reduced rate for £8 by validating your ticket with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carolyn K wrote a review 6 Feb
1 contribution
Highly recommended, great location with excellent facilities. High standard of decor, booked classic king room which was very spacious, tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. Bathroom with large walk in shower with excellent water pressure. Staff were very friendly, polite, welcoming and helpful. Bar was very relaxing with extensive drinks menu - the service was excellent. Will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear carolynkl2692SE, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that our hard working team were able to showcase our high standards; and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael D wrote a review 5 Feb
2 contributions
Absolutely stunning. The service, once again, from an amazing staff allowed us to feel special. When we arrived, we were very touched to receive a hand written welcome note from Jen. This was very much appreciated. The hotel is absolutely beautiful but it is the warm staff and lovely atmosphere that really makes Dakota Glasgow stand out. Everyone working on Sat/Sun 3rd Feb can be proud that they played their part in making our night very special. I fully believe this comes from a fantastic hotel manager who responded to a small issue we had on our previous visit with compassion and understanding. If you are looking to visit Glasgow for a special occasion, I can’t recommend the Dakota nightly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Other at Dakota Glasgow
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Dixiebhoy19, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that our team were able to make your stay so enjoyable, and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to all of them! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Ashley Duncan Senior Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glasgow area.
PRICE RANGE
£102 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgowCity Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DAKOTA GLASGOW - Updated 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison

Frequently Asked Questions about Dakota Glasgow
Which popular attractions are close to Dakota Glasgow?
Nearby attractions include The Glasgow School of Art (0.1 miles), The Good, The Bad & The Irish! (0.3 miles), and Bon Accord (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Dakota Glasgow?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Dakota Glasgow?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Dakota Glasgow?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Dakota Glasgow?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dakota Glasgow?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mackintosh at the Willow, Dakota Bar & Grill, and Curry Cottage Glasgow.
Is Dakota Glasgow located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Glasgow.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dakota Glasgow?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Dakota Glasgow offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Dakota Glasgow?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Mackintosh House (1.1 miles), The Tenement House (0.3 miles), and House for an Art Lover (2.2 miles).
Is Dakota Glasgow accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.