We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Clarence

Show Prices
#44 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Clarence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,373: English reviews
Start your review of The Clarence
 Click to rate
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

You can not beat the location! The staff is wonderful and the rooms comfortable. Desk clerks are extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.....great suggestions for restaurants, pubs and sites to see.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank timcC3025YR
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here in December for a night. The hotel seemed fine downstairs, but the rooms were tiny, and worn compared to previous visits. Curtains were frayed, things slightly damaged and it just seemed run down. The main problem was the staff. Highly rude and one staff member in particular was so rude that we made a complaint...twice. The bigger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It's disappointing to read you did not enjoy your time here at The Clarence when you stayed a couple of months ago and that you feel disappoint to the extent that you believe you were treated badly and that other potential guests should avoid staying here. In order to fully look into the matter, may I ask that you email...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Love the simplicity of the hotel , love oak wood and that key to open the door is so good to keep the traditional history . Great location and beautiful food at the restaurant . Love Dublin and the Irish accent especially with men

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank newxes
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for your 5* review of The Clarence following your recent stay. We're glad to read that you love the style of the hotel and we hope to see you back for more Irish hospitality soon.

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I am very biased when it comes to this hotel as my husband and I have been a couple of times my sister and my mum visited last year and my daughter visited a few years ago and for obvious reasons as a mad U2 freak !!!! when in Dublin this is where I need to stay - Purchased this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review this return visit to The Clarence. It was a pleasure to have you back here and to add in the little touches that make this stay memorable for the right reasons. The points made about the bathroom have been noted and where possible will be improved upon. It's a pity to read you...

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having visited the Clarence Hotel some years ago and enjoyed it, I returned again this year for a two night stay over Valentines. Whilst the Clarence is still an imposing building from the outside, inside it felt very soulless and lacked any warmth or engaging atmosphere. Our room 309 was a good size, but again just felt dismal. No robes,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It's disappointing to read that your recent stay at The Clarence did not match the expectations you had based on a previous stay. Your feedback is appreciated and noted and we hope that this experience does not deter you from hopefully returning in the future.

Paris, France
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was in Dublin for vacations. The Clarence Hotel is excellent. The room was very comfortable and quiet. I also love the bar and the restaurant. Thank you for your wellcoming. I will come back again. Best regards.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brigitte378
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to have you stay at The Clarence recently and it's great to read you found the hotel to be excellent. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely time at The Clarence, it was situated in a brilliant position in Temple Bar and was 5 /10 minutes walk to all the main areas. Even though we were directly above a bar it was not intrusive as the windows are well glazed. The room was nice, shower was great apart from the sticky shower curtain!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BevSweeney
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

It's a pleasure to read the many kind comments in your review, in particular your compliment regarding the team here. We hope to see you return for another enjoyable stay in the near future.

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Following a Vicar Street concert, needed a quality overnight base before returning to the UK. The Clarence fitted the bill perfectly being on the banks of the Liffy near halfpenny bridge and a rear door straight into Temple Bar. The decor is classic with hints of Art Deco and lots of fine wood features. Service was excellent although not rushed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
Niton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a fabulous hotel, bar and food are great, the rooms are immaculate and cosy, the beds are superb the best I've ever slept in and the pillows are feather but what really makes this hotel stand out is the staff, nothing is too much trouble they always have a smile for you and make time for you. The Clarence...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buddleinn
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is truly an experience. A great hotel on a great location with friendly staff. Beautiful rooms (free upgrade to Garden Terrace), and an amazing breakfast with possibly the best Eggs Benedict I ever had. View from the room and terrace was amazing. Definitely a place to go!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JTuitBest

845 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (360)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (141)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (440)
Viewed
Double Room with Balcony (48)
Viewed
Garden Suite with Terrace (55)
Viewed
Penthouse (166)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Suite (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Twin Bedroom (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#33 of 153 in Dublin
2,589 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
2,350 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#41 of 153 in Dublin
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarence boasts fifty bedrooms and suites, along with our world famous Penthouse Suite. Our rooms range from Classic through Deluxe and on to our River View and Garden Terrace Suites. Our furnishings are simple: classic Shaker oak, beds dressed in cool white linen, sitting elegantly in contrast to a palate of vibrant cardinal colours, rich drapes and luxe carpets. We aim to provide all the simple needs of our guests and we offer 'round the clock room service and all rooms have complimentary WiFi as standard. Our city centre location means car space is at a premium, but we do have a small underground car park that can be reserved for a small nightly supplement. It is also worth noting that our location does mean that the area can be lively at night, especially at the weekends and while we have taken every effort to reduce noise, it is not possible to block it all out. Please do consider this before booking. Within the hotel complex there are many drinking and dining experiences, from the chilled out bliss of The Study to the super stylish Octagon Bar, the perfect spot for an afternoon cocktail or a laid back nightcap. We also have Michelin star chef Oliver Dunne's Cleaver East restaurant within our walls and we are very proud that Oliver and his team provide all catering at the hotel, so whether it's a late night bite in your room or a Full Irish breakfast the next morning, you know your food will be of the highest standard, made from the freshest produce, closely cared for by Michelin starred hands. In the bowels of our building you will find the luxurious cocktail and food bar The Liquor Rooms, home to Dublin's arts set and the first ROI bar ever to be nominated in the prestigious Tales of the Cocktail Spirited Awards. On our first floor, overlooking the River Liffey lies The Cleaver East Suite at The Clarence, which can be reserved for special occasions, from large weddings to intimate business meetings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: £107 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Family Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Clarence staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Clarence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nothing to say apart from perfect ! ”
 of 5 bubbles newxes, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room for one person”
 of 5 bubbles brigitte378, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher up the better to avoid the Temple Bar late night noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 891PeterR, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you don't want the boom boom boom of Temple Bar all night request a waterside room..”
 of 5 bubbles 20paular, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The room was nothing special ”
 of 5 bubbles Betty242, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5