We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Highland Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Highland Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,654 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,520: English reviews
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is going from strength to strength as a venue for morning coffee. Old fashioned maybe, but the staff are wonderful and the scones and shortbread divine. It now is so sought after that it is sometimes best to book, especially if you want to take advantage of their offer of morning coffee with proseccio. They start afternoon tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ab_roody
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Love this hotel, it's a place I remember from my youth. Could never afford it then! It is little more tired now but has an air of old time opulence and elegance and still has grace of a special hotel. The staff are always helpful, would like to name them all but Fiona on reception is always pleasant, we always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruby1234966
Reay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Charming old fashioned hotel with some classic victorian features. The room was comfortable, well equipped and the bathroom spotless. The lounge offered an assortment of comfortable seating and the bar was well stocked with classic afternoon cream teas being offered. Staff were polite, friendly and efficient. Breakfast was a buffet but offered a very wide choice to suit all tastes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz R
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was perfect for our Christmas stopover as it has that 'old world' opulence you only find in a hotel of this age. With the snow outside it made it extra cosy. Although it has been somewhat modernised, the rooms are small but functional. Staff were friendly but didn't go the extra mile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel due to the location and how close it was to the train station. On arrival at booking in the staff were very pleasant the grand entrance of the staircase and the feel to entrance area was lovely. I was directed to my room and entered a fully carpeted all round lift which i felt was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoannaBell82
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff were nice enough. Room wasn't huge but had a nice bathroom. All amenities included. Wifi didn't work in our room (2nd floor). Liked the paintings on the wall in the room and the lobby is beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review - we apologise for the non functioning of wifi and the problem has now been addressed. We hope to welcome you again in Inverness.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been here twice now for my wife's birthday its a nice hotel the staff are good too but the rooms are dated the 2 times we were here we where disappointed with them but there was no point in complaining we were there to eat out and get drunk so wouldn't be in them much. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kev P
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review - we are happy to inform you that the remaining guest rooms are getting touched up and the we are hopeful of changing the room carpets by mid -Feb.We hope to welcome you again and here is wishing you a Very Happy 2017 from the Team Royal Highland.

United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed staying at this hotel. It is most convenient if you take the train - it's right by the train station. We drove, and there was limited parking, but the staff helped us find a spot. Breakfast was great, room was comfortable. Recommend if visiting Inverness.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review - we are happy to inform you that we now have a Special Arrangement with the Car Parking at the next door Eastgate Shopping Centre which has a few hundred car capacity. We hope to welcome you again and here is wishing you a Very Happy 2017 from the Team Royal Highland.

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival there appeared to be only one of our rooms booked but this was quickly resolved without any delay. We were well informed about everything that was needed to know about the hotel, dining, room service etc as well as the surroundings. We were all on the 3rd floor wich was perfect, both rooms were large and were more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norm L
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review .We hope to welcome you again and here is wishing you a Very Happy 2017 from the Team Royal Highland.

Chicago
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You can't beat the location. Or the lobby! The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, which was appreciated. The room??? Somehow for some reason we got the little attic room on the very top floor. It was well-appointed and clean, but my GOD - it was SMALL. And the floor had a downgrade. The first night I got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samsara353
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review - while we apologise that a very few of our rooms deviate from the average room size, however, being a heritage hotel of 160 years vintage - all our rooms have a special character and which we are delighted to note that you liked.We hope to welcome you again and here is wishing you...

602 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (466)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
0:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (204)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (132)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Royal Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 34 in Inverness
1,564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#28 of 34 in Inverness
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: £51 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Highland Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Highland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most t rooms are fine. I'd avoid 212. The rooms at the back can be noisy with bottles emptied into bottle banks.”
 of 5 bubbles Ruby1234966, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the rear would be away from the main road .”
 of 5 bubbles 925lizr, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a room in the attic like we did!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Samsara353, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some people have reviewed that rooms at the back are noisy however, we had room 214 at the back and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Kim356, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't till they renovate rooms. Unless ur 80”
 of 5 bubbles camillek653, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay