We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Columba Hotel, Inverness

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Columba Hotel, Inverness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,065 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 987: English reviews
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have been coming to this hotel for nearly 10years but why oh why do we keep coming back. This should be one of the best hotels in Inverness but it falls short in many ways. Staff very god but the room was freezing had to go and ask for heater, small wall panel heater in room just doing nothing....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank george w
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I tend to use regular large chain hotels when on business, however got an amazing DB&B rate with free Wifi and upgrade if available. So it was a pleasant surprise when we told our room was The Ness Suite. A massive room, with original features including a beautiful full height Bay Window accomodating a table and chairs. Ideal for catching...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard M
Tayside
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed one night in the Columba on a business trip. This hotel is ideally located for the sights and for business. Although my room was located at the back of the hotel which missed out on the great views of the Castle directly across the river it was nonetheless a great room. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rangierover
Spean Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed in executive room with a beautiful river view. Our room was good size with all round table n chairs. My only coming no bath my own preference Andy own fault for not checking. At this point we haven't eaten here first morning long lie more important but booked for checkout Forgot ear plugs a plus the heating woke regularly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suzie p
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Columba & the staff were all very nice & helpful. We were upgraded to a river view room & it was lovely, so thanks to the reception team for that. We used our itison voucher which included a late checkout (12 noon) & this made all the difference not having to rush. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2magpies2015
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Enjoyed a stay with friends at the Columba Hotel. Its central location makes it an ideal base for exploring the city. Rooms were clean and well equipped and breakfast plentiful. Staff were welcoming and helpful in reception and in the restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erikthevikn
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 1 night on our way to Ullapool for the ferry to Stornoway. The hotel is right on the river with a great view of the castle. Perfect location for sightseeing or shopping. We would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anne M
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to post feedback. Wishing you a happy Christmas. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely welcoming hotel. Rooms lovely and clean, warm, comfy and had everything you could need. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Food in Bistro at night was very good and plenty of it. Breakfast was just as good, lots of choices.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Louise R
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with everything. Pleasing to hear that the team were friendly and helpful and that the food available including breakfast was enjoyable and plenty of variety. Your comments will be shared with the team. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First things first the Columba Hotel is a Victorian building and the outside could do with some TLC, but its location is excellent, 5 minutes walk from the Eden Court Theatre complex up the river and also a few minutes to the city centre and castle across the bridge. We visited the Columba using an Itison voucher. Our check in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank aberfeldy29
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed our Victorian Building and it is indeed in a prime location . Your comments will be shared with our team as they will be delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you...

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a two-night stay with an itison voucher. Overall, our experience was pleasant. The rooms were clean, central location and the bar looked modern. The rest of the hotel could have done with a re-vamp. The dinner that was included was poor. The food was overcooked, dry and the vegetables were cold. I would not pay to eat in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CForsyth
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you were able to take advantage of the fantastic offer available on itison, which is proving very popular with our guests. We apologise for your evening meal and do hope you were able to speak to the Manager or Supervisor on shift at the time about your dissatisfaction. Very disappointed...

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#16 of 33 in Inverness
1,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 33 in Inverness
972 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#24 of 33 in Inverness
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
McNab's Bar & Bistro
McNab's Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: £45 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
north lanarkshire
1 month ago
8 months ago
Tangerang, Indonesia

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good view front hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 711georgew, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We upgraded to a river view executive double room and the views were worth the extra expense.”
 of 5 bubbles aberfeldy29, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want a room with a view you need to pay. Otherwise, be prepared for a rubbish tip or a brick wall as a view.”
 of 5 bubbles CForsyth, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request room overlooking the River Ness”
 of 5 bubbles 66haze, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask where your room is situated in relation to the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles 388annm, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay