We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Central Hotel - Donegal

Expedia.comUS$131*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$134*
US$131*
Great Deal
US$134*
US$134*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Central Hotel - Donegal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

715 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 678: English reviews
Start your review of The Central Hotel - Donegal
 Click to rate
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Its not 5 star but a nice hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful especially the breakfast girls. Nothing is a bother tor them. My room was spacious and although slightly dated was really clean and comfortable. Maid service every day. My only real complaint was the chef(s) really do like to cook their vegetables almost to a puree consistency...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary15102016
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here over may bank hol wknd, went into the bar area for food and I'm so glad we did, there is a lovely menu on with a great selection, but the biggest shock was the way our food was presented to us was fantastic, had the seafood chowder to start an my friends had the seafood platter which looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westsussexone
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent Saturday night in the central hotel in donegal town and have to say I was disappointed with my room .The room was quite small and not much room for anything else but sleeping .We also felt that it was quite expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank genekirk54
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Reasonable priced hotel given the central location. Breakfast was ok nothing fancy. Evening meal was very nice. Water in leisure centre was cold and changing area very basic - no shower gel etc. Great to be able walk around and visit the pubs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosey R
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here 4 or 5 times now on a biannual work conference. As it was paid for by work I can't speak to the value, except to say that once we went elsewhere and the powers that be decided immediately to return here next time. We take over a big conference room and function room, with all our meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank enterprisingsoul
duiblin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just visited the Thai themed restaurant attached to the central hotel, was not staying at the hotel so my review refers only to the restaurant and not hotel. Overall a poor experience, at the start when ordering my daughter enquired if prawn crackers were served we were told yes one basket was but a second basket was an extra charge....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oneillmg
Kenmare, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend, we were in Donegal for my friends wedding. The location is super - hairdressers, supermarkets, restaurants, bars and pharmacy are just a minutes walk away so it is very convenient. When we checked in we were placed in a very very small double room that should really only be a single room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anzosullivan
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear anzosullivan, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent stay with us. We are more than happy to accommodate our guests in any way we can to ensure they have an enjoyable stay so we are delighted that you enjoyed your few nights. We are glad to hear that you found our...

Coleraine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in hotel overnight on Easter Monday. We tried to get the central heating on in evening, but it did not come on. Reported it that evening, reception staff promised someone would come to room to fix it, but no one came In morning, I reported this to reception when checking out, they acknowledged the problem I asked would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derekfloyd
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear Derek, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are genuinely disappointed to hear of the issues you encountered with the heating during your stay - please accept our sincere apologies. This is not the standard that we work to and I will pass your comments on to the Manager. We rely...

Donegal Town, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Husband, myself and our 10 month old enjoyed a lovely early dinner here yesterday. Pad Thai & Red Curry were YUM, accompanied by some Thai beer. Anne was a very lovely host, couldn't have been nicer. Will certainly be back =)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MWilkesy
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear MWilkesy, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to our newly re-opened Thai Restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your experience. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by the entire team here at The Central, especially Ann, your host on the night. We look forward to welcoming...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stumbled across the Thai Restaurant by accident whilst wakking around the diamond and OMG the place is a hidden gem, the decor is elegant the staff are so polite and helpful anfd the food well it was on another level - thai heaven! This is worth a visit worth travelling miles too, you will not be dissappointed. We went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csmart74
Catherine D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review

Dear csmart74, Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to our newly re-opened Thai restaurant. We really appreciate your kind comments and are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Niamh

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
14.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
720 reviews
13.8 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
783 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
387 reviews
15.1 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
3,993 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located in The Heart of Donegal Town on the doorstep of all local amenities and ideal base for touring County Donegal. The Central Hotel is situated near beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Sliabh League (the highest seacliff edge in Europe). Conveniently located for Glenveagh National Park and Glencolmcille Irish Folk Village - a must see! The beautiful County of Donegal has been voted "Coolest Destination 2017" by the famous National Geographic Magazine. Seasonal Entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimentary Leisure Facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Address: | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Price Range: £86 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Central Hotel - Donegal staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Dunoon, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
Leeds, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Annan, United Kingdom

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Central Hotel - Donegal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“369 was the small room we were first assigned”
anzosullivan, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sorry we only used the restaurant not the hotel”
csmart74, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the lake very nice , great view”
jacinta5550, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with river view. they're lovely!”
dcmerryton, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't use this hotel if you have mobility issues unless you get a ground or first room floor.”
65AnneM, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$131* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$134
PricelineUS$134
Hotels.comUS$131
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates