We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,648 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,584: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
 Click to rate
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have mixed feelings about this hotel.. it has the potential to be great but it seems it's a bit all over the place...the layout is so confusing. The rooms were clean and nice i checked in across the road and had to drive to another part to get to my room... the facilities looked good although I did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'John G' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you saw the potential that this resort has. We are always working towards that potential and hope to be a facility that can cater for all. It is great to see...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Macdonald Aviemore Hotel was great especially the adjoining room for children. The location was great with facilities on your doorstep. The Steak House was of good quality but the Italian Restaurant was very slow and average. The chef for breakfast was great giving local knowledge of where to go. Will definitely return next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradleycordes
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Bradleycordes' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am so glad that you had such a lovely stay at the resort, with kind comments about our location, steakhouse and breakfast. I will be sure to pass on your words regarding the Italian, as we are always looking to improve the service we...

Oklahoma
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We arrived with seven and a baby, children ranging in age from 13 to 8 months and found our accommodation more than adequate. The staff were most helpful with directions to all the various facilities and attractions, and with questions in general. Ample parking, short walk to Aviemore village. Great meals in the on site facility, the Spey Burger and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank don7614
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'don7614' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor It is great to see that you had such a lovely experience here at the resort. I am glad you found our staff to be helpful with all areas of the resort, and that you found the accommodation to be more than adequate. Your kind...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a wonderful short break at the hotel. The leisure facilities were fantastic, the room clean and well appointed, staff extremely professional and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Situated within heart of Aviemore, very handy when accessing the local amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calgary425
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Calgary425' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor It is wonderful to see that you had such an enjoyable stay with us recently, and that you were able to use the leisure facilities. Your kind comments regarding the room, staff and breakfast are extremely pleasing to read, and we will aim to continue...

Aboyne, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

excellent stay stayed one night food was excellent breakfast was lovely staff were friendly and professional service the facilities were spotless everything was clean couldn't fault anything they have their own cinema which we attended their own leisure centre which we didn't use this time but last time we were here we used the swimming pool

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Trevor F' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am so glad that you were able to have such an enjoyable stay with us at the resort. Your kind comments regarding our staff, facilities and cinema are extremely pleasing to read. We aim to provide a high level of customer care and...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dated complex - New Year's Eve party itself was fun but kids menu was awful my 9 year old was really put off by Chicken nuggets with gravy on them! Round the world buffet on New Year's Day main course was disgusting and no where near round the world a carvery with chaffing tins of sausages and macaroni cheese is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J0-MH
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'J0-MH' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am pleased that you were able to join us for our New Year's celebrations. I am extremely sorry that a few of the meals that we provided for you were not to your liking, I will be sure to pass these comments on. I...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent value, used leisure pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Only £16 for two people for a three day pass ! Facilities although not ultra modern were great, all areas were clean and well maintained.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmailey1
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'emmailey1' Many thanks for leaving a review on TripAdvisor It is always lovely to see such a positive review of our leisure facilities, we aim to provide the highest level of service to all customers, including those who are not staying with us. IT is great that you got the opportunity to use the facilities that we provide. We...

Glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely stat, great beds. Not slept so well in a long time! Great food, reasonably priced and central. Only one small complaint was that the log fire wasn't on which would have been lovely in the lounge.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisaguit
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'lisaguit' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor It is wonderful to see that you had such a pleasant stay with us here at the resort. Your kind comments regarding the beds, dining experience and location are lovely to read. I am sorry that the fire was not lit, I will be sure...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

here 2 hours and had 2 bad experiences, waited an hour on a portion of chips because the barman forgot to put the order through, then the reason we booked here is because it had a pool for children, gets there at 6.30 to be told it's adult only from 6.30 till 8pm, going to check out and leave

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Darren M' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor I am extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at the resort, I will be sure to pass your issues on to our team in order to prevent such things from happening again in the future. I am sorry that you felt...

Inverness
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would recommend this hotel, the rooms are lovely, spacious, well equipped and the breakfast was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. The value for money was what really impressed us.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Donna F' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor It is fantastic to see that you had such a lovely experience whilst staying at the resort, and it is always pleasant to read that you would recommend us. Your kind comments about the rooms, breakfast and value for money are very enjoyable to read....

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
215 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotels of our Macdonald Aviemore Resort are situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands - a magical location. Stay amidst ancient Caledonian pine forests at one of our four distinctive hotels or our luxury woodland lodge accommodation. You'll find the perfect room for your stay in one of our luxurious Scottish Highlands hotels at Aviemore. Our Highlands Hotel offer four-star luxury for all the family along with our newly refurbished Morlich and Aviemore Hotels which are due to open Spring 2015. Choose one of our Luxury Woodland lodges for a stunning escape in the forest surrounding our resort. You'll find everything you need and more at Macdonald Aviemore Resort - luxury brand shopping, 3D cinema viewing, top-class restaurants, our brand new, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. Designed by Dave Thomas, former Ryder Cup player, it features the longest hole in Scotland - a par 5 measuring 635 yards. Are you up for the challenge? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Price Range: £92 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only go if super bargain”
 of 5 bubbles Virtualbahia15, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms seem fab”
 of 5 bubbles wine1961, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have kids best to choose a room with bunk beds as no room if they try and squeeze 2 singles beds into a normal double room.”
 of 5 bubbles tamara3445, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Several hotel blocks on site but all seemed of a good standard. The Lagan bar was best.”
 of 5 bubbles Scotlandtravels1, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure your room is not allocated near an access door.”
 of 5 bubbles eileen062, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5