We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,053 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,856: English reviews
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

OMG...what is the Carlton group doing to landmark hotels? I always stayed at the Carlton Hotel in Ballsbridge in the past when it was owned by Bewleys, so last Sunday i stayed with my girl for there. What a disappointment....didn't mind paying the €24 for two nights parking, what riled me was the € 30 per diem charge for two... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bethcent
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My Favorite guy and I spent Sunday & Monday nights at this hotel ... There is very little of a positive nature I could say about this property. On the Sunday evening after a 3 hour trip, the only sandwich available in the bar was ham & cheese .. The waiter was visibly not impressed and argued with me when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz C
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello Liz, Thank you for your review of the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. While some aspects of your stay were positive, I was disappointed to note that your were frustrated by the service that you received during your visit. I have forwarded your feedback to the Restaurant Manger who will be looking into this further. We always strive to improve our... More 

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Spent a rugby international weekend here. The hotel is ideally located for attending Avila Stadium. The hotel is very impressive from the outside but pretty bland and featureless inside. Our room was basic - small and dull. The pillows were the hardest we have encountered. Breakfast buffet was average. When booking you need to factor in €12 per night car... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello Michael, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry that you were frustrated with our pillows, this feedback has been passed on to the Accomadation Manager who will be looking into this further. We always strive to improve our service and your feedback has been taken very seriously. We hope you will give us a second chance... More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was an OK stay. The hotel meets the standards but isn't amazing. The rooms are a sightly outdated, or just a bit too classical for my liking. There's not that much to do in the area, the city centre is a taxi ride away. Good service though.

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello Karen, Thanks you for your review of the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. We are a 20 minute walk from the city centre, however with main transport lines just at our doorstep you can be there in 5 minutes. We have some beautiful amenities in the area- the Herbert Park and we are a dart ride away from the hustle and... More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nothing special. Poor service at bar for food and drink. Waited for ages and barman didn't seem to be too bothered. Additional charge to park your car at the hotel which says it all. Wouldn't go back - plenty of places that try harder.

Helpful?
Thank bamo
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello bamo, Thank you for your review of the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. I was very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. I am sorry that you were frustrated with our service at reception, this feedback has been passed on to the Restaurant Manager who will be looking into this further. We... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The building is very beautiful and has plenty of character but the hotel is kept in a old and rusty condition. The rooms only have a radiator that takes ages to warm the whole room. Rooms are very basic the cleaning can definitively improve. The breakfast buffet is below average. The prices are well balanced with the quality of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoseLuisG5
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello Jose, Thank you for your review of the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. Although some elements of you review were positive, I was disappointed to hear of the negative aspects of your stay. We are sorry that you were frustrated with our accommodation, this feedback has been passed on to the Accommodation Manager who will be looking into this further. We... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've been in this hotel twice in the last month, and I have to say that I repetead cause it has a convenient location from a work perspective. The rooms are old fashioned, but are comfy. It is very annoying that every morning you need to book a taxi you have to wait more than an hour. A hotel that... More 

Helpful?
Thank A M
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello A M, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry that you were frustrated with our taxi service at reception, this feedback has been passed on to the Deputy General Manager who will be looking into this further. We always strive to improve our service and your feedback has been taken very seriously. We hope you will... More 

Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found hotel very helpful prior to our stay when we had to book wheel chair at short notice as we were going to rugby International- wife normally uses rollator as she has Parkinsons. Very helpful during our visit. First class breakfasts and we ate in hotel at night twice.. Excellent menus. Very accommodating staff. Speedy replies to emails prior to... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello David, Thank you for your lovely review of the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. Its always a great boost to moral when we receive positive guest feedback. We were delighted that you found the rooms and the food to your satisfaction. We hope that you would visit us again in the not too distant future. Warm regards, Laura Mangan Brand Amabassador,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Dublin for work and stayed in Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. The hotel is quite ok for a business stopover. The rooms are nice and quiet with modern bathrooms. The facilities are perfectly acceptable for the price - good value. Breakfast was good and the service throughout my stay was excellent. Good choice for value for money in Dublin.

Helpful?
Thank JamesA045
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello James, Thank you for your lovely review of the Clayton Ballsbridge. It's always a pleasure to read such positive feedback. As a team we strive to bring excellent standards to our service. We hope you will come back and enjoy your breakfast here again! Warm regards, Laura Mangan Brand Ambassador, Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It takes forever to check in at the Clayton Hotel. No smooth system seems to be in-situ there. We charged phones, etc, only to discover that when you remove the plastic door card all the electricity terminates. Subsequently we had no charged equipment. Tea and coffee making equipment was hidden away in a cupboard. Breakfast at 9am we experienced a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike K
SalesCBB, Brand Ambassador at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review

Hello Mike, Thank you for your review of the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge. Although we were disappointed to hear that you found aspects of both your stays disappointing, we feel it is beneficial to hear this feedback. We are always striving for excellent service and we were sorry to hear that you felt that we left you down. I will forward... More 

795 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (355)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (171)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (420)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Double Room #505 (53)
Viewed
Double Room #616 (43)
Viewed
Executive Room (59)
Viewed
Family Room (57)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)
Viewed
Thomas Prior Suite (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#88 of 150 in Dublin
1,985 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#19 of 150 in Dublin
1,658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#71 of 150 in Dublin
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Next to the RDS Arena in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district and embassy belt, Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, formerly Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge, is a beautifully restored 19th century Masonic School with presebtable gardens. With luxurious bedrooms, dining facilities and Tom's Bar the hotel is popular with guests and locals alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Address: Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: £77 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Dublin
Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge
Bewleys Ballsbridge
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#62 Business Hotel in Dublin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early”
 of 5 bubbles K1496MRdavidm, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“On the first floor, which was convenient since we only there 1 night and heading for the airport very early. Otherwise, go up!”
 of 5 bubbles ltcthatsme, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Exec rooms are 2nd floor which are slightly better equipped.”
 of 5 bubbles Magb1980, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose room on 5th or 6th floor with Merrion road view”
 of 5 bubbles jhp1988, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As of April 2015 experience Look elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Jamiesmate, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay