We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tontine Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tontine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 275: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This has always been an excellent Hotel , located in the heart of the West end and has a beautiful entrance hall and the famous spiral stair case where many a bride and groom has been photographed also years gone by was the hairdressers ball and the stair case was a success with many fotos ideal hotel for a short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kebo111
Glasgow
Reviewed 2 November 2016

stayed for 1 nite 22nd oct . did not use hotel amenities much but cant complain ,staff and hotel were fine .had lunch and breakfast in hotel ,only complaint no square sausage at breakfast (not full scottish without square sausage) quality of food was good and plenty of choice .room was basic but comfortable .overall a fine hotel and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tommybhoy62
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The rooms have been upgraded since I last stayed there a few years ago. The bar is still a great place to get a pint. House cleaning staff very friendly and the shift manager went out of his way to help me out when I needed it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian4bes
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

When I arrived at the hotel, I was told by Reception that my room had been upgraded and a member of staff helped me with my luggage and took me to 'the room'. When the door opened to 'the room', I was very pleasantly surprised that the hotel had given me one of their lovely suites. I had dinner that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fifinut2016
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

We checked in as it was convenient to where our meeting was the following day. After check in where we were greeted by friendly staff we went to our rooms. They were spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. The hotel has been refurbished to a good standard without it losing the period features.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinmck
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

It's difficult for hotels outside of the main cities to compete when a level of investment is required, especially in a time of lower occupancy, but the Tontine is trying. Perhaps locked in a time warp, this hotel offers great service, however, some areas are in need of a refresh/clean (see photo's) It offers a bed for the night, don't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GFwarrior
Tontinehotel, Manager at Tontine Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. I was just wondering where the photo was taken, as it looks like the fire escape. If so it isn't a public area that is used at all therefore wouldn't get the same amount of attention. We also have never had any complaints regarding WIFI. Many Thanks

west coast of Scotland
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Didn't stay over but attended after a funeral service. The his hotel is a revelation in Greenock..The staff were absolutely lovely and very helpful.The hotel is spotless and Beautifully and tastefully decorated.Did see into a couple of the rooms as doors open and they look very spacious, Would definatly stay there if staying over.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rubyme
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel with a group of friends over four nights. Old style of hotel with no lift to the upper floors which made carrying cases quite difficult. The room we had on the first floor was large and airy with plenty of light overlooking the bowling green. Bathroom was big but had little shelf space. Unfortunately the windows...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David C
Tontinehotel, Manager at Tontine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Just to go over a few of your points. As the hotel is a listed building, unfortunatley we are not permitted to put a lift in that part of the building. We always ask on check in if you would like any help with your baggage. All of our bedrooms have double glazing windows. Breakfast...

Guisborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed here as we were going to a concert at the Beacon Arts Centre which was approx a 20 minute walk away. Lovely spacious room (No16) with a lovely decor and ensuite bathroom. We decided to have dinner in the hotel as the menu was appetising. We chose from the specials menu & we're glad we did. The meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuJoGraham
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

At a time when small hotels are struggling and closing all over Scotland all credit to the the present owners for investing to bring it up to fine standard. Having visited first for my wedding as a "wise man for the east" it remains the venue of choice for my wife's family for all family occasions. A private room is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith W

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
0.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#5 of 5 in Greenock
24 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gourock
112 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel

Address: 6 Ardgowan Square, Greenock PA16 8NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Price Range: £71 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tontine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Greenock, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tontine Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
2 months ago
Hove, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Brick
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Tontine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“bridal rooms and South facing rooms just ask on a quiet area so not any noise in evening”
 of 5 bubbles kebo111, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a suite, if you can afford it!”
 of 5 bubbles fifinut2016, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room No 16 is on the top floor and was quiet, so great for a good nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles JuJoGraham, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Anywhere you stay here is fine”
 of 5 bubbles smb521, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid if possible”
 of 5 bubbles jrvb1, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay