We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aviemore Youth Hostel

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (12)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (2)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good41%
  • Average24%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“communal areas”(8 reviews)
“drying room”(8 reviews)
“bed dorm”(4 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Wheelchair access
Paid Wifi
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
24
37
22
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
24
37
22
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal areasdrying roombed dormsurf the netkitchen facilitiesspacious loungewinter skills courseeasy accessgreat facilitiessecssinksearplugswalkersscotlandwalks
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

The youth hostel had a comfortable feel as soon as i walked through the door. To the back of the seated reception room was a large spacious lounge with maps and games ready for use. The hostel was kept very clean and had ample facilities...More

Thank m13ash
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded 6 March 2018

Hi m13ash Thanks for the kind review and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Dan

Reviewed 5 February 2018

This is a good standard of Youth Hostel. Aside from the kitchen which is too small for the numbers the rest of the social areas are spacious and comfortable. I stayed in a five bed dorm which was fine, I lucked out and got a...More

Thank Howellsey
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded 15 February 2018

Hi Howellsey, Thanks for your kind review and we hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Reviewed 26 January 2018

I had my B3 mountain boots stolen from this hostel so how do I justify giving more than 1 star? After talking to a few people, it doesn't sound like I'm the first. They were bright orange and all others were black so it was...More

Thank Steve W
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded 15 February 2018

Hi Steve W Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us,As you will already be aware we were disappointed as you were to find out your boots had been taken from were they were left to dry on your stay. I can...More

Reviewed 26 January 2018

We spent 5 nights here during a winter skills course. We booked early enough that we could get a twin room (not too much more expensive than two dorm beds), which was comfortable enough, although one of the mattresses was getting a bit old. The...More

Thank pinkhippy
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded 5 February 2018

Hi pinkhippy Many thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see you had a good time and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thanks Dan

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely hostel with alot going for it. Good clean rooms with great showers. The kitchen has everything that you need. TV room and a nice place to have a chill out night and a beer.staff are friendly and helpful. A good place...More

Thank Robert M
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded 25 September 2017

Hi Robert M Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see you had a good time and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Dan

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Details
Price range
US$36 - US$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$36 - US$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (12)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marcus P
6 May 2016|
Answer
Response from SYHAHostelling | Property representative |
Hi, We provide Continental breakfast at £4.95 per person and packed lunches for £5.50,However we do have a fully equipped self catering kitchen where you can prepare your own food also the town is a few minutes walk away... More
0
Votes
AnimalGirl17979
4 August 2014|
Answer
Response from SYHAHostelling | Property representative |
Good Afternoon, Thank you for your query. Aviemore Youth Hostel does provide bedding for all guests as well as a refrigerator in the self-catering kitchen. There is no charge for either of these. Towels are provided free... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Twin or quadruple rooms add privacy for couples/small groups without adding much to the price. Bring ear..."
Read review
"winter time best Winter time easier to get twin rooms!!!"
Read review
"Remember you have to put the sheets on the bed."
Read review
"There are small 'dorms' which are private rooms for a small number"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing