We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Ground

Show Prices
#1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,439 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,406: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Ground
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My SO and I stayed here recently on vacation. The staff were extremely courteous, the rooms were excellent, and, most incredibly of all, there was free parking. Being from America, we had basically never seen this before. We also ate dinner in their restaurant on Valentine's Day. It was a four-course meal and was easily some of the best food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa D
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This has to be our favourite hotel in Ireland. We have enjoyed our most recent stay in room 316, an upgrade for my birthday which was fabulous. Food in The Town Hall Bistro is excellent and I want the recipe for their breads. Staff are charming and helpful and there is always a lovely atmosphere in the hotel lobby. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madmartina
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fantastic place for a wrap-around cozy winter stay. Bedrooms serene decor and lighting, makes for ultimate relaxation. Great choice of venues within the hotel, from the lively bar, or the warm fires in the lobby lounges, and restaurant. Then the 5* food at the Town Hall restaurant with a Mediterranean slant. From the tasty bread selection, not to mention the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ycronin
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Dear Guest from Cork we totally appreciate your heading "Best in the West" and are delighted that you enjoyed the lively atmosphere and the great food and also managed to rest amid the serene decor in our very comfortable bedrooms. Our team are constantly working to ensure we find better ways to enhance guest satisfaction and there is an ongoing...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our room suffered from dim lighting and a poorly finished bathroom. The cold tap was broken, the toilet seat had peeling and cracked paint, the sink sealant was unfinished and the paint on the walls was peeling. In contrast, the lady on reception worked incredibly hard to persuade us to stay & offered us the opportunity to look at other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil1310
Dublin
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I visited this hotel in January, sadly only for one night. We were warmly welcomed by the staff on reception. My husband had a painful foot at the time and the staff managed to find us a beautiful room (a suite, which was a generous upgrade) so that he wouldn't have to walk too far to come...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suzieblue48
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Dear Suzie Blue, thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review. We are devastated to read that you were burgled while you were away and I hope that too many of your valuables were not taken or destroyed. I also hope the painful foot has recovered - of course our team will always make...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Old Ground Hotel is a nice place, the rooms are spacious and somewhat well equipped. I'd like to have had a real shower instead of a bath but it's not the end of the world. Breakfast is good, served from a menu instead of normal buffet. The restaurant options for evening are great, food was always perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark R
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Dear Mark Our sincere apologies - we had one shower in the hotel that was not working for 2 days. Otherwise all our bedrooms have showers and we will of course ensure that this is the case for your next visit. Thank you for the lovely review - we hope to see you soon again, Best regards Mary Gleeson

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We drove into town on a Saturday as we had a flight from Shannon on Sunday morning. We had a GPS but all the streets were blocked. A very nice fellow working at a restaurant got in the car with us to direct us to the hotel. If he had not, we would not have found it. When we checked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mitten B
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Dear Guest from Columbia, I am not sure if there was something special on in town when you visited as the GPS would generally easily guide you from Shannon Airport to turn right before you reach the shopping part of the town which contains many narrow winding historic streets. When you make this right turn, another left brings you very...

Cordoba
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is very nice and calm. Parking is free and available outside. It is located in front of a church so my sister woke up at 7:30 because of the bells sound. Breakfast includes American and full Irish one. I would just say the bathroom needs to be fixed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pipiycuchu
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a hotel. It's an old quaint hotel. Situated in the center of the town. Exit the front door and you are on the main shopping street. The food is fantastic. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Very highly recommended. We had breakfast lunch and dinner here as we stayed for 3 nights. All meals were top class. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donal H
St. George, Bermuda
Reviewed 1 week ago

You'll never want to leave :) Allen Flynn has impeccable taste, his staff are amazing and standards are high. Nothing is too much trouble. The food, even in the bar, will delight you! There is a great energy in this hotel. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Ennis is a fabulous town.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ali B

727 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (303)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (406)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (38)
Viewed
Executive King Room (35)
Viewed
Junior Suite (41)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (34)
Viewed
Suite (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
1.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
764 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
998 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Town Hall Cafe
Town Hall Cafe
Cuisines: Irish, European, Soups
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Price Range: £74 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
The Old Ground Ennis, Ireland - County Clare
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ground staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
Phoenix, Arizona
Kilkenny, Ireland
over a year ago
Birmingham
8 days ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King room is well worth the upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles madmartina, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“404 was recently refurbished. Heated tile on the floor of the bathroom! room 523 was VERY spacious”
 of 5 bubbles DebbieO730, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have heavy luggage ask for a room near the lifts. Corridors are long with lots of heavy fire doors.”
  • Spacious room with bathroom, tv, etc
  • Great window seat
  • Spacious room with plenty of seating
  • Spotless bathroom with full size bath and floor was warm!
 of 5 bubbles SweersLyn, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views over the garden and church.”
 of 5 bubbles 39ciarans, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hotel is located just across from the church/cathedral.”
 of 5 bubbles entersandlady, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5