We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Cuilcheanna House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cuilcheanna House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
florida
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Like everyone else that uses TA, I check reviews and pictures, so I was sadly disappointed in this property. We arrived on a very stormy night, with high winds and driving rain. In my haste to get out of the weather and into the house I used the wrong door. I knew my mistake immediately since I was in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tuscany1943
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review for us. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay; however I do feel that I must respond to your comments. I also feel it is appropriate to point out that although guests feel entitled to make personal comments about us, we are prevented from making personal comments...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 October 2016

The location of this B&B can't be beat. Beautiful views from our room windows. The room was very comfortable as was the bed. All the little extras that make a top notch B&B. Bathroom was a bit cramped -- but well appointed. The breakfasts were superb! Our hosts, a mother/daughter team, were friendly and helpful with suggestions and even making...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chip K
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, Chip! We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay in our home.

Sydney
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We usually use self catering, but for this trip we wanted to move around a bitmore, so B and B's were the go. Cuilcheanna House, right on the shore of Loch Linnhe, couldn't have given us a better start. It is a home with a grand history and Mary and Kirsty treated us in great sytle. The room (Iona) with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MickB53
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review for us. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay. We hope to welcome you back to Cuilcheanna House in the future.

Salem, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed in this lovely guest house on our way from the Glencoe Valley to Ft. William. The House is situated at the head of a lovely lake and the scenery from our window was breathtaking. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. There is a very nice sitting room for the use of guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review

Thank you, Pat S, for taking the time to leave this review for us. We ope to welcome you back to our home in the future.

Rosslare, Ireland
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We just stayed for a night with two French friends and it really is a beautiful place. We were a bit disappointed that neither of us had Loch views, but it didn't spoil our stay. We had a great breakfast with lots of choice. Good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jsyliz
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review for us - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that you didn't have a loch view in either of your rooms; obviously we would love to have a loch view from all rooms but sadly this is not possible. As we do not...

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Set in a beautiful location, off the main road with good parking. Knowledgeable owner booked us into an excellent local seafood restaurant. Nice clean room but bed rather springy for my liking, bathroom was clean but small & dingy with a dribble for a shower over the bath. Breakfast was good, everything we wanted and friendly service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Idyllic location, very welcoming & accommodating hosts, happy to make a packed lunch when we were out walking early one morning instead of breakfast. Comfortable single room, absolutely delicious breakfast, a fantastic place to stop on a walking holiday

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHorsley
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We only stayed for one night on our way further North but were made very welcome by the owner who was very helpful with where we could get a meal She even booked us a table at a pub up the road The view from our room over the Loch was fantastic as was the breakfast the following morning Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimsM6390EV
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Location was perfect. Off the highway, beautiful view down the loch. Room was very quiet as well as being neat and clean. Asked for dinner suggestions. ..good restaurant just down the road. Breakfast was good Scottish fare. This property is run by a mother/daughter team. Neither one showed good social skills...both very curt and quick with conversation. Neither displayed a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gothereb4MacDoes
Thornhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2016

This is an exceptionally comfortable and well equipped B & B that is expertly managed by the friendly and obliging Mary and Kirsty. The location is glorious and our room had a gorgeous view down Loch Linnhe. Breakfasts are superb with a broad range of fare, all of high quality and cooked with great expertise. Some might complain about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamish F

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.4 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
582 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alltshellach
Alltshellach
#2 of 2 in North Ballachulish
80 reviews
1.7 mi away
Creag Mhor Lodge
Creag Mhor Lodge
#5 of 11 in Ballachulish
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glendevin
Glendevin
#3 of 7 in Onich
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Corran Bunkhouse
Corran Bunkhouse
#2 of 29 in Fort William
160 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
#1 of 1 in Kinlocheil
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country guest house conveniently situated off the A82 between Ben Nevis and Glencoe. Overlooking Loch Linnhe towards Kentallen Bay and the Isle of Mull and nestling in the shadows of Bidean nam Biam and Beinn e Bheithir. There is an abundance of local wildlife and you may be lucky enough to spot roe deer, red squirrels, seals and otters, and of course experience the rich variety of bird life. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cuilcheanna House

Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range: £75 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuilcheanna House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cuilcheanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuilcheanna House Fort William, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cuilcheanna House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
florida
4 months ago
florida
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cuilcheanna House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles 427pats, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Loch view when you book!”
 of 5 bubbles Jsyliz, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with views over the loch”
 of 5 bubbles PatrickR247, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front”
  • The view from our bedroom window
 of 5 bubbles jimsM6390EV, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a South facing room with Views down the loch.”
 of 5 bubbles balbirnie1954, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay