We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel

Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel is an old Scottish shooting lodge offering stunning views of the Northern Corries... Situated in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, seven miles from Aviemore and just two miles from the Cairngorm mountain funicular and snowsports area, this youth hostel provides an ideal base for year-round activities, including hillwalking, climbing, snowsports, mountain biking, pony trekking, watersports and fishing. This 72-bed youth hostel provides great facilities including a good range of multi-share and private rooms, a well-equipped self-catering kitchen, cycle store, drying room, internet and Wi-Fi access. Cooked breakfasts, packed lunches and full evening meals are also available. Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel is popular with outdoor enthusiasts, families and groups looking for budget accommodation. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Golf course
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-Serve Laundry
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
65Reviews
32Photos
0Q+A
5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 34
  • 21
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Was really quite pleased with this place, stayed in a handful of YHA's across the highlands in September and this was the best of the bunch. Dorm comfortable enough although some investment needs to be made to upgrading mattresses, as first into the room I had my pick and none
Read more
Response from HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
Responded 12 Nov 2018
Hi btone6seven Thanks for the review following your recent stay with us, Its great to see you had a pleasant stay and we will look into the points you have raised to see where we can improve our service. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan
Read more
Great location, clean and well kept, excellent kitchen facilities, adjacent to the regional Visitors Center. Good drying room for wet clothes, washers and dryers for laundry, courteous staff, reasonably priced.
Read more
Response from HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
Responded 29 Aug 2018
Hi Jedid, Thanks for the great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Dan
Read more
A group of three of us booked this hostel on the first leg of a Scottish road trip and it didn't disappoint. Right on the doorstep of Loch Morlich, the Cairngorm reindeer and loads of other walks and things to do. I didn't ask a name, but the guy behind the desk was really
Read more
Response from HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
Responded 16 Aug 2018
Hi Victoria Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Its great to see you had a good time and found the staff friendly and informative and enjoyed the facilitys in the hostel. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan
Read more
This place was clean and quiet. There was adequate space for our youth and adults to gather. The rooms were nice and bathrooms clean. On the flip side the kitchen was inadequate. We had a group of 12 youth and 7 adults staying here for 2 nights. The kitchen was not adequate
Read more
Response from HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
Responded 25 Jul 2018
Hi BucketListTraveler93 Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Im pleased to see overall you had a good time and will look into your other comments to see where we can improve our service. We do hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan
Read more
This was our first youth hostel visit since our teens. Beautiful location right across the road from Loch Morlich. We had booked because of the location close to the funicular station to go up Cairngorm. Hostels have obviously improved in the last 40 years .Friendly helpful
Read more
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
Responded 13 Jun 2018
Hi Refuser Thanks for he great review and we hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Cairngorm mountain view from my room
The view from the hostel garden
"book in advance during peak times for better value."
"I was happy in the dorm (but being fair, I was alone in that room!) and didn't see any other rooms."
"You can see the stars at night because it is actually dark! All rooms are quiet."
"ear plugs always a plus in a shared dorm"
"All the rooms seemed to be well away from any noise."
PRICE RANGE
US$45 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cairngorm lodge youth hostel (loch morlich) hotel aviemore
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandBadenoch and StrathspeyAviemore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing