We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Arrandale Hotel

Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
As a small family hotel we pride ourselves on good friendly service , smart and stylish decor , individuality, clean rooms and going the extra mile for our guests. The building is approaching its 200th, neatly as old as it’s owner. We are situated between start of town and our huge family friendly beach . We are licensed and you can enjoy a drink in our large but cosy lounge. We can accommodat early arrivals / late arrivals , early breakfasts , arrange golfing for travellers . Ayr is my home town, my family have lived here for generations so I have an extensive knowledge of the area , please just ask as always happy to help . We have rooms in the ground floor for guests with mobility issues, there is only one upper floor , with an easy staircase . The entire hotel is non smoking with a non smoking area to the front of hotel with some nice seating , tables and ground standing wrought iron ash trays . If you have a question to ask before booking , please do.
Read more
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
96Great for walkers
Grade: 96 out of 100
50Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
13Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
114Reviews
26Photos
0Q+A
22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 61
  • 29
  • 9
  • 7
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Wanted an overnight stay in Ayr and this was one of the cheapest hotels so wasn't really expecting too much. What a pleasant surprise. Our room was a reasonable size and the bed was comfy. The staff are lovely and really make you feel welcome. We paid extra to have breakfast
Read more
3 star hotel with a excellent Scottish breakfast a very uncomfortable room friendly staff landlady is very hospitable and nothing is to much if you ask Very close to the centre and the beach Fanastic stay and no hesitation in recommending and will definitely stay here again
Read more
Absolutely fabulous hotel Linda is so nice and very helpful. My partner comes with one of his clubs he’s in and has never had a complaint I came down on Sunday for a few days break with my partner ;) And it’s absolutely lovely absolutely spotless clean bed is so comfortable
Read more
This is a wonderful hotel to stay at. It is a short walk from the beach and not far from the town centre. I used it as a base for my Photography, but it is not to far from the racecourse for when there is racing on. There are also lots of Golf courses in the Ayr area. The staff
Read more
My first impressions were that the place was lovely but when you look twice you can see it's not had much spent on it in some time. it's the small details like the toilet seat which was stained all around the inside (see photos) the bad crack in the shower tray, it discoloured
Read more
Response from AyrLindaE, Owner at The Arrandale Hotel
Responded 31 Oct 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel Sarah, despite so many inaccuracies, it still hurts to get two such bad ones from the same couple but, it came as no surprise whatsoever that you were enlisted to add weight to your partner Kate’s earlier review . The main issue .... the bed? We have two bed frames like these in the hotel, your total exaggeration of “unless you are 5 ft nothing” being an absolute nonsense BUT if you had advised that one of the ladies was 6 foot 5 “ we would have moved you . Most guests when extra tall do mention this when booking . The whole “dinner “ thing was complete & total fabrication and when I asked your partner to show me where you found the info, mysteriously it had disappeared. Couple of last facts ... cleanliness was a big deal ? and you moved to another hotel with a lower cleanliness record than us . Also I was advised to record as a no show, so you wouldn’t be charged. We start the refurb to the room you were in on Monday ( normally happens every couple of years)!, it was scheduled to begin 4 weeks ago but due to a very busy October it didn’t happen, and thank goodness for that ! In my world it’s fact and proven track record over 12 years that matter, not backlash from someone who disliked me/us intensely. Best wishes and good luck Sarah, you were a nice guest and thank you for coming to see us . Linda
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
my room
Super shower
Bedroom
The view from our room.
Flat Pillows
"13 rooms in total ask for what you want when you book"
"nice quite room"
"The Aisle and Jura rooms were comfortable and large"
"We had the Iona room, which we liked"
"Our room was at the back of the hotel be believe the only one with a sea view. Though it looks down a cobbled street to the view."
PreviousNext
12345
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arrandale hotel ayr
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandSouth AyrshireAyr
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing