We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection

Save
Share
27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin D02 K224 Ireland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Autograph
US$479
View deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$506
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1617)
Room & Suite (475)
Dining (184)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 23/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection
Updated 23/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#33 of 173 hotels in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection is Dublin’s most prestigious and historic five-star property. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, it is surrounded by the city’s best-known landmarks, most significant historical and cultural sites, and most popular shopping areas. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Autograph Collection, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendor. The hotel offers 265 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, including 19 lavish suites, many named after the hotel’s most notable guests and figures, including Grace Kelly, John F. Kennedy, Michael Collins and Eamon de Valera For almost 200 years The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for food and beverage in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, an elegant Irish restaurant, reassuringly timeless, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge an iconic drawing room that serves Afternoon Tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar, the place to see and be seen. The hotel features a luxurious Spa & Salon offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Safe
Iron
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Park View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
4625Reviews77Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,146
  • 841
  • 381
  • 161
  • 96
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
CML wrote a review 11 Oct
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked this because I felt this hotel really was the ultimate treat for my Mother’s birthday. I’ve never written a review here before but I am disappointed. When we arrived and checked in, I was surprised to see they took a refundable €50 deposit from my bank account rather than just hold my card details. Arrived to the room and there were no biscuits to go with a coffee. Had to ring reception as we were not provided any information about the hotel on check in. The pool and changing rooms were way below standard. 1827 bar is gorgeous and shoutout to Bradley and Darragh who provided excellent service. Aside from the pool, the hotel is unbelievably clean. We did have a lovely time and it’s a perfect location but it doesn’t have the 5 star quality I was expecting.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucius Farrell, Other at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection
Responded 5 days ago
Dear 267cmll, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to read that you felt our location was perfect and that you had a lovely time overall however I am disappointed to learn that element of your experience at the hotel was not what you expected. Your feedback is very much valued and creates opportunity for us to develop as a hotel. It also gives us the information we need to train our associates in a way which allows them to provide the highest level of customer service, which we strive to do on a daily basis here in the hotel. I am sorry to read that your experience fell short on this occasion. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Warm Regards, Lucius Farrell Hotel Manager
Read more
Vic Y wrote a review 9 Oct
Anacortes, Washington21 contributions20 helpful votes
Spent 4 nights at the Shelbourne as part of our Euro tour and 25th wedding anniversary. This by any measure is a world class hotel. The level of customer service and amenities is amazing. Front desk, porters, fitness center staff and dining staff all were top notch!!!! I wouldn't expect an ultra modern room but is was very comfortable (and larger than I expected) and appropriate for the image of what they are trying to maintain. Truly a remarkable experience and a great start to our trip. Location is also perfect to city attractions.Outstanding job Shelbourne to staff (Patrick, Danny and Adam)!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Laurentiu M wrote a review 7 Oct
Bucharest, Romania2 contributions
What better surprise to your life partner than to celebrate the 41st wedding anniversary at the Shelbourne in Dublin together with your best friends? The procedure is simple: you book a room providing all personal details, documents and card. Then you ask for two tables for eight guests: separated but one next to the other, observing the regular distance (COVID obliges!) “No, Sir, we cannot guarantee two tables one next to the other!” “Scuse me, why?!” “Because…” Two calls and an e-mail couldn’t solve this extremely difficult challenge for the management. I gave up! We arrive in Dublin but, for some reason, my wife arrives at the hotel some 90 minutes before me: she has the passports but the card is with me… The fact that the hotel is in possession of my card coordinates and it is fully entitled to debit it unilaterally is ignored. She doesn’t get access in the room: she sits on a coach and she is not even asked if she needs some water… A coffee or a tea seems to have been inconceivable! Ok! Finally I arrive. I get the key and we go up, not before watching the luggage waiting patiently in a lobby corner. “We’ll send it in your room in a couple of minutes.” Thirty minutes later I come down and take my luggage from where I saw it before… “May I help you, Sir?” asks me a porter from the height of his parade uniform. “ No, you can’t!” Before leaving for the restaurant which could arrange the two tables as required, we go to the bar to get a drink. We are lucky enough to find the opposite face of the staff: two young girls served us so professionally that I couldn’t not to tell them my earlier experience. “Would you like to speak to a manager?” “Why not?” The manager arrives and show the full flexibility required by such a position in a reputable institution. He is Greek and his name is Spiros. He apologized and sent us a plate with few candies and a touching greeting in chocolate written! Later in the room, we found a bottle of champagne and a nice written message! Maybe I’ll come back for the 42nd wedding anniversary Spiros, if you’ll still be there!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
EuroReisen wrote a review 6 Oct
Saint Paul, Minnesota61 contributions88 helpful votes
The Shelbourne is a grande dame of a hotel — historic, ornate, a little tired. I loved the public areas, which were well-maintained and beautiful. My room, on the other hand, was dated and worn. The bed was rock hard and uncomfortable; the furniture was too old to be nice and too new to be classic, the carpet was well-loved. I did like the bathroom — perhaps it had been more recently renovated. It was spacious, classic, and in mostly good condition (the flush system on the toilet only partially worked). We had breakfast in the Saddle Room a couple times — it was really good but quite expensive. The location of the hotel made it easy to walk most everywhere in Dublin. The staff were really helpful and friendly — excellent service all around. All in all, a nice experience but one I wouldn’t pay for again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
TheBlondeMagpie wrote a review 5 Oct
Huddersfield, United Kingdom327 contributions107 helpful votes
+1
A beautiful Georgian hotel with impeccable service and luxury rooms! Located in the centre with an abundance of bars and restaurants along with the beautiful park to stroll through in the morning. Rooms even the basic have a touch of luxury, tastefully decorated with Elemis toiletries. Business week here made it more relaxing! Definitely the one to book again and again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$286 - US$579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shelbourne hotel dublin, shelbourne dublin, the shelbourne dublin renaissance hotel, dublin hotel shelbourne
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublinSouth City Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
265
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include St Stephens Green (0.2 miles), The Little Museum of Dublin (0.1 miles), and Dublin Literary Pub Crawl (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Davy Byrne's, Glovers Alley, and Tang Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Dublin.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Shelbourne, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.