We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Rosemount Hotel

Save
Share
12 Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (19)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 05/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 05/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 18 hotels in Pitlochry
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Small,cosy,friendly hotel set in an Edwardian villa over looking stunning views of Pitlochry to the south and upwards to the fabulous Ben Vrackie mountain to the north. Pet and family friendly.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
626Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 287
  • 175
  • 74
  • 46
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sharon S wrote a review Oct 2021
Hornsea, United Kingdom24 contributions8 helpful votes
Very welcoming for us and our dog. Room was clean and comfortable, very good covid precautions. Pre booking system for meals, saving time and very efficient. Food was also very good. Staff were very attentive especially to the dog who had her own sausage every morning, cut up in a dog bowl!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Morag054 wrote a review Oct 2021
Fife, United Kingdom39 contributions36 helpful votes
I guess you either like a certain hotel or you don’t, and we liked this one because it was comfortable, quiet and well located. We had room 12 which is a premium room with a fab view. They were doing a mid week DBB discounted deal for the premium rooms. Staff were great and so was the food. The en-suite was very big, but the shower cubicle could have been bigger. Could you please put a toiletry shelf in the cubicle?! Thankyou.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Urry, Owner at Rosemount Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2021
Hello and many thanks for sending a review. Your comments are immensely helpful and have echoed a few issues that have arisen over the past season. Its great that your appreciative comments also depict the very style of operation we aim to be - quiet, comfortable, close to town and the fabulous scenery around, with great views, an amazing team of staff and scrumptious food. Thank you for offering critique in a nice way. Such information is like gold dust to us, and we absorb every word to guide our future actions. We are aware of the shelf issue in the shower cubicle, but this is a job for a tradesman, as we must prevent water leaking through any fittings and down the back of the enclosure tiling. We tend to store up a raft of smaller jobs to make it worthwhile for a tradesperson to visit us. Understandably, they won't come for small return. Accordingly, this is on our list for the end of the season, when we close for odd days for such purposes. The shower stall is a 900mm quadrant. We quite thought that this would be viewed as a substantial size. I am very sorry that this was not the case for yourselves. So, on an anticipatory note, we hope that you will come and visit us again. We genuinely intend that the shelf will be robustly fitted in the shower cubicle by then. Have nice cosy Winter!
Read more
MacValk wrote a review Oct 2021
Hamilton, United Kingdom32 contributions33 helpful votes
Great hotel & very accommodating for dogs. Owners are huge dog lovers and allow dogs in bedrooms, bar and dog section of the restaurant. The chef ( Simon) and waiter (Peter) were very attentive to both us and our 14 week excitable puppy. Dogs were given a sausage at breakfast, bowls of water were available any time you asked. They even kept our dog food in the fridge (in a sealed bag). They will bend over backwards to help you and your dog. The food and service was the real standout thing for us. Really good food and well prepared. Service was quick, attentive and not intrusive. Room we had (rm4) was a bit basic and quite dated, but it was comfy and adequate for what we needed. Would I recommend this hotel?.... Absolutely yes... especially if you have a dog. 😊
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Urry, Owner at Rosemount Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2021
Hello and thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to read that you have had a good experience during your stay, especially that you enjoyed our food and quality of service. We acknowledge your comments about Room 4. It has been hard-used, since we fill most Summers. It was amongst several rooms due to be refurbished before the c-word hit. I hope you understand that we dared not spend large amounts during the eighteen months of closure that followed, tackling, instead, wall-work and paintwork that could be managed ourselves. We hope, also, that with many hotels in the area charging as much as between £100 and £500 more than us a night, in an attempt to recoup losses, that our rates were a fair reflection upon the overall package. Room 2 and 4 are at the top of the list for a re-model, this Winter. We have exciting plans and can't wait to get stuck in. We're currently buried in wallpaper and tile samples. It's so hard to decide! We agonise over colour schemes and finishes for ages before making up our minds. Your wee dog was a true delight, so well-behaved and congenial. We really enjoyed having you all to stay and hope to repeat the pleasure again very soon.
Read more
Marias wrote a review Oct 2021
Plymouth, United Kingdom73 contributions19 helpful votes
Good location, very nice & efficient receptionist/waiter. Not a great breakfast choice but it was nice. We had room 6 which was very cramped, no wardrobe only a rail with 5 hangers, we had to plug the kettle in on the floor which is dangerous. Very small bathroom with small shower cubicle & no rack for the shampoo/gel (hard to bend down to get it), toilet didn't flush properly & the seat wouldn't stay up, wall light didn't work, no towel rails to dry your towels, the hot tap was boiling hot and splurted out, tiny TV, stained carpets. Not value for money, don't stay in room 6.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: About 10 minutes walk to town, plenty of places to eat & drink. Lots of lovely walks and scenery...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Urry, Owner at Rosemount Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2021
I am so sorry to hear of your displeasure, especially because, during your stay we had another, empty Regular room, or, alternatively, the possibility to upgrade, had you just mentioned something to us. We've worked full-on, all guns blazing, all season, and, I think we must be growing a little weary to have not picked up on any signals of discontent from you as well as we might. I can't tell you how distressing it is that you stayed for 2 nights in a room you were unhappy with and we didn't even notice. That's not our usual form. Our rooms have been virtually full since re-opening, hard used, but scrupulously cleaned. However, we simply have not had resources to make good on major refurbishments that should have happened early in 2020, but could not, due to the hammer-blow that hit us all at that time. In recognition of this, our prices have been set well below many in the town, sometimes by a huge margin, and we always hoped this comparision would mould expectations. The carpet in room 6 is not dirty, since it is regularly shampooed. It has been sun-burned and, in the window area has changed colour in a way that looks less than appealing. It is to be ripped out over the coming Winter as we re-carpet the entire section of rooms in that area. The comment about a toiletries shelf is acknowledged and is on our list of small jobs for a tradesperson to carry out at the end of the season. Had we known of the toilet issue, we could have fixed that ourselves, but, in view of your other issues, we would have offered you the other available room, rather than just patching things up for you. Needless to say, the points you have mentioned that we would be able to rectify ourselves, have since been actioned. In view of your review, we have down-graded room 6 to an Economy room and will wait until we can get to it with a fairly major remodelling before reverting it to Regular status. I would be happy to refund you the difference in tariff if you could contact me (by email, please).
Read more
Steve Bulley wrote a review Oct 2021
North Shields, United Kingdom2 contributions
Just returned from 2 nights stay at The Rosemount Hotel. This is our second time here. From the minute you walk in you’re made to feel welcome with owners and staff being extremely friendly. The room was fantastic, big comfy bed, modern bathroom and a separate sitting area. The hotel is in a nice quiet location about 5 minutes walk to Pitlochry Main Street. Breakfast and evening meals were good and tasty with a good choice of menu. Our dog was made to feel as welcome as we were. We 100% recommend this hotel and we will be staying again sooner rather than later we hope. When staying in Pitlochry there is no other hotel for us. This hotel is great value.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 which has a separate sitting area. The whole hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Urry, Owner at Rosemount Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2021
Thank you for a lovely account of your stay. It's simply heartwarming to know that you have made yourselves so much at home, here, and have almost become part of the family. This is something we want for all of our wonderful visitors and it feels great when we get it right. All we wish for, every day, is that everyone that walks through our door feels the enveloping warmth of Rosemount and embraces the urge to kick off their shoes, wind down several gears and absorb the wonderful charms of Pitlochry, letting the rest of the world spin on its own for a while. If we can add to the pleasure with a comfortable room, some well-cooked food and attentive service, then that's the icing on the cake. A worthy ideal, I know, but it's why we are here and it's worth aiming for. It's great to seetghat you've booked for New Year and are bringing along some friends. We're really looking forward to seeing you! Until then . . .
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rosemount hotel pitlochry
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossPitlochry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rosemount Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rosemount Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pitlochry Festival Theatre (0.5 miles), Black Spout Wood (0.2 miles), and Robertsons of Pitlochry (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rosemount Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Rosemount Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Rosemount Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rosemount Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant at Knockendarroch, Cidsin Bistro and Gin Bar, and Escape Route Cafe.
Is Rosemount Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Pitlochry.
Are pets allowed at Rosemount Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Rosemount Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St David's Well (8.0 miles).
Does Rosemount Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Rosemount Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.