Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Pentland Hotel

Aussenansicht
Traveller (74)
Excellent good value food
Dining (6)
Superior Double Garden Room
Room & Suite (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#8 of 11 hotels in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Pentland Hotel is located in the central of Thurso, a small town situated on the northern coastline overlooking the Orkney Islands. Thurso's history stretches back to the time of the Vikings, when it was once referred to as Thorsa, translated meaning 'Thor's River'. Thurso shares its famous history of the fishing industry with its neighbouring town Wick, but is also well known among surfers and kayakers who travel from all over the world to experience the swells our sea has to offer. Suitable for families and business people alike, this hotel will offer you comfortable accommodation and a warm welcome from staff. The Pentland Hotel has two lounges for conferences and a night porter available to ensure late services are accommodated to and early risers can enjoy a continental ​breakfast. Being based in the center of Thurso offers you many opportunities to not only explore the town but also enjoy the frequent public transport to explore other parts of the county. Stay at the Pentland Hotel and allow us to ensure that you experience a pleasant and enjoyable visit to the delights of the far north of Scotland. The hotel has 41 en-suite bedrooms made up of single, twin, double, triple, and family units. Each bedroom has been stylishly decorated and made to accommodate your various needs to ensure that your stay will be as comfortable and relaxed as possible. All rooms include a phone, TV with Freeview, a hairdryer, a radio alarm clock, and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has a large split level dining room so that smaller parties of up to 30 may enjoy extra privacy. The restaurant uses only the freshest local Caithness seafood and produce. Vegetarian choices and children's menus are also available. The reception foyer is an attractive area where guests can relax after their meal in comfort. The focus of this room is the fireplace with its carved wooden mantel on a Caithness stone hearth. We have free wi-fi in and around the reception area. Alternatively, the cosy, welcoming atmosphere of the lounge bar is an area where families can sit and where light refreshments and snacks can be eaten, in the more informal surroundings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
345Reviews2Q+A46Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 112
  • 81
  • 48
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Matthew K wrote a review Sept 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom397 contributions242 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely staff throughout this hotel from reception right through to housekeeping. The hotel is ideally placed a short walk from the railway station, also close to bus stops. Having requested a quiet room, I found myself on the top/2nd floor at the rear of the hotel at the end of a corridor. However, the room had a sloping ceiling with a velux window with only a trickle vent to generate air flow. This meant a stuffy room on my 1st night, but thereafter opening the small sash window beside the bed and leaving the bathroom door open along with the bathroom window kept the room comfortable. The room appeared to have been recently decorated in neutral tones, with the bathroom having been completely renewed. Evening meals were taken in the large bar area and this was a very popular venue with locals and walk-ins, so reserving a table avoids disappointment. Breakfast was served in a separate restaurant and catered well for all needs. Covid measures were in place although it did cause some people confusion when figuring out which way to follow the one way system. For some reason the external hotel name sign has been removed and it's to be hoped this gets replaced soon to advertise the place properly. As to the price, I usually stay in Travelodges and Premier Inns, so 2 nights B&B in a single room at £129 came across as expensive to me. That said it was a nice change to have all the benefits to hand of a full service hotel for a change.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abigail McCahill, Other at Pentland Hotel
Responded 22 Sept 2020
Hi scotsjimbo, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a kind review, your feedback is very much appreciated. We are happy to find that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay and that you left feeling satisfied. Your comments regarding our staff being lovely will be passed on! Safe onward travels and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravellingMacA wrote a review Mar 2020
46 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Up for a rugby weekend we thought this hotel would be very central. Everything we were served was good quality and we ate well. The staff are wonderful. BUT
The first room we were allocated was very cold - and still cold after dinner and we moved to room 14 very easily. Whilst not large and not reflecting the stock photos we settled in and night one was grand - I hate a hard bed but hubby slept fine. Night two however was a nightmare; from 3am the fire door slammed ever 20/30 minutes and we did not sleep at all thereafter. I eventually went looking for the night porter at 6am to complain - he had no idea! maybe some guests......... We did mention it at checkout but ......... It would be good to have fresh tea and not from a heated jug, I did ask for a pot and that was brought without reservation, it should be standard.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for off the street and way from banging firedoors.........
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abigail McCahill, Other at Pentland Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Hello TravellingMacA, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, your feedback is appreciated. It's lovely to hear you found our staff to be wonderful and our food to be of good quality. Please accept our apologies in regards to your lack of sleep due to the noisy fire door, we weren't aware of this but has since been discussed with our maintenance team. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future where you will be able to see improvements. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, safe onward travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel P wrote a review Jul 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom17 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at the Pentland Hotel to start our staycation, after originally booking to stay at the Castletown Hotel (part of the same chain, only the Pentland was open)

The hotel itself is lovely, if not a little dated in some areas. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and the bathroom and shower were very good.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious, as was an evening meal (food in the restaurant is quite expensive compared to other restaurants in the area). Great selection of whisky in the bar.

I've given a 4/5 as there was a few issues that we encountered. Firstly, the milk in the room expired in April. I went to reception to get some more and more was delivered to our room very quickly...which was also out of date...
At breakfast, some of the juices were also out of date! Now, i understand that the hotel has been closed for months, however, this is basic health and safety.

The staff are very friendly and welcoming however, their inexperience in hospitality is very apparent, especially at mealtimes, where it seemed like the right hand didn't know what the left hand was doing.

I'd definitely stay here again :)

Shout out to David on reception, top bloke who couldn't do enough for us :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abigail McCahill, Other at Pentland Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Hi DanAndTara, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Pentland, your feedback is very much appreciated. We are so happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and that you were left feeling satisfied after eating both breakfast and dinner with us. Please accept our sincere in regards to the milk being out of date. We understand that this is not acceptable and will be discussing this at our next team meeting to make sure a situation like this does not occur again. Your compliments will be passed onto all our staff, especially David. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
welshfamilyFalkirk wrote a review Sept 2021
Stenhousemuir, United Kingdom138 contributions68 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for three nights to explore the north coast. It’s an older hotel and refurbishment is ongoing which is great to see. It does mean some bits are a little outdated, however the friendly staff and cleanliness outweigh that. We ate in the bar one night and it was decent bar food, again friendly and good service. Loved sitting in the reception/lounge area which is traditionally decorated, looks great and very comfortable. Breakfast was buffet, had a great selection and kept very fresh by the two extremely lovely ladies working there who couldn’t have been more helpful. I’d visit again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abigail McCahill, Other at Pentland Hotel
Responded 21 Sept 2021
Hello Alan, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay & meal with us. We are so happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable place to stay while you explored the North coast. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Notanotherelection wrote a review Jan 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Central hotel, warm and comfortable, close to the station and evidently at the heart of its local community too. Beware: excellent Sunday carvery, including a huge choice of vegetables, the best roasties and a million different puddings will leave you with an expanded waistline! Hearty breakfast, including fresh berries, was delicious. The substantial afternoon tea was a reminder of what a proper tea should be. Charming and helpful staff at this historic hotel ensured a delightful stay and made January one of the warmest months of the year.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from amccinv, Manager at Pentland Hotel
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Hello Notanotherelection, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such kind words. We are incredibly grateful. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all our food! Your compliments will be passed onto our staff :-) Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen A wrote a review Oct 2021
Southampton, England, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank You to everyone at the Pentland Hotel, especially Lorna and Barstaff for sorting my husband and I a room at very short notice, after our original hotel was a complete disaster during our NC500 tour and our 35th wedding anniversary.

The staff are so very welcoming and polite, nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel is tastefully decorated, as was our room with
an extremely comfortable bed, TV and free WiFi, tea/coffee making facilities and large bathroom.
The buffet style breakfast was excellent, with a great choice of hot food, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, drinks etc.
A good choice is offered for the evening menu. Our meals were superb, plentiful and well presented.

Overall, we would highly recommend the Pentland Hotel and we have definitely put it on our favourites/return to list.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abigail McCahill, Other at Pentland Hotel
Responded 19 Oct 2021
Hi karena789, Happy 35th Wedding Anniversary and we hope you enjoyed your NC500 trip. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and meals in our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Canucksontheloose wrote a review Jul 2022
Victoria, Canada749 contributions379 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked last minute and late at night due to unforeseen ferry issues. Rang for night porter who informed us that parking on street in front of hotel was ok past time restrictions (and free) despite signage (he was right). This is an old hotel so no elevator and pretty dated but clean and quiet basic rooms at back of building (except a few noisy birds). The bathroom was renovated: the BEST POWER SHOWER l’ve had in the 2 weeks of traveling in the UK and a sink with one tap sharing hot and cold — finally! Good hot buffet breakfast with beautiful fruit salad, yogurt, etc and kind service. This is a solid stay for an overnighter and no heavy baggage.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abigail McCahill, Other at Pentland Hotel
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and the shower! Enjoy the rest of your trip!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
at84 wrote a review Sept 2020
Kinloss, United Kingdom115 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed overnight as a family of 4 with our dog. Overall we enjoyed our stay and we would choose to stay again. The family room was fantastic as it had a separate room for the kids, the bathroom was efficient and we had a kettle and hair drier in the room which is always a bonus. Loved that blankets, towels, bowls and treats were left for the dog, such a lovely thing to do. Breakfast was delicious, my children absolutely loved it and are still talking about it.
My only slight concerns are the same pens being used and not sanitised between guests and guests walking around the hotel unchallenged about wearing masks (I was behind this family as they checked in and not once were they asked about masks, I was expected to use the pen they had jusy put down until I asked for a clean one) A simple please put your mask on or do you need a mask would be better than allowing the family to be breathing over breakfast items etc but I guess I am being picky. Overall a good stopping place 👍👍
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abigail McCahill, Other at Pentland Hotel
Responded 28 Sept 2020
Hello Amy T, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you, your family and furry friend had an enjoyable time! Please accept our apologies regarding checking in. The safety of our customers is of paramount importance to us and we feel very strongly about maintaining the utmost cleanliness throughout the hotel due to the current circumstances. Apologies again that this did slip on this occasion, it will certainly be noted and discussed at our next team meeting. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GreyMountain wrote a review Aug 2021
Sheffield, United Kingdom26 contributions16 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in and service was generally good but this hotel desperately needs refurbishment and more attention paid to cleaning. We ate dinner as well as breakfast at the hotel and their tables were the stickiest we’ve ever come across. We’re assuming this is the disinfectant they are using but you could have turned the table upside down and anything in contact with it would have stayed put. It made eating there quite unpleasant. Certainly not worth the cost they are charging.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abigail McCahill, Other at Pentland Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2021
Hello GreyMountain, We appreciate the time you have taken to leave a review of your recent visit to the Pentland. Please accept our apologies that you were left feeling unsatisfied. Your comments will most certainly be noted and discussed at our next team meeting. Again we apologise. Safe onward travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin G wrote a review Feb 2020
Portsmouth, United Kingdom105 contributions51 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked in advance with Booking.com as I was planning a rail tour of England and Scotland. I was allocated room 8 which a) bears no resemblance of any of the official photos and b) had the kitchen extraction fan located outside the bedroom window. I asked to be moved and was given a twin room number 17. This room did not have a working radiator (I was unable to make it produce heat). It was warmer in the corridors. Visiting reception again I was then allocated family room 20. Initially this room seemed warmer than the previous but again, the radiator was not producing heat. Thankfully, the room had ceiling to floor curtains which kept some of the cold out. By this time I gave up on making the trek to reception.

On a matter of health and safety, whilst the doors in corridors were fire doors the sane could not be said for room 20 door. The picture shows the door way not being square and thus would not contain fire. Also, there are non compliant fire evacuation notices on display.

Breakfast was good.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abigail McCahill, Other at Pentland Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Hello W5747OZkeving, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback regarding your recent stay, it is always appreciated. We are terribly sorry that you were left feeling disappointed after staying at the Pentland. Our aim is for all our guests to leave feeling satisfied and it saddens us to hear that this didn't happen in your case. Your comments will certainly be noted and discussed at our next staff meeting. Sincere apologies again, safe onward travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Andrew M
Inverness, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear M M, unfortunately we do not have any coin operated laundry facilities for guests but we do operate a laundry service for our guests, where the laundry is left with us in the morning and it will be washed and tumble dried by the evening. This service is £20 per one of our laundry bags. Please let me know if I can assist with any further queries, Kind regards Andrew
Debbie M asked a question Sept 2014
Lucedale, Mississippi1 contribution
Do you offer hair dryers in your rooms?
Answer from Nona O
Brookings, Oregon16 contributions13 helpful votes
Yes, there is a hairdryer in the room, not the bathroom, but the room.
BOB P wrote a tip Feb 2024
Dunfermline, United Kingdom12 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I always pay for a superior room. Costs a wee bit more buy worth every penny. It is also very handy for the railway station."
Read full review
jimjamross wrote a tip Feb 2024
Rushden, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free on road parking"
Read full review
Paula H wrote a tip Jan 2024
Stromness, United Kingdom13 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Is on a main road so expect there to be traffic noise"
Read full review
windymiller2 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Orkney, Scotland17 contributions31 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat out."
Read full review
Maria W wrote a tip Jun 2023
Northumberland, United Kingdom165 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The garden rooms were set back in the gardens and so were quiet, we gathered that main hotel was noisier as two coach loads were staying"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Thurso area.
PRICE RANGE
£73 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pentland hotel thurso
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsCaithness and SutherlandThurso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PENTLAND HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Thurso)

Frequently Asked Questions about Pentland Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Pentland Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lindsey Gallacher Jewellery and Art (0.1 miles), North Coast Visitor Centre (0.2 miles), and Top Joes (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pentland Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Pentland Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Pentland Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bydand, Pride of Bengal Indian Restaurant and Takeaway, and Spice Tandoori.
Is Pentland Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Thurso.
Are pets allowed at Pentland Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Pentland Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Pentland Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old St Peter's Church (0.3 miles) and St Mary's Chapel (0.03 miles).
Is Pentland Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Thurso HotelsThurso Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ThursoHotels near Pentland Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire