We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Port of Menteith Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RD Scotland
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfoyle

Location

Full view
Contact
Port of Menteith Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RD Scotland
Getting there
Turnhouse Airport41 miSee all flights
Glasgow Intl Airport23 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
161Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 141
  • 15
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Kylee B wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Our family of 3 had a lovely experience staying at Malling West in May 2021. We stayed just one night. Peaceful location and a beautiful big garden for our little one to explore. Morag was full of helpful advice and a very friendly host, who also provided a delicious full breakfast. Our room was cosy and very nicely laid out for a compact space. We hope to stop by again someday. Thank you again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Morag Hadley, Owner at Malling West
Responded 7 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and for your kind comments. It was nice to meet you and your family. I thoroughly enjoyed chatting with Miss Isobel. Maybe we will see you the next time you are in Scotland. Kind Regards. Morag.
Read more
Parkmunder wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
My wife and I recently stayed at Malling West B&B as we had signed up for a full-day course at the nearby Nick Nairn Cookery School and this B&B is very handy for that. On arrival, we were given a warm welcome by Morag, the owner, who is friendly and chatty. The B&B has two guest bedrooms, one downstairs and the other upstairs. Morag took us to the upstairs room. She explained there was no television in either of the guest bedrooms due to the walls being too thick to install a TV and she thought the added benefit was not having to worry about TV noise from the other room which, presumably was directly below. The room is in the eaves and therefore has sloping ceilings. Morag showed us the shower room which was very small, also with sloping ceilings. She also told us that there was no guest lounge (despite the photos on the website appearing to show that there is. The lounge in the photos is for the owners’ use, not guests). The room was very clean but we had not been there long when we realised that it was rather chilly and that neither radiator was giving out any heat. We thought perhaps the heating would come on at 6pm. It didn’t. We went downstairs about 6.30pm to head for the restaurant Morag had kindly booked for us and met Phil. We explained the room was cold which he thought surprising as other people had complained it was too hot; after checking that we had turned the radiator up (we had) and that we hadn’t opened a window (we hadn’t) he said he would check it while we were out. On our return, the room was less cold; one radiator was giving off some warmth despite being turned up full. The other was still cold. We probably should have spoken to Morag and Phil again that evening but we were tired so didn’t. The double bed had a cosy duvet so we weren’t cold during the night. In the morning, one radiator came on about 8.15am but the other remained cold. By then we had already showered and dressed. As mentioned, the shower room is very small and, although neither of us is particularly tall, we did worry about banging our heads on the sloping ceilings – just something to be aware of. Morag and Phil had asked us the evening before what we wanted for breakfast. As we knew we would be getting a big lunch etc at the cookery school, neither of us wanted much. My wife asked for cereal and I asked for a couple of rashers of bacon and toast. If you want a full cooked breakfast, there seems to be a very good choice from the breakfast menu. We were, though, a bit surprised when Phil brought a bowl of cornflakes through to the dining room for my wife. In B&Bs we have stayed before you are usually able to help yourself in the dining room to cereals, fruits, juices, yoghurts etc but there was nothing like that out. Phil did say that they don’t do so much when there are only two people staying. When we mentioned about the lack of heat in the room again, he said that they don’t put the heating on early if people are having breakfast later. We had decided before breakfast that we did not want to stay a second night due really to the lack of comfort in the bedroom for relaxing in, the size of the shower room, and the temperature issues. Phil asked to join us at the breakfast table and we told him then that we would be leaving but that we would honour the two-night booking we had made. However, we also felt that we had had to convince Phil that the room had been cold as he did ask again if we had opened a window or not turned up the radiator. Morag and Phil did seem a very nice couple and certainly the majority of reviews on Trip Advisor reflect that; however, we have now read some of the more negative ones and we have to agree with the comments about the lack of ‘guest facilities’. This may not be an issue in the Summer when the days are longer and you can spend more time outside but if you are staying at other times of the year, when it gets darker and colder earlier and everywhere in the area shuts at 5pm, then allowing guests to use the lounge (which looked lovely with an amazing view across the grounds) would make for a much more relaxing experience. Morag has responded to most of the reviews so she may well respond to this one too. We thought that most of the reviews, whether negative or the more positive ones, offered helpful tips and advice. We think that with very few ‘tweaks’ our stay would have been much nicer. Morag has referred to the toiletries in the bathroom and the hospitality tray in the bedroom; we do have to say that there was only soap and handcream in the shower room but no other toiletries and that the tray held only tea/coffee – no biscuits, so assume that this was an oversight and that these things are usually provided.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Koesser wrote a review Jul 2019
Chemnitz, Germany80 contributions13 helpful votes
Morag and Phil are friendly and like to talk to people. They helped us with ideas for the days and booked a table at a restaurant for us. At first the room looked nice. We had the room downstairs. There was no TV in the room, very unusual. But there was too less space. The door of the wardrobe was not really reachable because it opens the wrong way and a chair stands directly in front of it. The chest of drawers were filled with other things so we could not put our things in them. The part of the house where we stayed is 300 years old and damp. After we left, we noticed that the bags and everything inside and the personal clothes things we had packed out where very damp. The bathroom smelled a little and there were no shampoo or shower gel, the towels were rugged. They did not offer as much food as we got at other B&Bs for the same price, no yoghurt or cereals. They same apples, bananas and grapes were offered to us day by day. The Stornoway Black Pudding was the best of the breakfast in the mornings. And at the end we were ask to write a good rating here at Tripadvisor. Sorry, not again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Morag H, General Manager at Malling West
Responded 8 Aug 2019
I am at a loss as to how to respond to this vitriol! However, I'd like to say that. 1) There is very good reason why there is No TV in the room! 2) You should have let us know that neither you or your husband were able to move the chair the six inches to open the wardrobe! 3) Two of the Eight drawers in the room have a spare quilt in for the comfort of guests should they feel the need! 4) I have no idea why, if, your clothes were "very damp"? 5) I was going to list the number of toiletries in the bathroom; but it would take too long! however I do apologise if the towels were not to your satisfaction. They were not "Jagged" though I do like to line dry all of our bed linen and towels when our Scottish weather permits! 6) I was going to put a copy of our breakfast menu on here to let future guests see for themselves, but I have decided to not to dignify this final ridiculous comment! Morag Hadley
Read more
Hervé L wrote a review Jul 2019
Metz, France23 contributions5 helpful votes
Our familly had been welcomed by Morag and Phil for the first night of our family scottish trip. What a wonderful stay ! Our young children spent a lot of time with phil and enjoyed this time. Everything was perfect, the house, the garden .. Phil gave us lot of advises and made a a very good breakfast. Morag and Phil are both nice and welcoming persons. If we come back in scotland we will definitely have another stay in their house ! Morag Phil Thank you !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Morag H, Owner at Malling West
Responded 27 Jul 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of your stay with us at Malling West. We are really pleased you had a such memorable stay. Please come back and see us when you come back to Scotland. Thank you once again. Morag and Phil.
Read more
VCR wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
We stayed 2 nights in June to attend a friend’s wedding in the area. Malling West is a lovely Bed & Breakfast in beautiful surroundings. Warm, cosy, comfortable and spotlessly clean - we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend to anyone looking for accommodation for whatever the reason! Hosts Morag and Phil were exceptionally welcoming, knowledgeable and made a delicious breakfast from a wide range of choice - don’t think I’ll be trying haggis again though, Phil! ;) Thank you for a wonderful stay. Victoria & Chris
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Morag H, Owner at Malling West
Responded 11 Jul 2019
Thank you so much for your very kind comments! We are delighted to read your review as you were so busy during your stay with us, thank you for your lovely comment in our guest book in your bedroom. I know you were going home to pack and start all over again so I hope you had a fantastic time! The fact that you have been so busy since your stay with us, means a lot that you remembered us and have taken the time to write this review. Phil says "how about porridge next time? We hope to meet you again one day! Kind Regards Morag and Phil.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandStirlingshireLoch Lomond and The Trossachs National ParkAberfoyle
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Malling West
Which popular attractions are close to Malling West?
Nearby attractions include Ben A'an (5.0 miles), Three Lochs Forest Drive (2.5 miles), and Inchmahome Priory (1.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Malling West?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, free internet access, and hiking.
Is parking available at Malling West?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Malling West?
Conveniently located restaurants include Scott's Bistro, Venachar Lochside, and The Forth Inn.
Are there any historical sites close to Malling West?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Inchmahome Priory (1.6 miles) and Rob Roy's Grave (2.3 miles).